The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #46  
Old 11-02-2015, 11:41 PM
XenuIsWatching XenuIsWatching is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 817711
XenuIsWatching Reputation: 10
Default

Ok... well it booted once after I loaded the xmp settings. And then It blue screened and now it's not booting with the xmp settings ... X_X
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old 11-03-2015, 09:07 AM
NJC NJC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 817756
NJC Reputation: 10
Default

yeah so i updated mine to the latest bios and it's still rubbish with the XMP profile.

most stable is just setting the bios to auto 2800 for the memory and then it works fine, so glad i purchased this 3200 memory!
Reply With Quote


  #48  
Old 11-03-2015, 10:31 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,250
POST ID # = 817764
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Nano View Post
I've now tried manually setting both the speed to 2666Mhz and the first four timings (16-18-18-35) in the BIOS and will run Memtest tonight. Hopefully the machine will be more stable now. So far so good....
That would be an interesting distinction to make between XMP and otherwise identical manual primary timings. I had similar difficulties with Vengeance LPX and Asus X99. Using manual primaries eliminated most of the problems and some BIOS wackiness.
Reply With Quote


  #49  
Old 11-03-2015, 03:48 PM
Onirik Onirik is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 817817
Onirik Reputation: 10
Default

Same problem for me with Asus Z170 Deluxe (last bios 1203) and 4 x RAM DDR4 PC4-25600 - CMK16GX4M2B3200C16.

Sometimes it boots, sometimes "overcloking failed". Once launched, it works very fine but I have another very anoying problem : if I overclock my memory (voltage change), after using it intensively (one run of RealBench is enough) , my PC doesn't want to stop anymore ! Sleep mode stops everything... then the PC restarts 2-3 seconds later. Same fo soft shutdown. The 4 seconds pressed button is the only solution to really shutdown the PC. And it seems I am the only one with this other problem.

So, I run my (very) expensive 32go of 3200 MHz RAM at 2300 MHz.
Reply With Quote


  #50  
Old 11-03-2015, 06:45 PM
Rogue Nano's Avatar
Rogue Nano Rogue Nano is offline
Registered User
Rogue Nano's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 817832
Rogue Nano Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
That would be an interesting distinction to make between XMP and otherwise identical manual primary timings. I had similar difficulties with Vengeance LPX and Asus X99. Using manual primaries eliminated most of the problems and some BIOS wackiness.
Unfortunately it hasn't worked. After initially seeming stable running Memtest overnight showed some errors. Not long after it refused to boot so I've gone back to the auto settings. I'm wondering if there's a need to tweak the other sub-timings as well. Also upping the voltage a little has helped some people to rectify the problem. There is an interesting thread here regarding this issue:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1578726/x...es-my-computer

and here:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1571741/g...g-editions/240

Once again trying this hasn't worked for me...however last night Gigabyte support contacted me and included a link to a new BIOS (F6a). In the email they made no guarantees that XMP would work of course but they have suggested that I try it. Will see how it goes!

Last edited by Rogue Nano; 11-03-2015 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #51  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:15 AM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 817915
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

No issues so far with my LPX 2400 C14 kit at XMP on a Z170 Pro Gaming. Kind of glad I went for low frequency, low CL memory now.

Hopefully the issues with higher speeds get resolved though, at least ASUS is actually pushing out BIOS updates, rather than nothing at all.
Reply With Quote


  #52  
Old 11-05-2015, 05:10 PM
Rogue Nano's Avatar
Rogue Nano Rogue Nano is offline
Registered User
Rogue Nano's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 818233
Rogue Nano Reputation: 10
Default

After updating my BIOS the XMP problem has gone away. Everything is stable and Memtest is reporting no errors after running overnight. I imagine it's just a matter of time for a lot of z170 board owners for the BIOS to be tightened up.
Reply With Quote


  #53  
Old 11-05-2015, 06:10 PM
r-Z r-Z is offline
Registered User
r-Z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 818243
r-Z Reputation: 10
Default

Quick update.

Updated BIOS to 908 on the Z170 pro gaming motherboard.
Still not able to run XMP profile 3200mhz as specified.

Can run a stable 2800. far cry from 3200 but it is what it is. Hoping for consistent bios updates that will eventually resolve this XMP issue.
Reply With Quote


  #54  
Old 11-06-2015, 07:46 AM
NJC NJC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 818310
NJC Reputation: 10
Sad

Quote:
Originally Posted by r-Z View Post
Quick update.

