The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:42 PM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 454617
too Reputation: 10
Default problem running 2 kits

Same problem here!
Still no reply :-(
I´m very regretful to buy Corsair this time.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:53 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 454629
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

what speed are you running at? mixing 2 kits is not officially supported even if they are the same version. you may run ok at ddr800 speed with a bump of voltage here or there.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-16-2010, 09:17 AM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 454701
too Reputation: 10
Question

I bought two kits, just the same, but they are not suported? Can´t have 8GB on my MOBO at 1066Mhz?
What I must do in relation the voltage?

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:36 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 454742
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Your motherboard may not be able to run 4 modules at the same frequency as 2 modules. You will likely need to increase your memory controller voltage to the 1.3v - 1.4v range to be stable. If they are not stable at 1066, you may need to run them at DDR800 or even 667.
.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-16-2010, 05:39 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 454754
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

Q2X8G6400C4DHX is the only 8 gig kit supported for the P5Q
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-17-2010, 02:37 AM
secretworld secretworld is offline
Registered User
secretworld's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 454790
secretworld Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthohol View Post
Q2X8G6400C4DHX is the only 8 gig kit supported for the P5Q
And it works beautifully! Here both at 800C4 or 1066C5 5 5 18.
With only a very slight increase to northbridge V, to avoid the much to high auto settings. (auto on a P5Q is way off) And the ram voltage I use is 2.02 because the P5Q overvolts that too.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:22 AM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 490511
too Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the help, and really sorry to take such a long time to answer it.
Problem solved!
Here is the current settings:
DDR2 1066 5-6-6-17 - 2.1v
NB Voltage - 1.12
SB Voltage - 1.10
Memory OC Charger - Enable
FSB Termination Voltage - 1.24
Load Line Calibration - Enable
CPU Margin Enhancement - Performance Mode
It even runs at 1099Mhz with the CPU OCed at 2709 with Asus EPU. I believe it can go further but I´m not having the time and patience to try.
Thanks a lot for the help!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.