The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #346  
Old 09-04-2019, 08:10 AM
TheShipster TheShipster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1016833
TheShipster Reputation: 10
Post

Well that throws a spanner in the works. Was going for a Ryzen build with a ROG Strix X570E board but its only got the one usb3 type A header. Anyone been able to find a way around that? Surely you can't just use a splitter or something? If push comes to shove ill just switch it to an Intel build
Reply With Quote


  #347  
Old 09-05-2019, 11:03 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1016974
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

do you 'need' all 4 ports on the front?,, its the back where i need them lol
Reply With Quote


  #348  
Old 09-05-2019, 04:52 PM
TheShipster TheShipster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1017024
TheShipster Reputation: 10
Post

Unfortunately i do Im pretty sure I've found a solution which involves one of these PCI-E usb cards. Came across one with an internal usb header
Reply With Quote


  #349  
Old 09-05-2019, 11:20 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1017055
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShipster View Post
Unfortunately i do Im pretty sure I've found a solution which involves one of these PCI-E usb cards. Came across one with an internal usb header
those are an option :). good luck man. get some pictures up as n when you make progress :)
Reply With Quote


  #350  
Old 09-09-2019, 10:06 PM
Zone55555 Zone55555 is offline
HydroX Success Story
Zone55555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
POST ID # = 1017576
Zone55555 Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Zotty, can you show a closeup of how you've connected the two XR7-480 rads together in fittings? I don't have my two 480 rads yet, but I'm anticipating what I'll need in spacers between two 90-degree elbows when they do show up.

I'm going soft tube, so if you've got a short bit of hard tube between that won't work for me, but in case you've got rigid fitting direct connect I'll lean on your knowledge.

Thanks man.
Reply With Quote


  #351  
Old 09-10-2019, 01:48 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1017593
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

yeah sorry buddy i am hard tube..

Reply With Quote


  #352  
Old 09-10-2019, 11:41 AM
Zone55555 Zone55555 is offline
HydroX Success Story
Zone55555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
POST ID # = 1017642
Zone55555 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
yeah sorry buddy i am hard tube..

Thanks man. Gives me a bit of an idea anyhow with relative sizing.

where you have the elbows and shorter hard-tube compressions on either end and then tube between, I would have to go either:

1) elbow to soft-tube compression to like thirty milimeters of tube (doubtful if it can be done far as I see, not enough room for the compression sleeves to move around on that short bit of tubing between the two sides, barring some "mount one side fully, put the loose sleeve on as far away from the barb on second side arrangement), or

2) elbow to spacer fittings all the way across, which is my backup plan just gotta work out the actual travel distance. i've got a handful of male-to-male bitspowers that match and a collection of different sized male-to-female spacers so I should be able to make that work.

One of my rads finally came in today, it's waiting at the store - so I should be able to get some actual on-hand measurements and start confirming assumptions.

Cheers, and thanks for providing. Even seeing the rad spacing as they sit on the fan panel is instructive, and helps with the concern.

I'll try to take pictures of whatever I get done when I get it done, in the name of sharing for others who encounter the similar questions.

Last edited by Zone55555; 09-10-2019 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #353  
Old 09-10-2019, 03:11 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1017677
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

i did it with only one rad bolted in fully and the other in via one bolt at the other end which gave me a some stability and a small bit of room to push the tubing into the fitting. was easy enough.

and yay.. posting your results certainly helps others buddy :). and feel free to fire any questions you have your self. happy to take photos of areas of interest in and around the build

Last edited by Zotty; 10-01-2019 at 02:21 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #354  
Old 10-11-2019, 01:44 AM
CamStrifeFFVII CamStrifeFFVII is offline
Registered User
CamStrifeFFVII's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1020949
CamStrifeFFVII Reputation: 10
Default

Good Evening Zotty,

I'm new to the Corsair Forums and have been reading your thread over the past few months for inspiration on my own Corsair Obsidian 1000D Build. (really great build by the way)

I'm planning out a Dual Build System and have been struggling to plan out how to setup my system to have two builds in one custom loop (all watercooling parts are EK and Loop fans (Corsair) will utilise Commander Pro's and Light Node Pro's currently planning to use 25 fans in push/pull configuration).

I'm trying to plan the loop to allow both system in the case to power on the loop (not sure if it's possible). I haven't been able to figure out how to go about it. if possible could you help me out by making a diagram for this configuration.

I will be using a drain location directly after the pump (res is separated by fitting and tubing then connects to pump) after that will be rotary - x splitter - (attached to front of x Splitter, Back of x Splitter will be closed off with a Plug) rotary and (finally) Ball Baring drain fitting.

The reservoir will be placed in the area where mounting area is to the front of case (if that makes sense) pump underneath it.

my Builds will mainly be used for Gaming (4K HDR 60fps minimum), 3D Rendering, 3D Modelling, teaching myself how to code in Unreal 4 and Unity Engine, Texturing and playing around with game engines.