Updated BIOS to 908 on the Z170 pro gaming motherboard.
Still not able to run XMP profile 3200mhz as specified.

Can run a stable 2800. far cry from 3200 but it is what it is. Hoping for consistent bios updates that will eventually resolve this XMP issue.
Yeah same issue here mate, 908 bios wont run at 3200 but 2800 is fine! any higher and it tends to not boot correctly
Reply With Quote


  #55  
Old 11-07-2015, 03:06 PM
Eldata Eldata is offline
Registered User
Eldata's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 818553
Eldata Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJC View Post
Yeah same issue here mate, 908 bios wont run at 3200 but 2800 is fine! any higher and it tends to not boot correctly
Do this;

1. Press F5 key while in BIOS to load optimized defaults
2. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot
3. Choose XMP Ai Overclock Tuner setting while in BIOS
4. Move down to "DRAM Voltage" field then type 1.37 <ENTER>
5. Move to next field "CPU VCCIO Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
6. Move to next field "CPU System Agent Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
7. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot

Repeat steps 4, 5 and 6 above using just the (+) key to increase voltage one press at a time if you still have issues.
Reply With Quote


  #56  
Old 11-08-2015, 03:21 PM
dadopurso dadopurso is offline
Registered User
dadopurso's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 818782
dadopurso Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldata View Post
Do this;

1. Press F5 key while in BIOS to load optimized defaults
2. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot
3. Choose XMP Ai Overclock Tuner setting while in BIOS
4. Move down to "DRAM Voltage" field then type 1.37 <ENTER>
5. Move to next field "CPU VCCIO Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
6. Move to next field "CPU System Agent Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
7. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot

Repeat steps 4, 5 and 6 above using just the (+) key to increase voltage one press at a time if you still have issues.
This frequency does not change our motherboard, it does not make an adjustment. z170 pro gaming.
Can you show the pictures
automatically change its settings by going back to get out of there.
Reply With Quote


  #57  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:27 AM
NJC NJC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 819123
NJC Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldata View Post
Do this;

1. Press F5 key while in BIOS to load optimized defaults
2. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot
3. Choose XMP Ai Overclock Tuner setting while in BIOS
4. Move down to "DRAM Voltage" field then type 1.37 <ENTER>
5. Move to next field "CPU VCCIO Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
6. Move to next field "CPU System Agent Voltage" then type 1.20 <ENTER>
7. Press F10 key then OK to save and reboot

Repeat steps 4, 5 and 6 above using just the (+) key to increase voltage one press at a time if you still have issues.
Yeah tried all that last night, made no difference at all. Went up to 1.25 on VCCIO and the System Agent and 1.37 on DRAM voltage and it still refuses to boot! so still running at 2800 with my not so fancy 3200 memory!

Greybeard you owe us some answers or an update atleast now as this thread is expanding and you haven't said a word in ages on this topic. update please!!
Reply With Quote


  #58  
Old 11-10-2015, 02:22 PM
Eldata Eldata is offline
Registered User
Eldata's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 819230
Eldata Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJC View Post
Yeah tried all that last night, made no difference at all. Went up to 1.25 on VCCIO and the System Agent and 1.37 on DRAM voltage and it still refuses to boot! so still running at 2800 with my not so fancy 3200 memory!

Greybeard you owe us some answers or an update atleast now as this thread is expanding and you haven't said a word in ages on this topic. update please!!
That board has similar XMP issues with George Skillful memory as well. Asus claims it'll be addressed eventually with BIOS updates. You have confirmed that increasing the relevant voltages isn't a workaround for that board. It is for most other Z170 boards with that issue.
Reply With Quote


  #59  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:07 PM
dadopurso dadopurso is offline
Registered User
dadopurso's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 819284
dadopurso Reputation: 10
Default

Do not damage your device such dangerous voltage change,
Wait for the BIOS Update
Reply With Quote


  #60  
Old 11-10-2015, 07:03 PM
Smitty27 Smitty27 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 819318
Smitty27 Reputation: 10
Default

I updated my Maximus VIII Ranger today with the latest BIOS, 1102. My corsair memory still won't boot on XMP. The BIOS release notes just said improved stability.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.