The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 32 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-17-2011, 04:17 PM
icsterm icsterm is offline
Registered User
icsterm's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Romania
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 548689
icsterm Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to icsterm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaMer_71 View Post
Still no update....
I wanted to ask how the work is ongoing to update the firmware 2.4?
It seems as if you took off your engineers at Holidays.
I have the bad feeling Corsair will close this topic for the so-called bad marketing users trolling about the new 2.4 firmware release.
Better later than never.
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 12-17-2011, 06:05 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 548700
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icsterm View Post
I have the bad feeling Corsair will close this topic
Not happening.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 01-04-2012, 11:24 AM
mauromol mauromol is offline
Registered User
mauromol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 552046
mauromol Reputation: 10
Default

Happy new year!

Any news on this topic? No news from November for an alternate package and a changelog...

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 01-12-2012, 05:28 AM
GunterO GunterO is offline
Registered User
GunterO's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 554065
GunterO Reputation: 10
Default

Yellowbeard, any news on this please? I want to get rid of those bluescreens...
The problem is that I wake my machine remotely, and it is not nice to have an unusable remote computer which is displaying a BSOD...
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 01-12-2012, 11:17 AM
Smoerrebroed Smoerrebroed is offline
Registered User
Smoerrebroed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 554112
Smoerrebroed Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, please, let us know. I'm certainly the patient kind (with PCs, you gotta be) but two months for a modified FW update which was included in the update package for V2.0? What's the matter?

Cheers

Smoerrebroed
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 01-13-2012, 01:02 AM
Pyrophoric Pyrophoric is offline
Registered User
Pyrophoric's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 554378
Pyrophoric Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
I have no updates at this time. I will post them when I do.
No disrespect but how long does it take to get an update? This is money we are talking about here.

This is yet another Corsair product that isn't working in my rig. I was hoping this would solve my sleep/hibernation issue but I can't even update.

This is an absolute shame!

Edit: Just tried to update the SSD in four ... YES four different rigs. Every ... single ... one gave the same exact error. Two ASUS mobos, one Gigabyte and one EVA. All high mid-high end mobos and all have settings suggested here, none work. This is ridiculous!

Last edited by Pyrophoric; 01-13-2012 at 02:35 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 01-13-2012, 02:49 AM
Smoerrebroed Smoerrebroed is offline
Registered User
Smoerrebroed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 554390
Smoerrebroed Reputation: 10
Default

The issue doesn't come from the MoBo used, it relates to the type of flash memory being used in your particular Force SSD. Seems like the older kind (34nm) is more troublesome.

Cheers,

Smoerrebroed
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 01-13-2012, 02:58 AM
Pyrophoric Pyrophoric is offline
Registered User
Pyrophoric's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 554391
Pyrophoric Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoerrebroed View Post
The issue doesn't come from the MoBo used, it relates to the type of flash memory being used in your particular Force SSD. Seems like the older kind (34nm) is more troublesome.

Cheers,

Smoerrebroed
Guess so, guess I need an RMA. It's just odd that every single current Corsair product I own has problems.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:15 PM
Smoerrebroed Smoerrebroed is offline
Registered User
Smoerrebroed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 554550
Smoerrebroed Reputation: 10
Default

Just to be clear: The 34nm model is not the actual cause of the problem when updating. The issue is that the update package simply doesn't contain a compatible firmware.

It's only for the more recent 25nm type - and I'm really wondering what is so different that it's taking Corsair more than two months to adjust for this (small) difference. After all they are still using the exact same controller chip made by Sandforce.

Cheers,

Smoerrebroed
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:45 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 554576
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoerrebroed View Post
Just to be clear: The 34nm model is not the actual cause of the problem when updating. The issue is that the update package simply doesn't contain a compatible firmware.

It's only for the more recent 25nm type
Where are you getting that info from?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 01-14-2012, 04:20 AM
Smoerrebroed Smoerrebroed is offline
Registered User
Smoerrebroed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 554658
Smoerrebroed Reputation: 10
Default

From reading between the lines for lack of a reliable official statement. I don't know where exactly, but I remember reading this info about the previous update which featured an alternative FW as well.

Cheers,

Smoerrebroed
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 01-18-2012, 10:46 AM
husmoaschta husmoaschta is offline
Registered User
husmoaschta's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 555618
husmoaschta Reputation: 10
Default

Almost THREE months and still no working update.
There's nothing more to say, THAT'S SCANDALOUS!
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 01-22-2012, 09:01 PM
HardwareDude HardwareDude is offline
Registered User
HardwareDude's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: California
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 556558
HardwareDude Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HardwareDude View Post
Just received my RMA'd F60; Installed Win7-64 and simply ran the firmware upgrade tool as administrator. I also made the compatibility mode 'Win7', but I don't think that is actually needed. Firmware updated, system rebooted, and a running the upgrade tool showed that 2.4 firmware was installed. I hope this SSD lasts more than 5 months.
Sadly this drive has also died in the same way as the first did. This one lasted 2 months! Needles to say, I'm thoroughly disappointed with this SSD drive. The system is lightly used for WEB browsing and LibreOffice for school papers. Starting my 2nd RMA!
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 01-23-2012, 09:15 AM
deldens deldens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 556677
deldens Reputation: 10
Default

Firmware update 2.4 does not prevent getting blue screens.I bought the drive in April 2011; now in January 2012 it is still not working properly. I've paid 200 euro's for the F120GB drive. If corsair can give me a refund of 99euro I'm happy to send them my drive return. Is this possible?

Last edited by deldens; 01-23-2012 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 01-23-2012, 09:40 AM
deldens deldens is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 556681
deldens Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
It has nothing to do with "fair". We're aware of the issue and working with SandForce to correct it.
Funny; If you read the above and then when I want to send my drive RMA to solve this problem I get a list of Q and A. This is one of them:

Q: Are there any platforms that may have issues with SSD drives?

A: There are no known issues with Corsair SSDs and any SATA I or SATA II compatible platforms. We are constantly testing compatibility with legacy, current and new platforms to ensure compatibility.


So it its not the firmware / windows 7 combination that gives me blue screens. I just have bad luck and a broken SSD, that I have to RMA?
Please some clarity on the issue of blue screens on return form sleep.

- Does RMA help to solve this problem?
- If not can I get a (partly) refund for my SSD?
- If not can I get a different type of Corsair disk that does not have this problem?

After 8 months with this issue I would like a solution.

Last edited by deldens; 01-23-2012 at 09:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.