The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2009, 01:55 PM
sangiro sangiro is offline
Registered User
sangiro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 418395
sangiro Reputation: 10
Default Compatibility Issue

Hi there,

I have a Asus P5Q-E and I bought two 2x 2GB Dominators. Part Nr. CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 5-6-6-18 2.10 volt ver 5.1 The vendor I bought it from stated that it is the same as the one of the following memory configurations as in the list provided by Corsair for the Asus P5Q-E below. I think they said it is the same as the forth memory configuration:

TWIN2X2048-8500C5D 2GB Kit (2 x 1GB) 5-5-515- 240pin DIMM Dominator
TWIN2X4096-8500C5 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) 5-5-515- 240pin DIMM Black
TWIN2X4096-8500C5C 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) 5-5-515- 240pin DIMM Black
TWIN2X4096-8500C5D 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) 5-5-515- 240pin DIMM Dominator
TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) 5-5-515- 240pin DIMM Dominator
TWIN2X4096-8500C7 4GB Kit (2 x 2GB) 7-7-720- 240pin DIMM Black

I installed the memory and the computer does not even POST. I switch on the overclocking pin in order to go up to 2.1 Volts and also configured the North Bridge voltage to be 1.3 Volts. I basically had to boot up from my current 667Mhz memory and change these parameters and then save in bios and then switch of an install the new Corsair memory because there is no POST. I tried to lower the DRAM frequency to 800 Mhz and 667 Mhz and also entered all necessary parameters per hand such as the latency etc and also changed other settings as suggested on this site for similiar configurations.

I am sitting in between a rock and a hard place and after about 16 Hours of getting no where I consulted the site configurator and saw that my memory is not listed as for the P5Q-E. Yet the South African vendor of Corsair persist that the memory will work with the P5Q-E. What could I have possibly missed and is this memory approved for the P5Q-E or am I reading the specs incorrectly as I cannot for the live of me see a 5-6-6-18 configuration using the configurator.

Your help will possibly safe my sanity...
Regards,

Sangiro
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-28-2009, 02:00 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 418397
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 = TWIN2X4096-8500C5D

It should work just fine. Try just one stick, see what happens.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-28-2009, 02:16 PM
sangiro sangiro is offline
Registered User
sangiro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 418400
sangiro Reputation: 10
Default Compatibility Issue II

Hi I tried one stick. All of them one at a time. Then one pair one at a time. I used the thread under Feedback and Suggestion Asus P5Q-E + Q9550 + 8GB Corsair Dominator 1066 Mhz Pc2-8500 C5D (Vista x64) as a guideline and changed the settings as indicated in the article. Still no POST. Except for the settings in that Thread any other possible settings? Can it be that all 4 DIMMS are bust?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-29-2009, 04:50 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 418600
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

With 4 modules I would suggest setting the memory frequency at DDR667 and set the memory Voltage to 2.1 Volts and set the NB/MCH/SPP Voltage to +.2 Volts as well and test the system with www.memtest.org. In addition, with some MB's (Mostly ASUS) you have to disable legacy USB in the bios when running any memory test.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:14 PM
superj1977 superj1977 is offline
Registered User
superj1977's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 448453
superj1977 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 = TWIN2X4096-8500C5D

It should work just fine. Try just one stick, see what happens.




CMD4GX2M2A1066C5
----------------

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 IS INFACT NOT TWIN2X2048-8500C5D ,TWIN2X4096-8500C5D OR TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF.
It is a completly different model with a different spec than the other 3 models stated above.

The CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 model requires you to enter your mobo bios and manually set your ram timmings to the timmings whcih are actually atated on the side of each stick,in this case the settings will be 5-6-6-18 with a dram voltage of 2.1v.

Enter these settings and it WILL post no problems.

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 is incorrectly advertised on corsairs own website of having timings of 5-5-5-15,naughty naughty corsair!! (trading standards anyone?)

When you are on the corsair website and click the "shop online" link for CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 take a look at the amazon page it links you through to,intresting seen as even amazon are able to read the spec from the side of a stick of ram.

