Corsair Community

New to AIO, H100i v2 with i7-8700k stock speed prime95 over 80c

guschen802

New to AIO, H100i v2 with i7-8700k stock speed prime95 over 80c

I am new to AIO, so wanna check whether this is normal.

Room temp is around 16~20c temp

Case is 460x, radiator mount at front

CPU using stock speed, MCE enabled

Boot up water pump temp around 30c

Using Prime95 stress test it reach to ~83c(performance mode) ~86(quite mode)

I have a pump issue at very beginning, the temp suddenly went over 80c during casual work. Pump temp over 40c. So I reapply the pump head with new thermal paste then do the prime95 test with result post above.

Just wanna make sure I am right this time.

Thanks in advanced!

The test was done yesterday, today during morning, the pump start up at 25c with room temp around 18. Then after 10 minutes bootup time, it reach to 30c and stable. CPU package temp is ~35c idle time. And using quite mode, I can’t remember the rpm for pump, but I think its around 1800rpm

The cpu header is making sure 12V all the time.

OK, that sounds more like what I was expecting and 1800-2000 rpm is within the normal variance for the Balanced setting.

So, the cooler seems to be working properly. If you don't like the 83-86C number, you need to do a few things. 1) Turn off MCE. 2) Read the Asus OC guide, in particular the part about IA/DC load line level. 3) Probably not run Prime 95 unless you are actually hunting Mersenne factors. It's not good for the ego.

http://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-lake-overclocking-guide/

This is for Z270, but it is effectively the same. The load line information is at the bottom of page 3. It is somewhat technical and it is not necessary to understand it all, but it should give you some idea of the issues in play.

OK, that sounds more like what I was expecting and 1800-2000 rpm is within the normal variance for the Balanced setting.