The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2020, 03:06 AM
Evgenii_S Evgenii_S is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1051280
Evgenii_S Reputation: 10
Default CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 rev. 4.32 and 5.32

Good day.

I already have in system CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 8x2 rev. 5.32

I have bought a new pair of CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 8x2 rev 4.32

Set xmp profile and received blue screen several times. Have seen two different error:
1) nvlddmkm.sys - Unexpected_Kernel_Mode_Trap
2) msrpc.sys - Critical_Structure_Corruption

Ran aida64 stability test for RAM, fail after ~5 min.

Then i've checked pairs of modules by separately all was ok(on default and xmp profiles).

Next was that i set default profile in BIOS for 4 modules, start aida test and all was ok for 15+ minutes.

So, I can assume that the problem when i use xmp profile for 3200, i don't know... Can be it be because of different revision?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-24-2020, 11:29 AM
Tayschrenn Tayschrenn is offline
High Mage
Tayschrenn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1051628
Tayschrenn Reputation: 10
Default

I opened a case with Corsair on this - MSI verified that using two different providers (Samsung and Hynix) is causing the issue with overclocking this kit. I bought two as well, same exact issue - 4 total but two are Samsung B-die(4.32) and two are Hynix a-die - from what I've read elsewhere, the Hynix aren't as stable as the Samsung. Thus far radio silence from Corsair.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-24-2020, 02:54 PM
Evgenii_S Evgenii_S is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1051645
Evgenii_S Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for your reply Tayschrenn, if you get an answer and duplicate here I will be very grateful.

"the Hynix aren't as stable as the Samsung" can't agree with this statement, because hynix easily takes 3400mhz without any timing changes or something else but samsung can't more than default 3200. Probably it depends more on specific instances i think
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-25-2020, 01:22 PM
Tayschrenn Tayschrenn is offline
High Mage
Tayschrenn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1051763
Tayschrenn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evgenii_S View Post
Thanks for your reply Tayschrenn, if you get an answer and duplicate here I will be very grateful.

"the Hynix aren't as stable as the Samsung" can't agree with this statement, because hynix easily takes 3400mhz without any timing changes or something else but samsung can't more than default 3200. Probably it depends more on specific instances i think
Very very interesting. I'll for sure update here if so.

I tried going over all the timings i could find on here, and what the DRAM Calculator has suggested, and I cannot get any to work manually. But for me at least, A-XMP Profile 1 (2933) is seeming very stable thus far; though I've read a lot of people that state that the Ryzen 2s in specific do a lot better when at 3200, with diminishing returns over 3200.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-25-2020, 03:44 PM
Tayschrenn Tayschrenn is offline
High Mage
Tayschrenn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1051782
Tayschrenn Reputation: 10
Default

I ended up calling Corsair support today because my system ended up BSOD again and forced me to repair my OS.

SO far their response has been not impressive.

First they said "You need to buy another kit that is the same model"

Then they hung up on me right after I was asked to take photos of the RAM out of my PC - I'm guessing they're having phone issues.

So I sent them photos of the IDENTICAL boxes with IDENTICAL UPC showing that yes indeed, I bought identical kits.

Then they said in the ticket, quote
Quote:
Thanks for reaching out and we do apologize that you're experiencing this issue with your RAM kit. As per our hardware developers, we cannot mix and match 2 different version of RAM kits on a system since this will cause a diffent kind of issues with your system.
Thank you for choosing Corsair.
Gee thanks. Might be maybe why I opened the case in the first place: You're selling products as the 'same' that aren't 'the same'

I've asked for an RMA of one/both of the kits to ensure I get the correct ones - so far no response.

Might end up finding someone with one or the other kits with issues and offering to swap -_-


First time buyer of any Corsair product. Might be my last. Super not impressed.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-30-2020, 06:33 PM
Tayschrenn Tayschrenn is offline
High Mage
Tayschrenn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1052392
Tayschrenn Reputation: 10
Default

So far still no response towards a positive resolution. I'm well outside the return window for Amazon, and that's all corsair has recommended, and somehow ensuring the product the seller sends is the right memory version. Which of course is highly unlikely to be verified with an online retailer.


Makes me wish I had a microcenter near me.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-05-2020, 11:47 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 220
POST ID # = 1052995
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evgenii_S View Post
Good day.

I already have in system CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 8x2 rev. 5.32

I have bought a new pair of CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 8x2 rev 4.32

Set xmp profile and received blue screen several times. Have seen two different error:
1) nvlddmkm.sys - Unexpected_Kernel_Mode_Trap
2) msrpc.sys - Critical_Structure_Corruption

Ran aida64 stability test for RAM, fail after ~5 min.

Then i've checked pairs of modules by separately all was ok(on default and xmp profiles).

Next was that i set default profile in BIOS for 4 modules, start aida test and all was ok for 15+ minutes.

So, I can assume that the problem when i use xmp profile for 3200, i don't know... Can be it be because of different revision?
Yes. Mixing different kits with different chips (samsung vs skhynix) can be problematic. From what I understand the version number on Corsair kits reflects the IC used. If you really want to mix the kits you will likely have to disable (or not use) XMP and manually dial in the voltage, frequency, and timings to something compatible and tested with trial and error.

Also having had a Ryzen 2600 I was only ever able to drive 2 sticks at DDR4-3200 and 4 sticks at DDR4-2933. (your mileage may vary)
__________________
I don't hang out here much anymore but I still blame the RGB.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 07-05-2020 at 11:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.