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 doesnt like to post at 5-5-5-15 2.1v on asus mobos,i should know,i got a P5K-e and got CMD4GX2M2A1066C5.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Info taken from : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002JIMVU8/...SIN=B002JIMVU8



"Technical Details
Easy Overclocking with Enhanced Performance Profiles (EPP) Tested at E.P.P SPD settings 5-6-6-18 at 2.1V at 1066MHz
Perfect upgrade to Compliment Windows 7 or any Enthusiast who wants more speed out of their system!
100% tested at 1066MHz in high performance DDR2 motherboards like the NVIDIA 780i Chipset
Lifetime Warranty
4GB ( 2 X 2GB) 4096MB Kit PC8500 1066MHz 240-pin DDR2 5-6-6-18
› See more technical details"

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Info taken from : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...es)-_-20145256



"Brand CORSAIR
Series DOMINATOR
Model CMD4GX2M2A1066C5
Type 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM
Tech Spec
Capacity 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Speed DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Cas Latency 5
Timing 5-6-6-18
Voltage 2.1V
Multi-channel Kit Dual Channel Kit
Heat Spreader Yes
Features Two matched 2GB DOMINATOR modules for use in AMD and Intel DDR2 systems 1066MHz
Latency of 5-6-6-18, for reliability and performance
DOMINATOR Heat Sinks with DHX Technology
Manufacturer Warranty
Parts Lifetime limited
Labor Lifetime limited
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


And so on,basically the product is being advertised as having 1 spec but infact actually has a different spec,regardless of advantages/disadvantages this is common misleading sales tactics which are infact illegal.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-21-2010, 12:14 PM
mimic58 mimic58 is offline
Registered User
mimic58's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 467518
mimic58 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superj1977 View Post
CMD4GX2M2A1066C5
----------------

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 IS INFACT NOT TWIN2X2048-8500C5D ,TWIN2X4096-8500C5D OR TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF.
It is a completly different model with a different spec than the other 3 models stated above.

The CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 model requires you to enter your mobo bios and manually set your ram timmings to the timmings whcih are actually atated on the side of each stick,in this case the settings will be 5-6-6-18 with a dram voltage of 2.1v.

Enter these settings and it WILL post no problems.

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 is incorrectly advertised on corsairs own website of having timings of 5-5-5-15,naughty naughty corsair!! (trading standards anyone?)

When you are on the corsair website and click the "shop online" link for CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 take a look at the amazon page it links you through to,intresting seen as even amazon are able to read the spec from the side of a stick of ram.

CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 doesnt like to post at 5-5-5-15 2.1v on asus mobos,i should know,i got a P5K-e and got CMD4GX2M2A1066C5.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Info taken from : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002JIMVU8/...SIN=B002JIMVU8



"Technical Details
Easy Overclocking with Enhanced Performance Profiles (EPP) Tested at E.P.P SPD settings 5-6-6-18 at 2.1V at 1066MHz
Perfect upgrade to Compliment Windows 7 or any Enthusiast who wants more speed out of their system!
100% tested at 1066MHz in high performance DDR2 motherboards like the NVIDIA 780i Chipset
Lifetime Warranty
4GB ( 2 X 2GB) 4096MB Kit PC8500 1066MHz 240-pin DDR2 5-6-6-18
› See more technical details"

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Info taken from : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...es)-_-20145256



"Brand CORSAIR
Series DOMINATOR
Model CMD4GX2M2A1066C5
Type 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM
Tech Spec
Capacity 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Speed DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Cas Latency 5
Timing 5-6-6-18
Voltage 2.1V
Multi-channel Kit Dual Channel Kit
Heat Spreader Yes
Features Two matched 2GB DOMINATOR modules for use in AMD and Intel DDR2 systems 1066MHz
Latency of 5-6-6-18, for reliability and performance
DOMINATOR Heat Sinks with DHX Technology
Manufacturer Warranty
Parts Lifetime limited
Labor Lifetime limited
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


And so on,basically the product is being advertised as having 1 spec but infact actually has a different spec,regardless of advantages/disadvantages this is common misleading sales tactics which are infact illegal.
Dude you just saved my *** i ordered 4 gigs of TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF from an ebay seller Who then messaged me to say he could not supply it but could send CMD4GX2M2A1066C5 which was exactly same! . I decided to verify this before accepting came across this thread and realised i would of got Stitched with slower memory I have now verified what you said from 3 sorces , THANKYOU!!! i'd of been really gutted if id got chumped like that

now iv been trying to order TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF. but i cant find anyone stocking it can you tell me if TWIN2X4096-8500C5D is just that same but without the fan?

Last edited by mimic58; 09-21-2010 at 12:29 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:29 PM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 493480
too Reputation: 10
Default

I wish I had read this tread before buying my two kits :-(
I´m very upset now that I know I could have better performance for the same price.
First bad point for Corsair, and indeed you can´t even find it on the website!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:36 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 493483
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Mixing memory hasn't been a good idea for like 10 years. The website doesn't say you can do it either.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.