The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76  
Old 07-21-2003, 04:34 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 67512
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

cjthom
Rev 1.1 was based on Winbond Rev -B and the Rev 1.2 is based oN Rev. -C winbond and will not run Rass to Cass set to "2". So hold on to what you have.
Ram Guy
Reply With Quote


  #77  
Old 07-21-2003, 07:13 PM
8balls 8balls is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 67559
8balls Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 8balls Send a message via Yahoo to 8balls
Default

v1.1 is still in production, AFAIK, but its sorta harder to find than v1.2

cherish it dude. cherish it.
Reply With Quote


  #78  
Old 07-28-2003, 10:15 PM
mjrtoo mjrtoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 69017
mjrtoo Reputation: 10
Default

First of all, my thanks to Ritchierich for the F7c BIOS.


Now, I am running this BIOS at 2,2,5,2 with +.2 DRAM overvoltage. It receives no errors with MEMTEST 3.0 and also receives these scores on Sandra. (No CPU overvoltage)

Memory Bandwidth:
4825 Int Buff
4818 Float Buff


I'm running a P4 2.8GHz Canterwood with these Sandra results.

CPU benchmark
Dhrystone ALU 8751 MIPS
Whetstone FRU/iSSeu 2442/5450 MFLOPS

Using a Powercolor Evil Comando 2 Gold. Works great! (128 MB Radeon 9700)
Reply With Quote


  #79  
Old 07-28-2003, 11:06 PM
8balls 8balls is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 69046
8balls Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 8balls Send a message via Yahoo to 8balls
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cjthom
Despite only buying my RAM on the 18th May, the revision of the RAM is 1.1 and is marked 2-2-2-6.
Why did Corsair stop production of this version?
Would I be advised to return it or cherish it?

Regards

Chris
Stocks of the memory chips from Winbond are dwindling, as they aren't making that particular revision of memory chips any more.

Corsair can't make any more v1.1 if they dont have stock of the required memory chips.
Reply With Quote


  #80  
Old 07-29-2003, 02:31 AM
Ritchierich Ritchierich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Llysfaen, North Wales, UK.
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 69111
Ritchierich Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Glad to here the bios worked.
Have you tried enabling "Top Performance" yet?, it squeezes that last drop of performance out of the chipset and memory.
Try your bench marks again, see what difference it makes.

Glad to of helped with the bios.
Reply With Quote


  #81  
Old 07-29-2003, 08:59 AM
mjrtoo mjrtoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 69166
mjrtoo Reputation: 10
Default

I would be interested in others Sandra results as well...just for a benchmark of 'identical' systems.
Reply With Quote


  #82  
Old 07-29-2003, 01:01 PM
Ritchierich Ritchierich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Llysfaen, North Wales, UK.
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 69198
Ritchierich Reputation: 10
Default

Bench Marks for you.
System 3.0GHz P4 HT enabled.
1GB TwinX 3200 LLPT.Set to 2,2,2,5 7.8 Top performance Enabled.

PCmark2002
CPU 7434
Memory 9961
HDD 2557

Aida32
Memory test
Read 5132 MB/s
Write 1828 MB/s

Sisoftware Sandra
Memory bandwidth.
Int buff iSSE2 4866 MB/s
Float buff iSSE2 4846 MB/s
Reply With Quote


  #83  
Old 07-29-2003, 01:31 PM
mjrtoo mjrtoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 69202
mjrtoo Reputation: 10
Default

My latest Sandra scores are this.


Int Buf = 4921
Float Buf = 4891

Dang, tough to break the 5000 barrier.

Last edited by mjrtoo; 07-29-2003 at 08:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #84  
Old 07-30-2003, 12:54 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 69351
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What is the make and model of MB that you all are using?
Ram Guy
Reply With Quote


  #85  
Old 07-30-2003, 01:05 PM
mjrtoo mjrtoo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 69360
mjrtoo Reputation: 10
Default

I'm using the Gigabyte GA-8IK1100 with your TWINX512-3200LLP modules.

P4 2.8C CPU

Last edited by mjrtoo; 07-30-2003 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #86  
Old 07-30-2003, 04:06 PM
Ritchierich Ritchierich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Llysfaen, North Wales, UK.
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 69433
Ritchierich Reputation: 10
Default

I'm also using Gigabyte GA-8IK1100 and Corsair TWINX1024-3200LLPT. Version 1.1.
Memory settings in post above.
Reply With Quote


  #87  
Old 07-30-2003, 07:23 PM
john5757 john5757 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 69481
john5757 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm am using Gigabyte GA-8IK1100 and Corsair TWINX254-3200LLPT. The first pair of these memory chips in dual mode worked fine but I added the second pair to get 1g of memory the computer became unstable with random freezes even with a +.1 voltage increase. I use the auto default timing settings and the setting are slower than what users here are using. I am using the 3gHz P4 with the 800FSB and I was under the inpression that it would be ideal for video editing work since decoding and recoding takes a lot of computer time sometimes all night just to get a few mins of high quality video.

