The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2015, 11:57 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 816154
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default AXi1200: External usb hookup cable needed.

Hi,

Just wanted to comment that I wish the Axi1200 came with an external usb adapter for those of us that have used up the usb headers on our motherboards.

Would be great..

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-26-2015, 11:28 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 816474
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default Bueller... Bueller...

Stinks I'm out of usb 2.0 headers!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-27-2015, 04:10 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 816588
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

You can buy them separately. They come in both USB 2.0 and 3.0 flavors. Under $10.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-27-2015, 06:50 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 816624
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default Header cables come in 4 pin and not 5 pin mostly

Well the cables that are out there are mostly 4 pin USB cables and the corsair link cable uses all 5 pins with an extra ground. Is it safe to use a 4 pin cable? Also I think ModDIY has 5 pin to 19 pin USB 3 adapters but are very expensive. Second choice is use a hub or another usb card but not crazy about that idea.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-27-2015, 07:02 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 816627
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

You don't need the extra ground.

Besides, Cables Unlimited's version uses all five pins and is < $5. Check out Amazon.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-27-2015, 10:21 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 816654
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default Not feeling grounded..

Well the fact that the Corsair Link cable uses 5 pins coming from a PSU worries me if its not 100% grounded. Maybe that 5th pin is meaningless but then why wire it up that way?!

Edit: found the Cable's unlimited usb cable but I'm thinking of using one of the extra usb 3.0 headers on the motherboard with a usb 2 to 3.0 adapter instead. Would be much cleaner perhaps.

Last edited by davidm71; 10-27-2015 at 10:23 PM. Reason: cables
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-27-2015, 11:55 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,882
POST ID # = 816668
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

It's an extra ground. Typically, USB headers have two rows. One with one ground and the other with two. That extra pin acts as a key for those headers so you don't Reverse the polarity and fry things.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.