The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2020, 08:46 AM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052084
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default hx1200i didnt boot when fan or pump connected

Hy everyone.

İ have an hx1200i for more than 4 year now.

my setup:

asus rog strix x99 gaming motherboard
i7 6580k
2x r9 290 amd card
4tb seagate hdd
12 fan
2 ddc pump

The fırst year i have to set the psu ocp to single chanel to boot correctly

but some month ago ı need to connect my pump to another psu
and today my psu didnt start if i connect my fan to it

curently i use a 300w noname psu tu power my 2 ddc pump and my 12 fan

the psu start for less than 1 or 4 second and reboot if the hard drive or fan are connected


i also have 18awg sleeved cabel extention

i hope someone can help before i buy another psu


Thank for all your help.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-28-2020, 08:56 AM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052085
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default

sorry for double posting


İs there any way to to entirely disbable the ocp on there power suply
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-28-2020, 03:51 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,038
POST ID # = 1052115
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
sorry for double posting


İs there any way to to entirely disbable the ocp on there power suply
"Single rail mode" IS completely disabling OCP.

This doesn't sound like an OCP issue. This sounds like a short... or you're doing something wrong.

I'm a little confused...

PC worked fine.

You plugged a pump into it and the PC would no longer boot? So you had to use a second PSU to run the pump?

You plug an additional fan directly to the PSU and now the PSU fails to boot?

You're not using any non-Corsair cables plugged into the PSU, are you?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-28-2020, 04:27 PM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052119
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default

pc works great

the pump and all the part works great on an another 800w coolermaster psu

but the hx1200i is a pain

i run 2psu rıght now and the psu change ıtself from singel chanel to multy chanel ocp

i have my 2 pump connected to an old psu

all other part are powered fron the hx1200.

6 month ago if i connect the pump after the boot its works
now if i connect them the pc shutt down

i dont have that isue if i use another psu


just whit the hx
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-28-2020, 06:14 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,038
POST ID # = 1052129
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
pc works great

i have my 2 pump connected to an old psu

all other part are powered fron the hx1200.

6 month ago if i connect the pump after the boot its works
now if i connect them the pc shutt down

i dont have that isue if i use another psu


just whit the hx
Multiple +12V rail mode would still allow up to 40A per connector on that PSU. So that's not the problem. I seriously doubt any of your parts are using as much as 40A per cable.

Please list all of your parts and how they are hooked up to the HX1200i. Including what these pumps are and how you connect them to the HX1200i. What other things do you have plugged into that same cable.

Example:

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
2x r9 290 amd card
One PCIe cable per card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
12 fan
2 ddc pump
Do the pumps use Molex power connectors? Are you trying to put the two pumps on the same cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
i also have 18awg sleeved cabel extention
18g is pretty thin gauge. This is just an EXTENSION of the existing Corsair cable, right? Not a cable that plugs directly into the PSU, right? What are you using the extension for? 24-pin? EPS12V? PCIe? Molex? For the pumps? For your drives?

Also, I asked if you were using any non-Corsair cables on the HX1200i. You did not answer that question.

I want to help you, but you're not providing enough information for me to provide any help.

Last edited by jonnyguru; 06-28-2020 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-29-2020, 11:39 AM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 311
POST ID # = 1052240
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

Looking at all the hardware, I have an HX1000i and I could connect 48 fans to it via molex cables as they do not use a lot of power.

Most use a AIO water cooler for the CPU. I use the biggest AMD CPU cooler with RGB which is connected to my MB.

Corsair has lots of water cooling hardware, up to full custom.

Something is not right with the cabling so I suggest checking the cables carefully to be sure the voltages are all in spec. A standard multimeter can check.

A cheap PSU tester can also be used
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-29-2020, 01:20 PM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052256
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
Multiple +12V rail mode would still allow up to 40A per connector on that PSU. So that's not the problem. I seriously doubt any of your parts are using as much as 40A per cable.

Please list all of your parts and how they are hooked up to the HX1200i. Including what these pumps are and how you connect them to the HX1200i. What other things do you have plugged into that same cable.

Example:



One PCIe cable per card?



Do the pumps use Molex power connectors? Are you trying to put the two pumps on the same cable?



18g is pretty thin gauge. This is just an EXTENSION of the existing Corsair cable, right? Not a cable that plugs directly into the PSU, right? What are you using the extension for? 24-pin? EPS12V? PCIe? Molex? For the pumps? For your drives?

Also, I asked if you were using any non-Corsair cables on the HX1200i. You did not answer that question.

I want to help you, but you're not providing enough information for me to provide any help.


sorry for the last part i forget to respond to it

thank again for your response
my part :

asus strix x99 mobo power whit 8 and 4 pin from the corsair
2 x r9 290 watercooled porweder by 2x8 and 2x6 pin total 4 cable from the corsair

4tb HDD powered bysata by the corsair psu

12 fan connected 4 fan by molex (pwm signal to the mobo)


2 swiftec mcp 35 powered by only one molex on 300w (maybe less) noname psu



İ also try just the original cable that come out fron the box

i use extention sleeved cable connected to the orijinal corsair cable

if i connect event only one pump on the psu its shutt down

My gpu are powered by a total of 4 pci 8 pin and 6 pin pci each not a single 8+6 but 2 straight of the psu for each gpu

i have try whit and whitout the sleved cable extention

i have try whitout any fan and HDD

how a noname 20 year old psu that give a max of 300w can run my 2 pump my HDD and 12 fan and my 1200hx corsair not

i hope i didnt forget anythin
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-29-2020, 01:24 PM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052258
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
Looking at all the hardware, I have an HX1000i and I could connect 48 fans to it via molex cables as they do not use a lot of power.