I reduce this problem by using the F7B beta BIOS since I can not seem to get the F7C BIOS. The F7B made a big difference in stability in my USB devices like my multi internal flash and microdrive card reader for my digital photo work. Gigabyte needs to get new released versions of BIOS out so that I would not get stuck on this bleeding edge of technology so that I can get some work done. On the other hand the other motherboard that I was looking at is the ASUS P4C800 and I also read in the fourms that it also have issues working with a second pair of Corsair memory.

The abilty to adjust timing and some voltages seems to be a concept that does not work well with the stability of the system as a whole. I also tried to adjust the voltage of the CPU by the smallest of steps and stability of the system became worst. By the same token I can not adjust the timing of the memory chips without screwing up the stability of the USB devices.
Of course the computer boots just fine to the destop when making these adjustments.

The giabyte 8IK110 has six memory slots but I am having issues in getting two pairs of memory,four slots to work reliability.





Reply With Quote


  #88  
Old 07-31-2003, 02:29 AM
Ritchierich Ritchierich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Llysfaen, North Wales, UK.
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 69583
Ritchierich Reputation: 10
Default

Here is Bios F7c sent to me by Gigabyte because of memory instability issues, memory timings posted above.
Have tried using ctrl and F1 to get into the advance menus?
Attached Files
File Type: zip 8ik1100.zip (374.8 KB, 165 views)
Reply With Quote


  #89  
Old 08-03-2003, 04:44 PM
atseng atseng is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 70263
atseng Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for your reply on trying to get the LAN port to work. I have tried updating the bios (currently using f7c now), updating drivers (lan & chipset), and the port is still acting weird. I think I have a defective motherboard. It's annoying, but just too minor to send it in for RMA and stuck w/no computer for a few weeks.

Currently running the following:

8ik1100
Twinx512-3200LL (not sure of the version) 2-3-2-6
HIS Radeon 9500 PRO
p4 2.4c (no overclock)

getting the folowing Sandra:
Int 4790 mb
float 4796 mb

I guess overall, I am happy with the system. Just wish they come out with a new bios and hopefully that will fix my LAN port.

Albert


Quote:
Originally posted by cjthom
This thread seems to have gone cold but I notice that the Beta BIOS has had 33 hits!
I was not going to install this now that my MB seemed happy at 2-6-3-2 but tonight my PC started doing a strange thing.
My wife is into playing Command and Conquer Renegade. This does not seem to be a very PC taxing game but tonight the PC started to give out random low frequency beeps while she was playing this game. The beeps are lower frquency than the normal successful system boot beep. The beeps were intermittent and followed no particular patern so I am lost as to what it may be.They ceased when the game was halted.
Anyway I have now installed the Beta BIOS and set the settings to Top Performance and the PC booted OK. Interestingly the RAM timings have defaulted to 2-6-3-2 or is this because I have not cleared the CMOS?
I am now going to get the wife to run the game again and see (hear) what happens. Has anyone else experienced these type of random beeps?

Regards

Chris
Reply With Quote


  #90  
Old 08-04-2003, 01:43 PM
john5757 john5757 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 70427
john5757 Reputation: 10
Default Bois for 8IK1100

I install the F7C BIOS and reload the optimized setting. Sometimes you have to do this to make sure that the new setting are in effect. I noticed that on F7B I had to reload the setting to get the timings in order. Also the F7B changed something on the parallel port which required me to change the mode in order to get the parallel printer to work again. On the F7C I was able to use the old setting for the parallel port for the printer. On both F7B and the F7C BIOS the stabilty
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-8IK1100 Rev. 1 with 2 sets of TWINX512-3200LLPT question mjrtoo Memory 9 06-11-2004 07:52 PM
Gigabyte 8iK1100 & Over 2gb of RAM ArtOfGlory Memory 1 04-23-2004 03:08 AM
Compatibility question for Gigabyte and MSI MBs mweisner1989 Memory 4 04-02-2004 11:14 AM
P4C800 Corsair Twinx512 3200LL crash problem orbitribe Memory 3 03-01-2004 12:09 PM
Gigabyte GA7N400 Nforce2 & Corsair RAM Voltage Question Nimits Memory 1 02-02-2004 06:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.