The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2020, 04:41 PM
CBazzle CBazzle is offline
Registered User
CBazzle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1047437
CBazzle Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Command Pro/RGB Fan Hub/HD 120mm Fan lights not working

Hello,
I have ran into a issue with my build. I have 6 Corsair HD120's connected to the Commander Pro and the RGB hub connected to the commander pro but only 1 fan has the rgb functioning correctly and another just has a single green led lit up. I have disconnected them and plugged each one up individually to the #1 slot on the RGB hub and they work as designed so i ordered and replaced the RGB hub believing it was bad and the same issue still exists. I have updated the firmware in the commander pro and the iCue software and still no change. I have the channels selected in the Icue software for HD fans and selected 6 for that LED channel. Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (6).png (1.65 MB, 10 views)
File Type: png Screenshot (5).png (1.51 MB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-22-2020, 07:50 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,679
POST ID # = 1047458
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

So ... take the fan that is before the first fan that acts up.
Put it at the end.

The fan RGB operates in series - one fan passes the data to the next and so on. So it's entirely plausible (and we've seen it several times) for a fan to light up but not pass the data. These are the fans that failed "Sharing Nicely" in Kindergarten.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-23-2020, 02:40 PM
CBazzle CBazzle is offline
Registered User
CBazzle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1047580
CBazzle Reputation: 10
Default

OK thanks i will try just switching fans 1 and 6 then. I will post an update as soon as i get home and try it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-23-2020, 02:52 PM
CBazzle CBazzle is offline
Registered User
CBazzle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1047581
CBazzle Reputation: 10
Default

OK that didnt work at all now the fan in slot 1 works but none of the others so still the same situation
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-23-2020, 06:18 PM
CBazzle CBazzle is offline
Registered User
CBazzle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1047601
CBazzle Reputation: 10
Default

OK additional note I have tried plugging them in several different ways so that the series change but still only the fan plugged into port 1 on the RGB hub will work. I am lost and getting frustrated. I dont know what else to try. Please Help!!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-23-2020, 09:51 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,679
POST ID # = 1047617
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

What effects do you have applied to lighting channel 1? Can you show the lighting effects?

What happens if you select Instant Ligthing?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-23-2020, 11:50 PM
CBazzle CBazzle is offline
Registered User
CBazzle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1047628
CBazzle Reputation: 10
Default

Same thing.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (9).png (3.23 MB, 1 views)
File Type: png Screenshot (10).png (2.99 MB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-24-2020, 02:16 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,679
POST ID # = 1047721
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

First - make sure that you have the connected to the correct channel.
Next - and here's where your issue is, I think - you have to realize that the fans operate in series. One fan passes data to the next fan and so one. So one bad fan in the chain can take the whole thing out. The challenge is to determine which one (or more) is bad and not passing the data. Just because a fan works on it's own in port 1 does not mean that it is good. That's only 1/2 of the test. If a fan works in port 1 AND the next fan also work, THEN (and only then) can you consider the fan "good".

Randomly rearranging them won't always get you the answer. You have to be very methodical about it. Mark the ends so you can track them. Put a fan in port 1. Does it light up? If yes, put it in port 2. Then put another fan in port 1. Does it light up? Does the next? If yes to both, then that fan is "good". Keep going until you identify the good and the bad. It is entirely possible that a fan can completely light up and not pass data to the next fan.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-24-2020, 02:52 PM
CBazzle CBazzle is offline
Registered User
CBazzle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1047726
CBazzle Reputation: 10
Default

OK, So i have just taken each fan and plugged into port 1 on the RGB hub and then took turns plugging the other 5 into port 2 and only get 1 led on each fan to turn on. I have repeated this process 6 times using all of the fans in ports 1 and 2 with no change. Does this mean by some random freak occurrence that all of the fans rgb serial signal has died?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander pro hd120 rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.