The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2018, 01:07 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 941364
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Exclamation 570X build with 6 ML fans and Commander Pro

I plan on connecting all fans onto the Commander Pro and wonder if this set up will work without using the RGB controller that came with the case.

I will use 3 ML 120 LEDs (nonRGB) as intake fans on my h150i Pro AIO and another ML 120 LED fan on the back as exhaust. (Should i use the splitter that came with the cooler to connect into the Commander). Finally I am planning on 2 ML 140mm LED fans on the top of the case as exhaust as well.

So long story short - am I good to go with just a Commander Pro for this setup ?

First time build and looking forward to the adventure.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-19-2018, 01:17 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 941365
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You will need to use an RGB Fan hub, no matter what.

The Commander Pro can connect to the Fan Hub that came with the case. You won't be able to have any SP fans attached to it (just the ML fans) but that doesn't look like an issue for you. Using the CoPro with the Fan Hub will give you a great deal more options with the lighting.

Take a look at the RGB FAQ (linked in my sig).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-19-2018, 01:22 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 941367
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

Great thanks for the quick response.......so use the RGB Fan hub that came with the case but no extra products needed correct ?

I will take a look at the FAQ thanks again for your response !
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-19-2018, 01:28 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 941368
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Oh ... wait ... you said ML120 LED, not RGB.
My bad ... I'm so used to RGB everywhere.

If not RGB then no, you don't need a fan hub. At all.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-19-2018, 02:23 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 941378
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Oh ... wait ... you said ML120 LED, not RGB.
My bad ... I'm so used to RGB everywhere.

If not RGB then no, you don't need a fan hub. At all.
Perfect.......didn’t want too many “black boxes” on the back of the case.

I didn’t want too many colors and liked the fact that the ML LED fans actually have a larger rpm range than the RGB ones. It will simplify that part of the build in my mind to plug it all into one box.
Although I like the RGB look it can also be overdone and I prefer Christmas 🎄 in DEC - lol.

I do have RGB ram and also the cooler (h150i) has it too if I want to change things up.

Thanks again brutha.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-19-2018, 02:36 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 941380
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by js31pilot View Post
Although I like the RGB look it can also be overdone and I prefer Christmas 🎄 in DEC - lol.
Don't ever let @Zotty hear you say that!

It's all good ... your build, your rules. Don't be shy if you have more questions!
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-19-2018, 02:42 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,876
POST ID # = 941383
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Don't ever let @Zotty hear you say that! ;)

What!! :D


Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-19-2018, 03:24 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 941390
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
What!! :D


Bwahahaha - sorry Zot
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-19-2018, 03:25 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 941391
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

I will leave a pic when it’s done :)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-19-2018, 03:41 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,876
POST ID # = 941394
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by js31pilot View Post
I will leave a pic when it’s done :)
Please do dude :)... rare any of us do the rainbow unicorn in our own systems.. currently i am rocking a nice warm orangey glow my self :)



I have 2 Node Pro's outside my case so desk's/monitors/tv lighting is synced in link :)




Last edited by Zotty; 02-19-2018 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-19-2018, 04:36 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 941405
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

Just......wow !
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-19-2018, 06:18 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,876
POST ID # = 941422
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by js31pilot View Post
Just......wow !
that's what my bank manager said! lol
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-27-2018, 10:56 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 942599
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

Just ran into a problem.......both of my USB 2.0 headers are populated and I need one for the h150i link usb cable.......stumped.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-28-2018, 01:32 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 942604
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You have a couple of options.
You can run a cable out the back and plug in to an external port. For the H150i, it's a standard micro-USB. For a NoPro, it's a mini USB.

Depending on what else you have in the USB ports (I see the AX, not sure if there's anything else), you might be able to use a single-port USB extension to put two Link devices on a single USB header.

If you notice, the H150i PRO header connection only has cables on one side. The AX1500 is likely the same way. They only use 1 USB port on the header, not both. So if you get two single port USB 2.0 extension cables, you can use this to wire up the AX1500 and the H150i to a single port.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-28-2018, 02:45 PM
js31pilot js31pilot is offline
Registered User
js31pilot's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 942652
js31pilot Reputation: 10
Default

It looks like the 2 into one usb header splitter will work.

I have the AX and also the Commander Pro in the 2 available headers at the moment. What exact search should I be looking for online so I don’t buy the wrong adapter ?

Something like this ? https://www.moddiy.com/products/10%2...saAtJHEALw_wcB

Thanks Dev so much for all your help along the way.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 1CBFC6BD-64C3-403F-8AA1-FB5796307830.jpeg (99.7 KB, 202 views)
File Type: jpeg 4AA03C4E-1153-4933-AB05-E2D0D3D24194.jpeg (84.6 KB, 132 views)
File Type: jpeg C1E37BB3-BEF0-41A3-9580-ADD38037B1E1.jpeg (83.3 KB, 116 views)

Last edited by js31pilot; 02-28-2018 at 04:27 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.