The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2011, 10:52 AM
mkoniako mkoniako is offline
Registered User
mkoniako's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 544608
mkoniako Reputation: 10
Default H80 max fan speed / failed fan slot. RMA?

Hi,

Have problem with my new H80 and I think it is faulty.

From start the H80 ran the fans rpm up and down sounding like a jet plane starting/landing. After a few restarts though it settled on max fan speed, sounding like a vacum cleaner....

Pushing the button on the H80 changes between the three profiles does not affect the FAN speed at all.

Even when the computer was newly booted with CPU temp 25C and MB 26C it ran the fans att max RPM.

I've tried the following:
- Disabling CPU Fan controll on my MB
- Resetting firmware method 1: Booting the computer with the H80 button pushed in for at least 3-4s.
This caused the H80 to flash around and then settle with the 2 top lights lit, and the little man flashing. I waited for long time for something to happen but nothing did. I then stepped through each profile several time but no effect.
- Resetting firmware method 2: Booting to "DOS" and pushing H80 button for at least 3-4s.
Nothing ever happens, no flashes, nothing.
- Retried the firmware resets above several times with different times, etc. No difference
- Moving around the two fans on the two H80 connectors and booting.
Doing this I realized that the "left H80 fan contact" no longer starts any of the two fans. The "right H80 fan contact" can run any of the two fans, but only at maximum speed. (Probably the "left H80 fan contact" was the one starting and stopping the fan earlier.

So, currently I'm running my H80 with one fan, and it's sounding like a vacum cleaner :(

So is there any more tests I need to perform?

Or as i think, is this an RMA and how do I proceed in Sewden?

Thank you.

/Koniak
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-02-2011, 08:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 544983
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please submit an RMA request so we can get the unit replaced. RMA process is global.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-08-2011, 10:59 AM
mkoniako mkoniako is offline
Registered User
mkoniako's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 546302
mkoniako Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Please submit an RMA request so we can get the unit replaced. RMA process is global.
Thank you Ram Guy!

The new one works like a charm.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:42 PM
kingka kingka is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 546351
kingka Reputation: 10
Default

so the only way to get this fixed is a RMA????
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-08-2011, 07:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 546441
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If you have done the procedure that you have provided and did not fix the issue, YES, my suggestion is to get the unit replaced.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fail, fan, h80, max

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.