The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2012, 02:27 PM
EONDERDI EONDERDI is offline
Registered User
EONDERDI's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 617110
EONDERDI Reputation: 10
Default Using Accelerator and defrag harddisk.

When using an Accelerator (30Gb, FW 5.03 in my case) as accelerator for my single harddisk (WD 300Gb) is it ok to regularly defragment that single harddisk?

Last edited by EONDERDI; 12-02-2012 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-02-2012, 06:19 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,286
POST ID # = 617131
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

You shouldn't defrag an SSD.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-02-2012, 06:40 PM
EONDERDI EONDERDI is offline
Registered User
EONDERDI's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 617135
EONDERDI Reputation: 10
Default

My SSD is a Corsair Accelerator SSD:
- That is being used with Dataplex software rev. 1.2.0.4.
- I don't see that drive (Cache Drive) as regular disk in Windows 7.
- It works OK doing it's cache job.
.
I defragmented my regular single harddisk (Target Drive) quite a few times:
- I can't even choose to defrag my Accelerator SSD.
- Until now I did not detect any performance drop regarding the working of my accelerator at all.
-> The question is will doing a defrag of my real harddisk (Target Drive) regularly causing problems for my Accelerator SSD (Cache Drive)?

Last edited by EONDERDI; 12-02-2012 at 06:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-07-2012, 02:04 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 618286
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It should not but I would not suggest running De-frag on the HDD, and if you do them I would turn off the Accelerator software and them run the software.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
accelerator, defragmenting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.