The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 48 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:49 PM
PrObE's Avatar
PrObE PrObE is offline
SpeedRacer
PrObE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 441131
PrObE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaprikawn View Post
Just checked it again, the error message is
Code:
[ERROR]Firmware download fail!
i get the same message after changing to IDE-mode.

Is Hot plugging and power-off a valid try for this error also?

Last edited by PrObE; 02-25-2010 at 12:53 PM. Reason: Missed specifying IDE-mode
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:50 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 441132
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

PrObE
I am sorry it is not stated my mistake; I will have it added. But try that and let us know how you make out!

Quote:
i get the same message after changing to IDE-mode.

Is Hot plugging and power-off a valid try for this error also?
A: No please do exactly what was stated; Do NOT Power down:
Quote:
I would try Hot plugging the drive with it at the Command Prompt after you have posted then unplug the drive power and the Data Cable wait about 2 Min then plug it back in and try the command Again.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 02-25-2010 at 01:03 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:07 PM
PrObE's Avatar
PrObE PrObE is offline
SpeedRacer
PrObE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 441135
PrObE Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry for causing confusion, with "power-off" i meant disconnecting the drive power, not the entire computer.

Thx for beeing on the alert, sorry for the confusion.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 441136
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

No worries just make sure that you unplug both the Data and Power cable and wait a few min before re-connecting them and connect the power last.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:29 PM
PrObE's Avatar
PrObE PrObE is offline
SpeedRacer
PrObE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 441140
PrObE Reputation: 10
Default

Still not able to load the update, same error message.

Tried hotplugging at the cmd and before and after the " enter drive number"-command.

Am i doing it correctly or did i miss something?

Cheers,
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:44 PM
errut errut is offline
Registered User
errut's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 441142
errut Reputation: 10
Default

(error) download firmware faild bye
i have downloaded lower case 128gb and moved the lower128.exe to a bootable usb-stick. after reboot i changed the bios (asus p5q deluxe) to ide-mode , rebooted again. the drive was recognized correctly, but after hitting enter above message arrived me.
lower case is " Corsair"
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:48 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 441144
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Try it on another system.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 02-25-2010, 02:06 PM
ChrisJohn ChrisJohn is offline
Registered User
ChrisJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Perth, Scotland
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 441145
ChrisJohn Reputation: 10
Default Some further questions please

If I try the update on my lowercase 128 X series Firmware 1 and it fails, does the offer to return the SSD to Corsair for updating apply to SSDs sold outside the USA? I am in the UK and bought here.

The instructions refer to booting from a USB device which my motherboard does not seem to support. Can I carry out the same procedure booting from a CD or a Floppy which are both supported or even another Windows OS on a different Hard Drive?

Lastly, are there any specific systems/chipsets that are known quite definitely not to work on this procedure?

Many thanks to Corsair for being brave enough to allow us to try this procedure. The risks are clearly spelled out so we have been duly warned!

Last edited by ChrisJohn; 02-25-2010 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 02-25-2010, 02:20 PM
uscool uscool is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 87
POST ID # = 441149
uscool Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisJohn View Post
If I try the update on my lowercase 128 X series Firmware 1 and it fails, does the offer to return the SSD to Corsair for updating apply to SSDs sold outside the USA? I am in the UK and bought here.

The instructions refer to booting from a USB device which my motherboard does not seem to support. Can I carry out the same procedure booting from a CD which is supported?

Lastly, are there any specific systems/chipsets that are known quite definitely not to work on this procedure?

Many thanks to Corsair for being brave enough to allow us to try this procedure. The risks are clearly spelled out so we have been duly warned!
me too also in the UK, i aint had a go yet using pc at the moment but may do later, this guide ok

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...57&postcount=1
once you create the bootable flash you copy the lower64.exe file to the flash then reboot once the boot usb gets ya to a c:prompt then type in the lower64.exe command and it should run.
__________________

to make a boot usb ??

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:12 PM
PrObE's Avatar
PrObE PrObE is offline
SpeedRacer
PrObE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 441160
PrObE Reputation: 10
Default

Same result "firmware download fail" on a nvidia nf680-mobo w/Vista.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 441161
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would try another system I had success with an ASUS M2N32-SLI MB in the lab.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:20 PM
Stiffler´s MoM Stiffler´s MoM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 441164
Stiffler´s MoM Reputation: 10
Default

also the same here. download failed. bye
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:21 PM
Davyc Davyc is offline
Mad Scientist
Davyc's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In A Dirty Little Town
Posts: 311
POST ID # = 441165
Davyc Reputation: 10
Default

OK tried to update:

1. Made bootable USB drive
2. Downloaded lower64.exe copied to USB
3. Booted ... no problem
4. Got through all the screens - drive detected correctly, chose #1 (which it was)
5. Got mesage: [ERROR]Firmware download fail!

Tried hot plugging - checked IDE mode (even changed it from Enhanced to Compatible) - removed all other drives including CD so only X-64 was attached. No luck just the same [ERROR]Firmware download fail! message.

Thanks anyway for letting us try - at least it will give you some more statistics to ponder over with regards to system configurations that work and don't work ;-)
__________________
All advice is given "as is" use it at your own risk - advice is drawn from personal experience and from other resources that are freely available
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:29 PM
Anth Anth is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 441167
Anth Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by errut View Post
(error) download firmware faild bye
You are not the only one. with that [error]download firmware failed!

Will list what I have done.

1. Tried it via floppy drive connected via USB on IDE mode, drive recognised, but get that error.

2. Tried it on a USB Pen Drive - A 4GB Corsair Voyager one no less, error program not designed to run with this operating system??.

3. Tried it on the same above Voyager using the method to create a compatible USB bootable pen drive linked to above, Error Download failed.

4. Tried it on a Sandisk Cruzer Pen Drive - same error

5. My main PC motherboard is a socket 1366 Gigabyte X58. So disconnected my X64 and connected it to my old PC, this has SATA 1.5 connectors on and its an Intel ICH5 based board.

6. ICH5 via floppy [error]download firmware failed!

7. Wouldn't let me do it via USB as my board did not support USB pen drive booting.

This is very annoying, what is the reason for this particular error, why is it trying to download the firmware?, does it mean it trying to back up the v1 firmware currently on my drive?, if so I don't care about the v1 firmware being backed up can I just be risky and flash it to v2 without the backup.

Or if it is not this, does it mean the Lower64.exe file is duff?
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:30 PM
PrObE's Avatar
PrObE PrObE is offline
SpeedRacer
PrObE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
POST ID # = 441168
PrObE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I would try another system I had success with an ASUS M2N32-SLI MB in the lab.
Thx, but i feel like just holding back for a while now with no disrespect meant at all.........but i don't know anybody with that MB and really dont feel like buying a MB "just" to get the updater running.

Will be interesting to see if someone successful and what set-up they run.

Thx again.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.