The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2018, 03:52 PM
bose789 bose789 is offline
Registered User
bose789's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 964771
bose789 Reputation: 10
Default Commander Pro Fan Issue

HI, I just installed the Corsair Commander Pro. I am controlling 2 LL120 intake fans. Since installing the Commander Pro, I have left the intake on the quiet profile. For some reason, the fan RPM's keep changing. They are going from around 1100 RPM, which is very quiet, up to 1500 RPM, which is pretty loud.

Before this, I had the fans running of the MB, with default speeds. This was not happening with the MB, only since I installed the Commander Pro.

Has anyone else experienced this?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:10 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,666
POST ID # = 964774
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The default fan profiles on the CoPro are tied to CPU temperature with no hysteresis. I suspect you have a Skylake or higher (hint: fill out your system specs ... it's enormously helpful) and those CPUs are known for spiky temps.

You're better off with a custom fan curve, ideally based on one of the CoPro's temperature probes. This is especially true if you have liquid cooling ... but I don't know if you do since you've not filled out your system details (notice a pattern here?)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:17 PM
bose789 bose789 is offline
Registered User
bose789's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 964777
bose789 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The default fan profiles on the CoPro are tied to CPU temperature with no hysteresis. I suspect you have a Skylake or higher (hint: fill out your system specs ... it's enormously helpful) and those CPUs are known for spiky temps.

You're better off with a custom fan curve, ideally based on one of the CoPro's temperature probes. This is especially true if you have liquid cooling ... but I don't know if you do since you've not filled out your system details (notice a pattern here?)
Yep, I will fill out the system specs. I am running an 8700k, with Corsair H115i cooler. I went and set a specific RPM on the fans, and that did the trick.

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:21 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,666
POST ID # = 964780
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bose789 View Post
Yep, I will fill out the system specs. I am running an 8700k, with Corsair H115i cooler. I went and set a specific RPM on the fans, and that did the trick.

Thank you for your help.
No problem. I would recommend that you use one of the CoPro's thermistors to control the fan speed. You'll want to monitor the temps just above the GPU and base it off of that for case fan airflow. With liquid cooling, the GPU is what's heating the system up, not the CPU. That'll also be a more stable temperature with less sudden variations.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:25 PM
bose789 bose789 is offline
Registered User
bose789's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 964782
bose789 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
No problem. I would recommend that you use one of the CoPro's thermistors to control the fan speed. You'll want to monitor the temps just above the GPU and base it off of that for case fan airflow. With liquid cooling, the GPU is what's heating the system up, not the CPU. That'll also be a more stable temperature with less sudden variations.
Got it. You can then set custom curves based of the thermistor?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:40 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,666
POST ID # = 964784
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bose789 View Post
Got it. You can then set custom curves based of the thermistor?
Yes, absolutely. I think that's the coolest feature of the CoPro. Create your curve and select the temp sensor when editing the fan curve.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:45 PM
bose789 bose789 is offline
Registered User
bose789's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 964785
bose789 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Yes, absolutely. I think that's the coolest feature of the CoPro. Create your curve and select the temp sensor when editing the fan curve.
Sounds good, will definitely try that out. Thanks again for the help.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.