The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2018, 04:59 PM
deheme deheme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 943714
deheme Reputation: 10
Default Asus Z370-F and Vengeance 3200MHz

Hello,

I've bougth a extension for my PC (almost everything is new) and I've problem at BIOS level.
The h/w is as follows.

Memory : cmk32gx4m2b3200c16 (2x16GB)
MB : Asus Z370-F
MP : I8700K with noctua

Each 16MB memory is working OK alone, but when I plug them together there is an orange Led (DRAM) on the MB and the post never succeed.

Any tip?
DéHème
(Sorry for my frenglish)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-07-2018, 02:01 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 943846
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Hi,

Is this even with the most up to date bios?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-08-2018, 03:55 AM
deheme deheme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 943930
deheme Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Art View Post
Hi,

Is this even with the most up to date bios?
Yes, I updated the Bios to 0607.
Please notice that it's working with the sticks in B1/B2 position, but in single channel.
Each time I fit a stick in A1 and/or A2 it doesn't post at all.
I wouldn't like to return the MB before I'm sure it will correct the issue (I need the PC). Is it really a big deal to work in single channel?

DéHème

Last edited by deheme; 03-08-2018 at 04:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-11-2018, 11:44 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 944400
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deheme View Post
Yes, I updated the Bios to 0607.
Please notice that it's working with the sticks in B1/B2 position, but in single channel.
Each time I fit a stick in A1 and/or A2 it doesn't post at all.
I wouldn't like to return the MB before I'm sure it will correct the issue (I need the PC). Is it really a big deal to work in single channel?

DéHème
Sorry for the delay and not meant as an insult, but if you have to ask if it makes a difference then most likely it will not make any difference at all for you.

-art
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-17-2018, 05:10 AM
deheme deheme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 945142
deheme Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, I do not feel insulted...for the moment.

My combo is used for photography (Lightroom, DxO), no gaming at all.
Some jobs may take more than half an hour to complete (noise removing on >100 pictures is CPU/memory consuming).

My question shall be understood as : could I expect a significant improvement with dual channel, let's say >10%/20% time reduction for my example above?

DéHème
Sorry for the frenglish.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-17-2018, 07:20 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 945150
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Going from single to dual channel is a big performance difference, when it comes to memory performance. Since you seem to have issues with both channel A slots, maybe check if the cooler is overtightened or there are bent pins in the CPU socket. Both are somewhat common issues that can lead to one memory channel becoming inoperable.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-18-2018, 02:00 PM
deheme deheme is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 945334
deheme Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your answer,

The cooler (noctua) is not overtightened, this is what I took care first according to what I read.
The pins? I did look with a magnifier, I did not see anything... but it doesn't mean there is no pin bent!

DéHème
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-20-2018, 09:52 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 945663
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
Going from single to dual channel is a big performance difference, when it comes to memory performance. Since you seem to have issues with both channel A slots, maybe check if the cooler is overtightened or there are bent pins in the CPU socket. Both are somewhat common issues that can lead to one memory channel becoming inoperable.
Haven't seen this big performance difference anywhere related to OP's system, do you have a link?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
3200, asus board, ddr4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.