Corsair Community

SP120 Fan screw problems.

Pixelmancer

I've been trying for half an hour now and I can't get the screws into the fans. I've never had this problem with any other fans I've used and I've been building PCs for many years. I'm using the screws that came with the fans so they should be the right size. This is ridiculous. What were they thinking when they designed these?!

If these fans have the rubber corners in the fans ,the screws actually make threads when first inserted,,using a dab of soap or a lubricant will make the process much easier...

That's the most retarded thing ever. If I wanted to construct my own fans I wouldn't have paid Corsair. It took me 45 minutes or so to get the first screw to go all the way in. Now I have to do it 11 more times! Screw that. No pun intended. These are going in the trash. Those new Riing fans from Thermaltake are coming out at the end of February so any day now. They're basically SP120's with glowing rings and it won't take me 8 hours to install them. You should be ashamed Corsair. This is Zotac grade incompetence. You're supposed to be above that.

Actually its a much better design than most fans as the rubber corners are designed to act as a rubber isolator which stops fan rattle.

A little dab of soap is a better alternative than having a fan noise.

Rubber grommets cost pennies. 8 hours of my life doesn't. I tried soap. It did nothing.

I have close to 30 of these fans in my builds and never have had a hard time installing them.,,im sorry you do as they are great fans with good cfm.

Speaking of cfm,,choose good airflow over glittery fans.I went for looks initially and now have a box full of em just collecting dust...;):

I have close to 30 of these fans in my builds and never have had a hard time installing them.,,im sorry you do as they are great fans with good cfm.

Speaking of cfm,,choose good airflow over glittery fans.I went for looks initially and now have a box full of em just collecting dust...;):