The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2018, 01:53 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 710
POST ID # = 958395
solarity Reputation: 33
Default No power coming from LNP?

I just got another LNP and when I tested it, it seems like there is no power coming from the LNP to the strips. I collect LNPs and this is my third one, HD-120s work fine on either channel, though the lighting strips don't come on. I tested the LNP with existing cables and strips so I know they work. I have tried everything short of attaching a multi-meter to test the 5v pin for power. After swaping the LNP around, tried reupdating firmware, and many restarts, I think this one has issues, I sent an email to the vendor to let them know of the issue. I am glad I tested this out as I am gifting it to my old man for fathers day. If I didn't test it, he would be trying to get it to work 1200 miles away lol. I also tested the included strips and they are fine.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-09-2018, 02:15 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 710
POST ID # = 958398
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

So the engineer in me made me pull out the multi meter. I am showing a 5v on the working LNP and 0v on the one I can't get to work. I am guessing there is an open circuit where they 5v should be supplied. Other than that it is working. As HD-120 get power via the RGB Hub, that is why the fan's RGB works.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-09-2018, 05:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,252
POST ID # = 958411
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
So the engineer in me made me pull out the multi meter. I am showing a 5v on the working LNP and 0v on the one I can't get to work. I am guessing there is an open circuit where they 5v should be supplied. Other than that it is working. As HD-120 get power via the RGB Hub, that is why the fan's RGB works.
Your analysis is absolutely correct. Pin 1 is +5V and Pin 3 is ground on the LNP and this is used to power the strips. The Fan Hub gets the +5V from it's SATA connection. That's also why Pin 1 is missing from the NoPro/Fan Hub connector wire.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.