The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2012, 09:39 PM
Braegnok's Avatar
Braegnok Braegnok is offline
Registered User
Braegnok's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 615147
Braegnok Reputation: 10
Default Need 256MX8 Memory IC's

Hello, I need help choosing correct DDR3 memory kit.
MB : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution, with X48 chipset
CPU: Intel Q9550 EO
The board is on it's way in mail, I just ordered Corsair Dominator 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 Memory Kit, (CMP8GX3M4A1333C9) In the mail also.
And I heard today that the 512MX8 memory IC's will not work in my motherboard. Only the 256MX8 IC's will be compatible.
Did I order the correct kit? and how do I check which IC's are in a kit before buying? Thanks for any help in advance. I would like to have correct memory when new board arrives to post and test quickly.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-24-2012, 02:48 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 615220
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Before you open the package look at the Version number and let me know what it is.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:58 AM
Braegnok's Avatar
Braegnok Braegnok is offline
Registered User
Braegnok's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 615283
Braegnok Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Ram Guy, I'm hopeing for 4.1X Samsung 256's or 3.1X Micron's but I guess any version number .1X would be the 256 IC's

Last edited by Braegnok; 11-24-2012 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:08 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 615613
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

X.1 means 256MX8 so would be 2R for a 4G module
X.2 means 512MX8 so Would be 1R for a 4G module
Quote:
Example,
1.50V ver2.13 would be 2R for 4G module Double Rank
1.50V ver2.21 would be 1R For 4G Module Single Rank
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-30-2012, 02:05 AM
Braegnok's Avatar
Braegnok Braegnok is offline
Registered User
Braegnok's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 616586
Braegnok Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for all the help, when memory arrives I will let you know Ver. #
I was able to post and boot new board with a pair 2X1GB CM3X1G1600C8D 1.80V Ver 3.1 XMS3-1600
modules with CPU @ 401 X 8.5 3408 MHz, Bus Speed 400.9 MHz, Rated FSB 1603.6 MHz, So I feel good about the 8GB 1333 kit working just fine.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-27-2016, 11:43 PM
DX_SPIDER DX_SPIDER is offline
Registered User
DX_SPIDER's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 869139
DX_SPIDER Reputation: 10
Default

Hello! I think i'll be in the same posture as the user who started this thread.. I'm planning to buy an 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz Dual Channel Kit for my Asus P5QC MB and i don't know what to choose.. Right now i'm using 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Dual Channel Kit which has 256Mx8 (CMZ4GX3M2A1600C9B). Will my mobo accept 64/128Mx8 ones (CMP8GX3M2A1600C9)? What about 512Mx8?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.