The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2016, 08:50 AM
Torquemada. Torquemada. is offline
Registered User
Torquemada.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 856539
Torquemada. Reputation: 10
Default Shortening H100i V2 tubes.

Hello people.

I am immensely satisfied with this AIO liquid cooler. I am using it in a case with very little space for tubing (Streacom F12C) and I want to do the following:

- Cut away at least 10cm of tubes at the middle

- Place detachable connectors, which will make removal of the radiator, or adding tube extensions, easier.

My question is: which connectors should I use? I need the correct measurements of the tubes, and also I would like some tips on how to seal the connectors firmly to avoid any leaks.

I have asked this question on several forums, and I always got imbecilic replies such as "buy a water-cooling system from xxxx". I don't want to buy another cooler and I'm perfectly happy with this. I just want to shorten the tubes.

I have stumbled across these fittings:


But I don't know if they are suitable for my tubes. Any ideas?

Last edited by Torquemada.; 06-05-2016 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-05-2016, 05:36 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,345
POST ID # = 856647
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Obviously cutting the tubes ends the warranty, so moving forward...

I can guess the tube thickness, but it would be better to measure. Take a piece of string and wrap it around then transfer to a ruler for comparison. Likely 1/2 inch to 5/8, but the more difficult question is how much of that is padding and how much is actual tube. That may make a difference on the interconnects. You may have to cut and try several different types of connectors. They come in many sizes, so you should be able to find one that fits.

The cut itself will be harder. You cannot do this without losing coolant, so it would be better to try it over some kind of collection vessel to recapture your losses. This also means you need a way to put the coolant back in. You may want to pick up another supply of concentrate or whatever in case things go wrong.

This is not a path most people are willing to take, so you are not likely to find a lot of experience with cutting into the cooler. That includes me as well.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-05-2016, 05:44 PM
Specter's Avatar
Specter Specter is offline
Registered User
Specter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 376
POST ID # = 856648
Specter Reputation: 22
Default

The same reply you received elsewhere is the same reply you will get here.

The fact that you brought a closed loop AIO and trying to shorten the tubes means you took the wrong approach from step 1.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-06-2016, 03:34 AM
Torquemada. Torquemada. is offline
Registered User
Torquemada.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 856688
Torquemada. Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the answers.
However, you've told me what I knew already:

- I still don't know what fittings size I have to buy.

- I know it's unusual, but here logic MUST prevail: there's a tube and quick release fittings, I place the fittings where I cut the tubes and I seal it, and there is NO REASON IN THE WORLD why this shouldn't work. I'm not trying to open the Ark of the Covenant, I am just trying to shorten the tubes and I need to know which size of fittings I need to buy. No rocket science, really. Can anyone help without wasting our mutual time? PLEASE?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:59 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,345
POST ID # = 856699
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

If you are unable or unwilling to measure the tube size of your own cooler, it would be foolish to move on to something vastly more complex. Sorry, I can't make a little Pi sign on this keyboard to spell it out. Your right, it's not rocket science... it is math.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-06-2016, 08:01 AM
Torquemada. Torquemada. is offline
Registered User
Torquemada.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 856712
Torquemada. Reputation: 10
Default

I can measure the tubes outer diameter, but I don't know how thick is the padding. You see my problem?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-06-2016, 09:27 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,345
POST ID # = 856741
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
but the more difficult question is how much of that is padding and how much is actual tube.

This is not a path most people are willing to take, so you are not likely to find a lot of experience with cutting into the cooler. That includes me as well.
As mentioned, this is not something most people are going to be able to help with since no one cuts up their own cooler. Your best bet is to be prepared for multiple sizes. If you look at the insertion points you can see a smaller diameter tube. This most likely represents the interior tube size.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-06-2016, 10:06 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 856749
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. Why not, it's not rocket science!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquemada. View Post
I can measure the tubes outer diameter, but I don't know how thick is the padding. You see my problem?
Why not, it's not rocket science! I suspect the inside diameter is 9.5mm, but the only way to be 100% sure is to cut the pipes.

Quote:
BTW Π and π are 0x03A0 and 0x03C0
Attached Images
File Type: png Why not, it's not rocket science!.png (135.9 KB, 2452 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 06-06-2016 at 01:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-06-2016, 01:46 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,345
POST ID # = 856783
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Thanks Ray, but I am not sure my iPad is friendly that way. It's more emojii orientated.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-06-2016, 01:54 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 856784
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow I knew it was possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Thanks Ray, but I am not sure my iPad is friendly that way. It's more emojii orientated.
I knew it was possible and was surprised how easy it was to find the link. Lots of ☀ ☁ ☂ ☃ are possible

Last edited by red-ray; 06-06-2016 at 02:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-06-2016, 02:50 PM
Torquemada. Torquemada. is offline
Registered User
Torquemada.'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 856788
Torquemada. Reputation: 10
Default

Do you reckon this one will do?
http://www.aquatuning.co.uk/water-co...schraubung-qd3

It has a 10mm fitting.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-06-2016, 03:12 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 856797
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Cut your pipes and get measuring

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquemada. View Post
Do you reckon this one will do?
As I specified before the only way to know for sure is to cut the pipes and measure the inside diameter. There is no way I am going to cut my pipes, so cut your pipes and get measuring
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-10-2016, 08:57 AM
Specter's Avatar
Specter Specter is offline
Registered User
Specter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 376
POST ID # = 857468
Specter Reputation: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquemada. View Post
Do you reckon this one will do?
http://www.aquatuning.co.uk/water-co...schraubung-qd3

It has a 10mm fitting.


I do not think you see the major issue here. Once you cut those tubes you will loose coolant and let air into the system. The only way to get the air out and add coolant is to drain and flush the entire system, and add a reservoir with new coolant somewhere in-between your loop. Do not mix your new coolant with the old coolant because you do not know what coolant come with the cooler.

Then comes the joy of figuring out what corrosion coolant you want because of the copper base and aluminum radiator.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-10-2016, 12:40 PM
IcEWoLF IcEWoLF is offline
Registered User
IcEWoLF's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 114
POST ID # = 857483
IcEWoLF Reputation: 10
Default

In b4 this turns into a disaster.

I don't think this will work with a closed loop cooler. Like the above poster has said you will start running into issues.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.