The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2008, 12:27 AM
damork damork is offline
Registered User
damork's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 327705
damork Reputation: 10
Default TWINX2048-3200C2PT w/Incorrect SPD Info

I just received my order of the TWINX2048-3200C2PT package from Newegg today and upon installation, the SPD info from Everest & CPU-Z is:

SPD Field Value
Memory Module Properties
Module Name Corsair CMX1024-3200C2
Serial Number None
Module Size 1024 MB (2 ranks, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings
@ 200 MHz 3.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

Memory Module Features
Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair/products.html


Why doesn't the SPD indicate 2-3-3-6 timing? Please advise.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-23-2008, 02:39 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,190
POST ID # = 327708
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by damork View Post
Why doesn't the SPD indicate 2-3-3-6 timing? Please advise.
This is NORMAL. You are supposed to set the timings / voltage manually with this part number.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-23-2008, 01:15 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 327737
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You will want to set the memory timings and voltage manually as Wired said. Voltage should be 2.75v, and the tested memory timings are 2-3-3-6 (CAS - tRCD - tRP - tRAS)
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-23-2008, 01:35 PM
damork damork is offline
Registered User
damork's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 327739
damork Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the response. My motherboard is an ASUS A7N8X-E deluxe running the latest bios (1013), and I believe it was the last revision made. Processor is Athlon XP 2600+ Barton Core. Voltage choices are 2.6, 2.7, or 2.8 based on what comes up in the bios. Does anyone know if it is possible to make it show 2.75v or is that something you type in to show 2 decimal places?
Many of my options are still greyed out, so I'll have to read the manual a bit more I guess. Pardon me for the ignorance but I haven't made many changes to this part of the bios on this system. This ram is replacing pair of 512 meg Corsair dual channel ram that ran with default settings - just want to make sure I get the most from this ram. I'm not planning on overclocking, but want it right. Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-23-2008, 02:30 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 327751
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default Moved to Correct Section!

For that MB and CPU please install the modules in slot 2-3 and then enter the BIOS and load setup default and set these settings.
CPU Freq: 166 MHz
System Performance: User Define
Memory Frequency: 100%
Dim Voltage to 2.7 Volts
Resulting Frequency: 166MHz
Memory Timings: Manual/User Define
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2.5T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 3T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 3T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 6T
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-05-2008, 06:03 AM
lulo lulo is offline
Registered User
lulo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 341036
lulo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
For that MB and CPU please install the modules in slot 2-3 and then enter the BIOS and load setup default and set these settings.
CPU Freq: 166 MHz
System Performance: User Define
Memory Frequency: 100%
Dim Voltage to 2.7 Volts
Resulting Frequency: 166MHz
Memory Timings: Manual/User Define
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2.5T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 3T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 3T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 6T

Dear Mr. RAM Guy,

I have almost the same systemconstellation (please see signature below). At this time there are a pair of TwinX1024-3200XL running in my system. Full stable by BIOS Option set to "System Performance: Agressive" and Dim Voltage at 2.6 Volts.

After I had some Problems with RAM-Kit from another manufacturer (Block move Error) I have sended them back to my reseller and asked him for a Corsair TwinX2048-3200C2. I have made very good experience with the Corsair TwinX1024-3200XL.


My Question:
May the Twinx2048-3200C2 (or C2PT) run at "Agressive System Performance" or must I observe some other BIOS settings?! Wich are recommended or rather possible? Is there a difference between C2 and C2PT or is it just the Color?


I haven't buy the 2GB-Kit yet, but if you tell me it runs best and full stable I would be very pleased and buy it.

Thanks for any helpfull answers ahead :-)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-07-2008, 08:38 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 341450
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes Twinx2048-3200C2 is the best and only choice right now just replace what you have now and the Voltage should be 2.75 Volts and just remember to load setup defaults and then set the Voltage to 2.75 Volts and set the memory frequency at 100% and set the timings to Cas 2.5-3-3-6 and you should be good to go.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.