The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:21 PM
hairymoot hairymoot is offline
Registered User
hairymoot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 302289
hairymoot Reputation: 10
Default dp965lt Vista 64bit Black Screen on boot

I've had my system up (Vista 64 bit) and running for months. I decided to add more memory to my system. I have an Intel dp965lt with the latest bios. I had 2 gigs and added 2 more gigs. The memory is Corsair CM2x1024-6400 800MHz 5.5.5.12. I added the same memory to give me 4 gigs. The BIOS will see the memory. When I try to boot, I get the post then the system will start to load with the Window's Green Progress bar. When the bar dissapears, the screen is blank. The system is still on and I can see the hard drive light coming on every now and then. If I turn off the computer and restart in safe mode--I can get it to boot all the way with video.

I decided to try to just reinstall Vista and noticed that the install is very very slow now. It takes forever to get to the next step and eventually ended up with the black sceen and a crash.

I Then took out the old memory and keep the new memory and reinstalled Vista (Quickly) with no problems. I would assume that the memory is fine but I'm having a problem either with the Intel's DP965LT Mother board or with Vista 64.

Any thoughts on why this may be happeing?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-11-2007, 05:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 302364
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Just load setup defaults and then set the memory frequency at DDR667 and that should be all you need to do.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-19-2007, 01:02 PM
Schapenvetzak Schapenvetzak is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 302990
Schapenvetzak Reputation: 10
Default

Hey man,

I had thesame problem like yourself.
I bought a new computer (intel dp965lt with the latest bios -> 1687, core2duo 6600, 4 gb ram)
There is a bug in the bios that if you have more than 3 gb ram, your computer becomes very slow.
You have to install a previous version of the bios that you can find on the intel site (1669 or 1649 works like a charm!)
Try it :)

Grtz
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.