The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Ambient Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2019, 08:32 AM
bgunn925 bgunn925 is offline
Registered User
bgunn925's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 64
POST ID # = 1025840
bgunn925 Reputation: 10
Default Way to turn off LS100 when monitor is off?

I have configured the LS100 in Video Lighting mode -- is there a way to have the strips shut off or go to (0,0,0) when the monitor is off? I thought maybe I could trick it by setting the display to turn off after 1 minute, but the lights stay on anyway.

I have a K95 -- can I assign a macro key to toggle the brightness of the LS100 controller? I suppose that I could copy the iCUE profile and switch the LS100 to Static (0,0,0) and just use a macro key to toggle profiles when I turn the monitor on/off.

I feel like this could have been easily avoided by using the monitor's USB for power, so it could naturally lose power when the monitor shuts off. I have a similar product from Monster and this is how it works. It could have also reduced the cable count by one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2019, 11:51 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,274
POST ID # = 1025868
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Spec USB 2.0 (500mA)/USB 3.1 Gen 1 (900mA) doesn't provide anywhere near enough power for those strips. Not even close. So ... not an option.

Now ... what you can do is to set "Hardware Lighting" for the LS100 to 0,0,0. That will take over when iCUE isn't controlling the strips - as when the system is asleep or locked. There is also a button on the LS100 to turn it off manually.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2019, 09:44 PM
forst forst is offline
Registered User
forst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1025928
forst Reputation: 10
Default

i need also to turn off LS100 when monitor is off . That is complete nonsense,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2019, 01:10 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,274
POST ID # = 1025939
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by forst View Post
i need also to turn off LS100 when monitor is off . That is complete nonsense,

And does the suggestion above not work for you? Particularly setting the hardware lighting?

If not, why not?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2019, 01:57 AM
forst forst is offline
Registered User
forst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1025941
forst Reputation: 10
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
And does the suggestion above not work for you? Particularly setting the hardware lighting?

If not, why not?
Edit: ok, i see. set to RGB to 0,0,0 as black color

Last edited by forst; 12-02-2019 at 03:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2019, 10:43 AM
bgunn925 bgunn925 is offline
Registered User
bgunn925's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 64
POST ID # = 1025973
bgunn925 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Spec USB 2.0 (500mA)/USB 3.1 Gen 1 (900mA) doesn't provide anywhere near enough power for those strips. Not even close. So ... not an option.

Now ... what you can do is to set "Hardware Lighting" for the LS100 to 0,0,0. That will take over when iCUE isn't controlling the strips - as when the system is asleep or locked. There is also a button on the LS100 to turn it off manually.
Thank you, this worked. I actually already had this in place with the LS100 controller's USB cable plugged into my monitor, but I didn't catch that it was working because there's a ~30 second delay between turning off the monitor and the strips turning off/reverting to the hardware profile. I finally got frustrated that it wasn't working and left it long enough to see that it does eventually turn off.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2019, 01:27 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 690
POST ID # = 1026129
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bgunn925 View Post
Thank you, this worked. I actually already had this in place with the LS100 controller's USB cable plugged into my monitor, but I didn't catch that it was working because there's a ~30 second delay between turning off the monitor and the strips turning off/reverting to the hardware profile. I finally got frustrated that it wasn't working and left it long enough to see that it does eventually turn off.
Hardware lighting mode kicks in after iCUE stops communicating with the LS100 controller (either when the system is turned off, put to sleep, or the screen is locked). Additionally, if you ever set a different hardware lighting mode that isn't "off" (static color RGB 0,0,0), you can press the button on the controller after iCUE communication has stopped to set the brightness to 0 manually.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2019, 05:38 AM
Nuxeretes Nuxeretes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1027669
Nuxeretes Reputation: 10
Default

I think this should be an option in the software.

I only have the LS100 controlled with iCue, and i leave my PC idle for long periods of time. When this happens, the monitor and the other pheriperals connected goes to standby, but not for the LS100.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2019, 09:02 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,274
POST ID # = 1027690
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuxeretes View Post
I think this should be an option in the software.

I only have the LS100 controlled with iCue, and i leave my PC idle for long periods of time. When this happens, the monitor and the other pheriperals connected goes to standby, but not for the LS100.
Have you tried the suggestion above to set Hardware Lighting to black (solid color 0,0,0)?
If that doesn't work for you, what about it doesn't work?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2019, 01:44 PM
Nuxeretes Nuxeretes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1027943
Nuxeretes Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, i tried and it worked when i turn off my computer, thanks.

I need to check if LS100 turns off when my monitor goes to standby mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.