The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 11-11-2015, 04:42 AM
styrop14n styrop14n is offline
Registered User
styrop14n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 819392
styrop14n Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Guys

Exactly the same issue here,

Mobo Asus Z170-A (BIOS 1203 latest)
RAM Kingston DDR4 2666 4x4GB C15 (HX426C15FBK4/16)

yes i know it's corsair forum and Asus z170 pro gaming mb thread, however the issue\symptoms are regardless ram/mobo, its seems as Z170 chipset or mobo issue.

1st step : XMP 2666Mhz - no errors
2nd step :

I've found this thread

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...X426C15FBK4-16

so I setup my RAM 3000 15-15-15-35 1N 1.30V and is 100% MemStable i can run 8h test and there is no errors at all


System is stable games/all memory/cpu test etc...

However as NJC mentioned "cold start" is total lottery, sometimes boot up sometimes won't waiting for another Asus BIOS....
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old 11-16-2015, 06:47 PM
LegolasYiu LegolasYiu is offline
Registered User
LegolasYiu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 820367
LegolasYiu Reputation: 10
Default

Tips for memory issues for Asus motherboards. I use it a lot.
Upgrade to latest BIOS
than, I usually check the timing on the Corsair website and set on the BIOS manually.
For example:
Memory Size
16GB Kit (2 x 8GB)
SPD Latency
15-15-15-36
SPD Speed
2133MHz
SPD Voltage
1.2V
Speed Rating
PC4-25600 (3200MHz)
Tested Latency
16-18-18-36
Tested Speed
3200Mhz
Tested Voltage
1.35V

AI Tweaker -> DRAM Frequency -> (DDR4-3000)


DRAM-> Select Timing Control

1) DRAM CAS# LATENCY – 16

2) DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay – 18

3) DRAM RAS# PRE time – 18

4) DRAM RAS# ACT Time– 36

Return to Extreme Tweaker

5) DRAM VOLTAGE – 1.35V (0.1V+ if it is still unstable)

Save settings and reboot
Reply With Quote


  #63  
Old 11-18-2015, 01:03 PM
NJC NJC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 820656
NJC Reputation: 10
Default

Yup! done all of the above, pretty much pointless with the state the current Asus Z170 boards are in, yeah if i was running some slower memory it would be fine but trying to achieve 3200 speeds just seems impossible until they fix it with some bios updates, if thats even possible! starting to doubt it atm.
Reply With Quote


  #64  
Old 11-18-2015, 02:48 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 990
POST ID # = 820683
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

It is not like all ASUS mbs have problems running high memory frequencies, at least i can reliably POST with 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX3M4A2800C16 overclocked @ DDR3-3333 16-16-16-35 1T 1.36V on Maximus VIII Gene. For that i only had to manually tweak VCCSA and VCCIO pretty much.

Also i don't think you should use the voltages Eldata gave in #55 for VCCSA and especially VCCIO. If i raise them this much, that results in infrequent blackscreens on my boards HDMI out. So either one or both are are probably way too high.
Reply With Quote


  #65  
Old 11-18-2015, 05:23 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,318
POST ID # = 820718
Greybeard Reputation: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJC View Post
Greybeard you owe us some answers or an update atleast now as this thread is expanding and you haven't said a word in ages on this topic. update please!!
Alright, I just got an update from our DRAM, and according to them, Asus is fully aware of this XMP profile not loading properly in BIOS with Z170 boards. From the sound of it, a later BIOS rev will address this issue.

In the meantime, for those Z170 owners that have a kits that's rated at 3000-3200, you guys can RMA those kits and we'll get them replaced for you.

I'll provide more update as they come along.
Reply With Quote


  #66  
Old 11-19-2015, 08:56 AM
solidOz solidOz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 820809
solidOz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greybeard View Post
Alright, I just got an update from our DRAM, and according to them, Asus is fully aware of this XMP profile not loading properly in BIOS with Z170 boards. From the sound of it, a later BIOS rev will address this issue.

In the meantime, for those Z170 owners that have a kits that's rated at 3000-3200, you guys can RMA those kits and we'll get them replaced for you.

I'll provide more update as they come along.
I was going to buy the Asus Z170 Pro Gaming + i5-6600K, with these:

Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x, 8GB, DDR4-3000, DIMM 288) (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)

Reading this thread I feel like I should not do that, can someone help me get the right ones please? Feel kinda lost here, if all of them have so much trouble, what can I buy to have no issues?!
Reply With Quote


  #67  
Old 11-19-2015, 09:57 AM
Smitty27 Smitty27 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 820817
Smitty27 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greybeard View Post
Alright, I just got an update from our DRAM, and according to them, Asus is fully aware of this XMP profile not loading properly in BIOS with Z170 boards. From the sound of it, a later BIOS rev will address this issue.

In the meantime, for those Z170 owners that have a kits that's rated at 3000-3200, you guys can RMA those kits and we'll get them replaced for you.

