The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2014, 12:01 PM
remingtonh remingtonh is offline
Registered User
remingtonh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 703723
remingtonh Reputation: 10
Default Purple Lights on Corsair 1500 Volume Remote.

I really hope my new corsair 1500 USB isn't defective.

When I press any buttons on the remote, after a few volume adjustments, for example, the remote lights will turn from blue to purple, then the audio will crash. I then have to unplug and replug the headphones into USB, then restart my programs that use audio.

It doesn't happen immediately. Normally when I adjust the volume from the remote I can press it up or down a few times until it crashes.

It also occurs when I use the volume control slider in Windows.

It occurs whether or not the Corsair drivers are installed.

Anybody ever experience or heard of this issue?

*Edit: I discovered, after searching, that some have found success in switching the headset from a USB 3 port to USB 2. I'll try this when I get home and update.
fed
**EDIT 2: Disabling Onboard Audio, plugging into USB 2 port, nothing helped. Hardware problem/defect?

Last edited by remingtonh; 04-01-2014 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-01-2014, 10:48 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 703884
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

It does sound like there might be an issue with the headset. (The only two colours that is suppose to show are Blue + Red. Blue+Red=Purple)

Can you try the headset on another computer. Does the same issue occur?
If it does, contact your seller and ask if they can replace it for you. If not, request an RMA to replace it. Make sure you upload a picture of the invoice to the ticket as proof of purchase.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-03-2014, 12:11 PM
remingtonh remingtonh is offline
Registered User
remingtonh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 704077
remingtonh Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply...

Well to make things complicated, I plugged it into a Linux Laptop and the headset works just fine.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-03-2014, 12:42 PM
sandstorm1 sandstorm1 is offline
Registered User
sandstorm1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 272
POST ID # = 704082
sandstorm1 Reputation: 29
Default

try updating the usb drivers for your motherboard.

sounds like something might be conflicting there.

might not work, but worth a shot.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-03-2014, 08:49 PM
kmeboe kmeboe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 739808
kmeboe Reputation: 10
Default

I have this exact same problem when using the headset on my Alienware 18. It was especially annoying when I would make calls with my computer, because adjusting the volume would randomly kill the headset and end my call.

The fix for me was to move the headset to a different USB port. One of my ports has a small lightning bolt symbol -- maybe this means it's always on? -- and when I use that port I never have a problem with the headset.

Hopefully this can help someone else out there.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-14-2014, 10:51 AM
FireClawGames's Avatar
FireClawGames FireClawGames is offline
YouTuber
FireClawGames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 741740
FireClawGames Reputation: 10
Default

I think a purple light occurs when computer doesn't recognize it because mine does the same at the BIOS screen. It stays like that but once Windows loads it goes to flashing red and blue because of how I muted the microphone. So I assume your USB port is defective or there is some wiring issues are happening.

Last edited by FireClawGames; 11-14-2014 at 11:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-06-2014, 06:51 PM
StC-Djak StC-Djak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 745380
StC-Djak Reputation: 10
Default

I also have this problem. Whenever I repeatedly turn the volume up or down on the headset controller, the headset crashes. I have to unplug and replug it for it to work again.

I'm using Corsair Vengeance 1500 V2 on Windows 8.1.

Can we get some support from the tech team ?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-06-2014, 10:39 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 745402
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Latest chipset drivers and BIOS?
Have you tried a different USB port?

Put in a support ticket and see if Corsair has some suggestions for you to try.

https://corsair.secure.force.com/
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-07-2014, 04:53 PM
StC-Djak StC-Djak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 745517
StC-Djak Reputation: 10
Default

Yes everything is up to date and I have tried different USB ports to no avail.

I will try the support ticket, thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:22 AM
grommylommy grommylommy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 891579
grommylommy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remingtonh View Post
I really hope my new corsair 1500 USB isn't defective.

When I press any buttons on the remote, after a few volume adjustments, for example, the remote lights will turn from blue to purple, then the audio will crash. I then have to unplug and replug the headphones into USB, then restart my programs that use audio.

It doesn't happen immediately. Normally when I adjust the volume from the remote I can press it up or down a few times until it crashes.

It also occurs when I use the volume control slider in Windows.

It occurs whether or not the Corsair drivers are installed.

Anybody ever experience or heard of this issue?

*Edit: I discovered, after searching, that some have found success in switching the headset from a USB 3 port to USB 2. I'll try this when I get home and update.
fed
**EDIT 2: Disabling Onboard Audio, plugging into USB 2 port, nothing helped. Hardware problem/defect?
I know this is an old post but I have had this issue with the same headset for years. The solution was simple but it took me 2 years to find it. The front usb ports tend not to be shielded as well as the back usb ports (direct on motherboard). Plugging the headsets into a rear usb port solved the problem. This problem is easy to reproduce, with the headphones in a poorly shielded usb port, slide the volume slider back and forth rapidly. The headset will turn purple as your computer disables the usb port.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.