The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 14 votes, 4.71 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2014, 10:24 PM
Fendon Fendon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 704416
Fendon Reputation: 10
Default Raptor M45 mouse changes DPI by itself

Needed a mouse with a better sensor to play my favourite game, so I got the M45. Sensor is perfect, but DPI goes from 1400 -> ~1550-1600 by itself. This is not reflected in the driver UI, I felt and measured it. Opening the driver software corrects the change until it happens again.

I've tried:
-Setting ALL DPI steps to 1400
-Saving profile to mouse memory
-Reflashing firmware and reinstalling drivers
-Switching USB port

The lastest firmware is listed as 1.05 on the download page, but the download contains 1.02. Gotta say I'm disappointed in the software department of this mouse.

Last edited by Fendon; 04-05-2014 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-06-2014, 10:32 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 704497
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

If possible, can you test the mouse on another computer? Does this issue occur on another computer?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-10-2014, 11:08 AM
omricn omricn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 726630
omricn Reputation: 10
Default

Same exact issue here, my M45 will randomly up it's DPI, fixing this requires opening the corsair control panel and closing it, this will reload the driver I guess.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-16-2014, 08:09 AM
J0s3e J0s3e is offline
Registered User
J0s3e's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 735870
J0s3e Reputation: 10
Default

I am a little bit dissapointed by Corsair's lack of software development. Went for this mouse as soon as it came out, the DPI switching is apparent in FPS titles, was waiting for firmware update to fix this, never got one.
Not playing as much anymore, but it is still annoying.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-16-2014, 08:55 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,450
POST ID # = 736049
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

@Fendon, how did you determine it was only going up by 100-150 dpi? Was it simply by feel?

@J0s3e, do you have the same exact issue?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-19-2014, 11:03 AM
tobbel tobbel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 736613
tobbel Reputation: 10
Default

Hello, I have the same problem, Corsair M45, firmware 1,02, win 8.1. Sudden change of DPI. Changing sensitivity one step up and then one step down sets the sensitivity back to the original value but it's still quite annoying.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-21-2014, 09:54 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,450
POST ID # = 737160
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobbel View Post
Hello, I have the same problem, Corsair M45, firmware 1,02, win 8.1. Sudden change of DPI. Changing sensitivity one step up and then one step down sets the sensitivity back to the original value but it's still quite annoying.
This sounds like a different issue. Are you saying when you change DPI to one level up, and one level down that the value resets to default?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-23-2014, 05:05 PM
tobbel tobbel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 737577
tobbel Reputation: 10
Default

Well, by stepping the setting up and then down, the DPI value seems to reset to the "correct" DPI at that setting. Opening the software also seems to correct the DPI, but in-game, that isn't really an option. The change in DPI seems to happen randomly and it does happen while playing (i.e. without changing any settings).

Do you think that I should try to get the mouse replaced under warranty?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-26-2014, 05:55 PM
J0s3e J0s3e is offline
Registered User
J0s3e's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 738076
J0s3e Reputation: 10
Unhappy

The mouse changes X-Y sensitivity on the fly, and it is annoying. It's nothing wrong with the ports, I've tried on several PC's and the same issue, although sometimes it wouldn't happen for days and then it keep happening all the time. Suddenly the mouse goes very sensitive on X axis, I have 3 modes all set to 800 DPI so changing it sets it back but then sometimes it happens again in a few seconds.
Luckily I don't game on high level anymore, otherwise it would fly out of the window already :)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-12-2014, 09:17 PM
j4ckie j4ckie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 746571
j4ckie Reputation: 10
Default

I have exactly this problem - my mouse seems to change it's dpi setting at random times, as far as I can tell it always has a slightly higher (~25%, as far as I can tell by testing it in-game) dpi than I set in the driver when I boot up the computer.
Just as described by tobbel, it sets to the correct dpi setting when I use the buttons to change it up/down and back again, but can change back to the slightly higher dpi at a random time.
So far I have not been able to figure out any triggers or permanent workarounds. While I had a similar issue with a mouse by another brand, that one only changed to factory settings sometimes, and never had the problem after I did a quick sense-up-sense-down workaround.
Any help is very appreciated, as this makes it pretty much unusable for me, and I'd hate that.
I tried different USB ports, saving different profiles to the mouse - no change.

Last edited by j4ckie; 12-12-2014 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-12-2015, 03:47 PM
NightClaw NightClaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 752869
NightClaw Reputation: 10
Default

Did you try setting independent X and Y DPI settings? I had this issue before and it seemed to be triggered when I picked up my mouse and set it back down. After I changed my settings so all the different profiles had an independent X and Y DPI of the same value it seemed to stop.

EDIT: I changed to a USB 2.0 from a USB 3.0 slot (I could have that wrong; I put the mouse in one of the normal ones instead of the blue one) and the issue happened again (once after waking my computer from sleep) A simple mouse DPI up mouse DPI down via the DPI changing buttons reset and fixed the issue. Does what USB port I put my mouse in matter at all? Or am I just being silly.

Last edited by NightClaw; 01-15-2015 at 08:28 PM. Reason: The issue of the randomly changing X value DPI happened again
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-19-2015, 06:28 AM
Mantiphex Mantiphex is offline
Registered User
Mantiphex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 754693
Mantiphex Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, I am having similar issues with my M40 mouse. The DPI will change at random during gameplay. If I manually increase the DPI I can't decrease it without using the corsair software. Rebooting windows will usually decrease the DPI to minimum (but not always).

Things I have tried:

- Update firmware
- Re-install drivers
- Tried the mouse on a different machine
- Re-installed windows
- Tried different USB 3.0 and 2.0 ports

Has anyone had any luck resolving the issue?

FYI: I am using windows 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-16-2015, 12:22 PM
Coach Bombay Coach Bombay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 760673
Coach Bombay Reputation: 10
Default

My old Logitech mouse broke and I didn't like the look of Logitech's current offering - G502 Proteus Core so I decided to give Corsair a shot. Unfortunately that turned out to be a mistake, because the M45 changes DPI sensitivity on its own sporadically. You have to open up the mouse software to reset the DPI sensitivity. The latest firmware and reboots do nothing to rectify the issue. I find this to be atrocious and am hugely disappointed because I gave Corsair the chance to take my business and instead am left wondering how this mouse even made it to market. I returned the mouse and decided to give the Proteus Core a shot because at least I know it will be reliable.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-13-2015, 05:51 PM
RavikAztar RavikAztar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 784691
RavikAztar Reputation: 10
Default

This issue hasn't been fixed yet.

Has anyone found a work around besides reapplying your settings every time the sensitivity changes?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-22-2016, 08:16 AM
Bojamijams Bojamijams is offline
Registered User
Bojamijams's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 859193
Bojamijams Reputation: 10
Default

It would seem this issue has never been fixed as I and a few other users are experiencing it with the M65 RGB Pro. It doesn't seem to be a specific mouse but something with Corsair's mouse drivers.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
driver, firmware, m45, mouse, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.