I'll provide more update as they come along.
I have the CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 kit. Why do we need to RMA if you say it will be fixed in an upcoming BIOS update? Is there something wrong with the kits?
Reply With Quote


  #68  
Old 11-20-2015, 07:05 AM
NJC NJC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 821066
NJC Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty27 View Post
I have the CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 kit. Why do we need to RMA if you say it will be fixed in an upcoming BIOS update? Is there something wrong with the kits?
Yeah indeed what Smitty said, if there's nothing wrong with the kits and it's a bios issue what is RMA'ing going to achieve?
Reply With Quote


  #69  
Old 11-21-2015, 11:24 AM
ztjuh ztjuh is offline
Registered User
ztjuh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 821337
ztjuh Reputation: 10
Default

Z170 PRO GAMING BIOS 1102 is out (Improved system stability), anyone tested it yet?

I'm still running 0703, which seems the most stable for me. With the same settings on a higher version of the BIOS it won't boot due to the XMP profile, I can get it to 3000Mhz with this BIOS.

CMK16GX4M2B3200C16

Last edited by ztjuh; 11-29-2015 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #70  
Old 11-21-2015, 03:08 PM
ktp ktp is offline
Registered User
ktp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 821367
ktp Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ztjuh View Post
Z170 PRO GAMING BIOS 1102 is out (Improved system stability), anyone tested it yet?
I have ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING and Corsair CMK16GX4M4B3000C15.
I also have the same problem in XMP.
  1. BIOS 0802
    can solve the problem. See my solution.
  2. BIOS 0803
    can solve the problem. See my solution.
  3. BIOS 0908
    No luck. XMP causes "Overclocking failed".
  4. BIOS 1102
    No luck. XMP causes "Overclocking failed".

My solution is:
  • Change Fast-Boot to disabled.
  • Change VCCIO to 1.175v.
  • Change VCCSA to 1.225v.
  • Save and reboot.
  • Change memory profile to XMP.
  • Save and reboot.
Reply With Quote


  #71  
Old 11-21-2015, 04:55 PM
ztjuh ztjuh is offline
Registered User
ztjuh's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 821380
ztjuh Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktp View Post
I have ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING and Corsair CMK16GX4M4B3000C15.
I also have the same problem in XMP.
  1. BIOS 0802
    can solve the problem. See my solution.
  2. BIOS 0803
    can solve the problem. See my solution.
  3. BIOS 0908
    No luck. XMP causes "Overclocking failed".
  4. BIOS 1102
    No luck. XMP causes "Overclocking failed".

My solution is:
  • Change Fast-Boot to disabled.
  • Change VCCIO to 1.175v.
  • Change VCCSA to 1.225v.
  • Save and reboot.
  • Change memory profile to XMP.
  • Save and reboot.
Ahh you don't have 3200Mhz, I can get it up to 3000Mhz already without changing IO or SA.
Reply With Quote


  #72  
Old 11-21-2015, 09:45 PM
dadopurso dadopurso is offline
Registered User
dadopurso's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 821405
dadopurso Reputation: 10
Default

Z170 PRO GAMING BIOS 1102
Improve system stability.

memory is not bios! 3000 MHz still in use :(((
Reply With Quote


  #73  
Old 11-22-2015, 01:15 AM
ktp ktp is offline
Registered User
ktp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 821414
ktp Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ztjuh View Post
Ahh you don't have 3200Mhz, I can get it up to 3000Mhz already without changing IO or SA.
Yep, mine is 3000MHz. But the results are different by bios revision.
Using rev0703, my memory works fine with Fast-Boot=disabled only. without increasing IO and SA voltage.

In short, I would like to say:
  • Fast-Boot=disabled may increase boot stability. Only works with older bios?
  • Increasing IO and SA voltage will give us some stability, but it is not silver bullet.
  • Recent bios will give me worse result in XMP.
  • ASUS mobos will not boot correctly even if we choose their QVL memory :-P
Reply With Quote


  #74  
Old 11-23-2015, 12:06 PM
Eldata Eldata is offline
Registered User
Eldata's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 821655
Eldata Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktp View Post
Yep, mine is 3000MHz. But the results are different by bios revision.
Using rev0703, my memory works fine with Fast-Boot=disabled only. without increasing IO and SA voltage.

In short, I would like to say:
  • Fast-Boot=disabled may increase boot stability. Only works with older bios?
  • Increasing IO and SA voltage will give us some stability, but it is not silver bullet.
  • Recent bios will give me worse result in XMP.
  • ASUS mobos will not boot correctly even if we choose their QVL memory :-P
All Asus Z170 MBs having XMP issues is a myth. Check posts 2278 and 2279 in the thread below;

http://www.overclock.net/t/1568154/a...#post_24628651

Even though these two posts are about the Z170-A board, the Pro Gaming probably falls in the same category.
Reply With Quote


  #75  
Old 11-23-2015, 12:15 PM
Eldata Eldata is offline
Registered User
Eldata's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 821657
Eldata Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
It is not like all ASUS mbs have problems running high memory frequencies, at least i can reliably POST with 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX3M4A2800C16 overclocked @ DDR3-3333 16-16-16-35 1T 1.36V on Maximus VIII Gene. For that i only had to manually tweak VCCSA and VCCIO pretty much.

Also i don't think you should use the voltages Eldata gave in #55 for VCCSA and especially VCCIO. If i raise them this much, that results in infrequent blackscreens on my boards HDMI out. So either one or both are are probably way too high.
You seem to be overclocking already overclocked memory and using the iGPU. Most guys here are just trying to get the advertised XMP setting to work.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.