1st Build (ITX): (playing around with Game Engines, Texturing)

AMD R9 3900X
G.Skill Flare X 16GB 3200mhz CL14 RAM
Gigabyte X570-I Aorus Pro
Corsair SF750W Platinum PSU
Samsung 512GB Pro NVMe M.2 SSD (boot drive)
Samsung 3TB (SATA II) HDD (from old Build)
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD (from old build)
Intel 300 Series 120GB SSD
Sandisk 480GB Extreme SSD
Gigabyte 1080Ti Waterforce Extreme (AIO)
Windows 10 Pro

2nd Build: (Rendering, 3D modelling, Gaming)

AMD R9 3950X (when available) - need to purchase
G.Skill Trident Z Royal (Gold) either (4x8GB Quad channel CL14 3200mhz or 2x16GB Dual Channel CL14 3200mhz) - need to purchase
Asus X470 ROG Crosshair Hero VII (WIFI)
Corsair AX1200i (considering this to be a test PSU for dead components/building other peoples PC. may consider getting Corsair AX1000 Titanium)
Samsung 2TB M.2 NVMe (PCIe) EVO Plus SSD (boot drive) - need to purchase
(2x maybe) AMD High-End Navi (when available and will be adding to loop) - need to purchase
Windows 10 Pro - need to purchase

Watercoooling Parts:

EK PE 480 rads (2)
EK CE 420 rad (1)
EK ACF fittings - Copper (16)
EK Res X3 250 RGB
EK Pump (sleeved)
EK Velocity (AMD) Copper Plexi (for 3900X)
EK Monoblock (AMD) (for Crosshair VII Hero)
EK X Splitter
EK Male to Male rotary fitting (2)
EK Ball Baring Drain fitting
EK QDC fittings 10mm - Black (7)

Other Components:

PrimoChill Primoflex AdvancedLRT clear tubing 10ft (10mmID,16mmOD)
Corsair LL120 - white (19) (3 x three pack with Light Node Pro)
Corsair LL140 - Black (6) (3 x dual pack with Light Node Pro)
Corsair Commander Pro (2) (not including inbuilt Obsidian 1000D Commander Pro) - need to purchase

would i be better off going two separate loops if its not possible for the both systems on one loop?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Kind Regards,

CamStrifeFFVII

Last edited by CamStrifeFFVII; 10-11-2019 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #355  
Old 10-11-2019, 02:44 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1020952
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi buddy...

so, first i should say i am not familiar with EK products :(. just not had chance to play with them..

and imho i would run it as 2 separate loops purely for the safety and Independence of each system.

another thing you need to be sure of is Rad sizes.. some manufacturers specs/rads are a little bigger than others and may not fit side by side in the front of the 1000d, which may also present clearance issues with the top of the front rads and the front of the top rad....


hope this helps so far buddy.
Reply With Quote


  #356  
Old 10-15-2019, 04:00 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021316
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Zotty,

I have had my build up and running for around 4 or 5 months now. Not that much different to yours in the cooling side of things 30 rgb fans in mine :D.

I did run into an issue this quickly though possibly due to powering the RGBs. A few fans have needed replaced already due to faulty RGBs. This may be because I exceeded the 4.5A power limit on the sata cables connecting the hubs to PSU.

I learned this the hard way but this isn't 100% but just to avoid the possibility of this being the cause... How did you power up all your hubs without putting them on the same cables? ?

By the way, nice work with yours... It's a hellova job eh?
Reply With Quote


  #357  
Old 10-15-2019, 12:59 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1021349
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

hi bud... its a 4.5A limit on the sata plug.. not the cable its self.

and thanks,, mines still a build in progress, work/life has been in the way, got a full day at it tomorrow :)
Reply With Quote


  #358  
Old 10-15-2019, 07:33 PM
CamStrifeFFVII CamStrifeFFVII is offline
Registered User
CamStrifeFFVII's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021384
CamStrifeFFVII Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
Hi buddy...

so, first i should say i am not familiar with EK products :(. just not had chance to play with them..

and imho i would run it as 2 separate loops purely for the safety and Independence of each system.

another thing you need to be sure of is Rad sizes.. some manufacturers specs/rads are a little bigger than others and may not fit side by side in the front of the 1000d, which may also present clearance issues with the top of the front rads and the front of the top rad....


hope this helps so far buddy.
Thanks for the advice Zotty,
I'll make it separate loops to make things a little easier.

appreciate the suggestions :)

I'll get another pump and reservoir, I'll use one of the front 480 rads on for the ITX build. i'll use the other 480 and 420 rads for the 3950X build.

As for the the radiators, I used the EKWB custom loop configurator to help with the rad compatibility for the Corsair Obsidian 1000D case. When I got them in the mail, I made sure to fit them, in which they did and with plenty of clearance as well :)

I'll start thinking about locations to put in the second pump combo so i can plan in another drain fitting.

Thanks again for the help :)

CamStrifeFFVII
Reply With Quote


  #359  
Old 10-16-2019, 04:55 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,150
POST ID # = 1021412
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

you should be able to get both pumps on the pump tray on top of the HDD caddy...

as seen in this build,,, this one actually has 3 pumps. if only 2 pumps are fitted they will sit further back on the tray....

Reply With Quote


  #360  
Old 10-16-2019, 05:41 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021417
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
hi bud... its a 4.5A limit on the sata plug.. not the cable its self.

and thanks,, mines still a build in progress, work/life has been in the way, got a full day at it tomorrow :)
You've got me confused haha. I have had 2 or more hubs attached to a single sata power cable which goes to the same plug no? This exceeds the limit.
There is just not enough peripheral slots on the PSU to have them all separate on 1 system.
Have you still got this part to figure out too?

Ohhh that must be frustrating working so much knowing it's waiting to be complete!
Enjoy it tomorrow :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.