Most use a AIO water cooler for the CPU. I use the biggest AMD CPU cooler with RGB which is connected to my MB.

Corsair has lots of water cooling hardware, up to full custom.

Something is not right with the cabling so I suggest checking the cables carefully to be sure the voltages are all in spec. A standard multimeter can check.

A cheap PSU tester can also be used

i have bought these pump second hand but the wire are cut
i have connect them to a molex each and try each cable to + and - no change work great on other psu but not on the corsair

back in time i can connect my pump after the boot bur right now i cant connect them at all
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-29-2020, 04:22 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,038
POST ID # = 1052278
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
sorry for the last part i forget to respond to it

thank again for your response
my part :

asus strix x99 mobo power whit 8 and 4 pin from the corsair
2 x r9 290 watercooled porweder by 2x8 and 2x6 pin total 4 cable from the corsair

4tb HDD powered bysata by the corsair psu

12 fan connected 4 fan by molex (pwm signal to the mobo)


2 swiftec mcp 35 powered by only one molex on 300w (maybe less) noname psu



İ also try just the original cable that come out fron the box

i use extention sleeved cable connected to the orijinal corsair cable

if i connect event only one pump on the psu its shutt down

My gpu are powered by a total of 4 pci 8 pin and 6 pin pci each not a single 8+6 but 2 straight of the psu for each gpu

i have try whit and whitout the sleved cable extention

i have try whitout any fan and HDD

how a noname 20 year old psu that give a max of 300w can run my 2 pump my HDD and 12 fan and my 1200hx corsair not

i hope i didnt forget anythin
I don't need to keep hearing about the other PSU, ok? It doesn't serve any purpose.

When you plugged the two Swiftech pumps into the CORSAIR power supply, how did you do it? Using a TYPE 3 cable that came with the PSU? Two pumps on one cable or two cables, one for each pump?

And what does "12 fan connected 4 fan by molex (pwm signal to the mobo)"

How is that connected to the HX1200i.

Don't tell me how it's connected to the other PSU. That doesn't help us here.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-29-2020, 04:27 PM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052279
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default

each pump is connected to a molex on a sinble cable directly to the corsair psu
i use

out of the psu 1 cable connected to the pump
out of the psu 1 cable connected to the second pump

out of the psu 1 cable for 4 fan connected to the psu
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-29-2020, 05:37 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,038
POST ID # = 1052290
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
each pump is connected to a molex on a sinble cable directly to the corsair psu
i use

out of the psu 1 cable connected to the pump
out of the psu 1 cable connected to the second pump

out of the psu 1 cable for 4 fan connected to the psu
That's really strange. None of that should exceed OCP or be too much load for a single cable.

You say that when the pumps and fans are hooked up to the HX1200i, it will POST, but will fail to boot into Windows? Or does it not even POST?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-30-2020, 06:20 AM
darksidevirus darksidevirus is offline
Registered User
darksidevirus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1052327
darksidevirus Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyguru View Post
That's really strange. None of that should exceed OCP or be too much load for a single cable.

You say that when the pumps and fans are hooked up to the HX1200i, it will POST, but will fail to boot into Windows? Or does it not even POST?
Even white only one pump the psu dont boot
Start d'or 5 sec ans reboot whit out posting

Even better sons Time i just have a half second bootloop
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-30-2020, 07:57 AM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 157
POST ID # = 1052337
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

just out of curiosity, how are the pumps connected to the PSU? just yellow and black wires? it's soldered? insulation is correct?

I was imagining, if there's a small short or intermittent contact between the wires you reconnected, it would trip the OCP on the HX, and the cheap PSU may not have great output protection and would happily power the pumps with a few DC arcs now and then.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-30-2020, 05:47 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,038
POST ID # = 1052387
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeDoyen View Post
just out of curiosity, how are the pumps connected to the PSU? just yellow and black wires? it's soldered? insulation is correct?

I was imagining, if there's a small short or intermittent contact between the wires you reconnected, it would trip the OCP on the HX, and the cheap PSU may not have great output protection and would happily power the pumps with a few DC arcs now and then.
That's why I'm thinking as well. But it's hard to get all of the information from OP.

It's this part that makes me think something janky is going on:

Quote:
i have bought these pump second hand but the wire are cut
i have connect them to a molex each and try each cable to + and - no change work great on other psu but not on the corsair
Still have NO IDEA how the pump is actually hooked up to the HX1200i.

OP: Maybe take some pictures of how you had to wire the pump to plug into the HX1200i??
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-30-2020, 07:05 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,038
POST ID # = 1052396
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
Even white only one pump the psu dont boot
Start d'or 5 sec ans reboot whit out posting

Even better sons Time i just have a half second bootloop
Ok.. Single vs. Multiple +12V rail isn't going to cause a "boot loop". OCP does not cause a "boot loop". If you exceed OCP, the PSU latches OFF. You're misdiagnosing your problem, clearly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksidevirus View Post
i have bought these pump second hand but the wire are cut
i have connect them to a molex each and try each cable to + and - no change work great on other psu but not on the corsair
You REALLY need to show us or at least explain to us how you're hooking the pumps up. What does the connector that goes into the PSU look like? What does it say? How did you wire the + and - for the pump to a Molex?

I think the solution to your problem is in the information you're not giving us.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
hx1200

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.