The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:45 AM
welkinator welkinator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 265599
welkinator Reputation: 10
Default 2Gig Module for Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe?

The title says it all. The configurator shows only 1 Gig or smaller modules (with TWINx kits being 2x 1Gig modules).

This board has four slots and is rated to handle 8Gig - we have a client (we're system builders) who wants the full 8Gigs of your best memory.

Thanks.

bwelkin
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-17-2006, 02:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 265634
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I really doubt that you will find them in the market yet as the 2 Gig modules would cost about 1000-1500 USD a piece right now. Does your customer want to spend 6000 USD for memory per system?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-17-2006, 03:03 PM
welkinator welkinator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 265635
welkinator Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I really doubt that you will find them in the market yet as the 2 Gig modules would cost about 1000-1500 USD a piece right now. Does your customer want to spend 6000 USD for memory per system?
Not yet!!

But we are installing 4Gig at $558 so we're close.

But thanks. I also got a followup telephone call about this - you guyz are awsome!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-17-2006, 05:33 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 265647
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The IC's are just to expensive just yet, but maybe by the first of next year the price will come down.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-01-2006, 01:50 PM
Kelae Kelae is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 267375
Kelae Reputation: 10
Default

I am working on a virtual pc project for a class and have to outfit my imaginary rig with the maximum amount of memory it will take. I've selected this motherboard and am having a hard time finding the full 8GB of ram that it supports. Is it possible to get all 8GB if money is no object? I need to provide links to document my "purchase" as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Kel
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:01 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 267387
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

If you are talking server memory, have a look here:

http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair/servers.html

However, for desktop ( ie unbuffered non ECC memory) I am not actually seeing them for sale yet. Some less reputable vendors have them listed but they are out of stock. The prices are in excess of $700 per module and I have never actually seen one in existence. It's a bit like Bigfoot or Nessie, they advertise them but no one has actually ever seen it.

You may want to revise your project and use a server or server/work station MOBO.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-02-2006, 03:29 AM
Kelae Kelae is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 267473
Kelae Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks so much for the reply. I think what I'm going to do is describe the issue I've run into and just get the largest amount of ram that is available currently for my motherboard. Seems to me a discussion of the differences between what's listed in specifications and what is actually currently possible to accomplish would probably be good for my class.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-02-2006, 09:44 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 267480
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

You could tell them that the MOBO spex seem to stay ahead of the financially feasible aspects of Moore's Law. MOBO spex are usually ahead of that somewhat and even though the MOBO can technically use it, it is not realistic to try to buy it. "IF" you have enough money, you can get 2gb unbuffered DIMMs from someone somewhere. But, who wants to pay $8000+ for memory in a $150 MOBO?

I wish I had the money to do it. I wouldn't do it but I still wish I had the money.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.