The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2019, 11:36 AM
brett248vista brett248vista is offline
Registered User
brett248vista's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1007257
brett248vista Reputation: 10
Default Seriously confused, what do I need?

Hello to everyone on the Corsair forums!

I recently built a new PC and realized that the integrated RGB in my case
isn't aRGB and I would like it to be, so I would like to change over the
4x 140mm fans to Corsair LL140's and also change out the two RGB light
strips to aRGB light strips.

Here is the setup:

MSI Meg 390 Ace Motherboard (which has a Corsair header)
DeepCool New Ark 90 case (4 140mm RGB fans and 2 RGB strips)

I've done a lot of searching on the net and I found an article on this
forum and it showed that I needed a Commander Pro and a USB hub and
I'm sitting here thinking to myself "why?" why would I need two boxes to
make this all work, what exactly am I missing here?

I see in the documentation for my motherboard they show what looks to
be the Corsair fan hub and then below that it says Corsair RGB Fans and
Corsair LED Pro strips cannot be used together at the same time.

To say I'm confused is an understatement! And I'm usually really good with
complex wiring :)

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Brett
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190502_231734.jpg (2.45 MB, 32 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2019, 01:35 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,301
POST ID # = 1007263
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

You have a single Corsair header for a single channel - that's why it's either strips OR fans. Not both.
There are adapters available to use the JRAINBOW header on your motherboard for strips or fans - so you could use both by using the JCORSAIR header and the JRAINBOW header to a Corsair device with an adapter.
Or you can go all-in on the Corsair ecosystem - see the RGB FAQ in my signature for details. I've used Mystic Light and iCUE - iCUE is FAR FAR FAR more customizable.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:27 PM
brett248vista brett248vista is offline
Registered User
brett248vista's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1007268
brett248vista Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You have a single Corsair header for a single channel - that's why it's either strips OR fans. Not both.
There are adapters available to use the JRAINBOW header on your motherboard for strips or fans - so you could use both by using the JCORSAIR header and the JRAINBOW header to a Corsair device with an adapter.
Or you can go all-in on the Corsair ecosystem - see the RGB FAQ in my signature for details. I've used Mystic Light and iCUE - iCUE is FAR FAR FAR more customizable.
Ahhh it's a "Channel" thing! Now I get it! I didn't even think about using
JRAINBOW for the strips and then just using the Corsair Fans with a Commander
Pro to the JCORSAIR header.

That makes sense! I will check out the RGB FAQ as well.

I think I would prefer to control it all through iCue rather than Mystic so I
guess I'll just need to go the full Corsair ecosystem route. At least I now
know I have some options.

Thank you for your help!

Last edited by brett248vista; 06-07-2019 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.