The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2016, 02:22 PM
GObonzo's Avatar
GObonzo GObonzo is offline
Registered User
GObonzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 839182
GObonzo Reputation: 10
Default Sabre RGB; cannot correctly bind CTRL to any buttons

Am trying to bind the CTRL key to a side button of my Sabre RGB mouse.

When using the Actions Editor the "keystroke" option does not recognize CTRL as a single command, only when paired with another key.

Tried creating a "macro" of the CTRL key but the response is sporadic. Also tried "while pressed", "repeat" at 1ms, and other options.
Sometimes it will act as though the key is being held down for a very short time, other times it will be intermittent presses. No matter which option i use I get the same response.

How can I make my front side button just a regular key press of the left CTRL key with the ability to hold down the button and get my regular CTRL key usage?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-25-2016, 02:27 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,360
POST ID # = 839183
terabyte Reputation: 73
Default

Create a macro that ONLY presses the CTRL button, then create a second macro that ONLY releases the CTRL button and assign it to the first macro using the second macro option on the right of the window (use the option run second macro when the button is released). That should do what you need.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-25-2016, 02:58 PM
GObonzo's Avatar
GObonzo GObonzo is offline
Registered User
GObonzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 839190
GObonzo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terabyte View Post
Create a macro that ONLY presses the CTRL button, then create a second macro that ONLY releases the CTRL button and assign it to the first macro using the second macro option on the right of the window (use the option run second macro when the button is released). That should do what you need.
that seems pretty stupid to have to assign 2x macros for a simple key press action.
especially when my M95 and it's older Corsair software can be setup by just choosing keystroke: L CTRL.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-25-2016, 03:58 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,360
POST ID # = 839201
terabyte Reputation: 73
Default

Wait, what do you want to do exactly?

I thought you wanted to keep the button pressed on your mouse and use some other key together with it on the keyboard or something. Did you just want to press make the button act like CTRL press/release right away instead? I'm confused now.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-26-2016, 04:46 AM
GObonzo's Avatar
GObonzo GObonzo is offline
Registered User
GObonzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 839282
GObonzo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terabyte View Post
Wait, what do you want to do exactly?
as i originally stated: "Am trying to bind the CTRL key to a side button of my Sabre RGB mouse"
not a quick press/release. an actual keyboard CTRL key, but bound to the mouse. whether for single press or holding it down for constant CTRL functions like copying/cutting multiple files in Explorer.

am using this same function with my M95 and with my Logitech G600. very easy to setup with their corresponding softwares. this option is not available though with Corsair Utility Engine.
as also stated earlier, "When using the Actions Editor the "keystroke" option does not recognize CTRL as a single command, only when paired with another key."

Last edited by GObonzo; 02-26-2016 at 05:06 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-26-2016, 12:54 PM
Saucermote Saucermote is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 839354
Saucermote Reputation: 10
Default

Do you have the option to "Remap" the key to left ctrl from the assignments window instead?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-26-2016, 04:07 PM
GObonzo's Avatar
GObonzo GObonzo is offline
Registered User
GObonzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 839408
GObonzo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saucermote View Post
Do you have the option to "Remap" the key to left ctrl from the assignments window instead?


well there we go. appears to be working like i need now.
nice someone knows how to use this thing.
thanks Saucermote.
Attached Images
File Type: png C.U.E..PNG (219.7 KB, 422 views)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair utility engine, key bindings, sabre rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.