The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > USB Flash Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2013, 12:54 PM
Walterses Walterses is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 689894
Walterses Reputation: 10
Default voyager air meets smart lg tv (Solved)

So my question simply is: can i wirelessly get my tv and drive to communicate so i can play files off the hdd without needing to connect it to the router and if so, how i would go about doing so.
Would there be a 3rd party app possibly that might work either on the tv or drive? If not would it be possible to get an app created for the tv?

Thanks for any help,
Mitch

(Answer: Make sure you have your VA updated to latest firmware, then its just a matter of connecting to the AV through the TV's network settings. To then access content, press the input key on remote and scroll to the VA)

Last edited by Walterses; 01-13-2014 at 11:21 PM. Reason: solved
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-29-2013, 12:59 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 689895
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

if you have a ip for your VA,just get a 3rd party software for streaming installed on your computer and itll work with your tv.i use media player and media-home to stream on all my tv's...
you have to use it in conjunction with your computer tho
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-29-2013, 03:42 PM
alan sh alan sh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 689927
alan sh Reputation: 20
Default

Have you tried enabling DLNA on the VA device? I've not done it myself (no need) but I would imagine that would be the way to go.

Alan
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-29-2013, 04:44 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 689930
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

a program to stream will be needed regardless
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-29-2013, 11:10 PM
Walterses Walterses is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 689966
Walterses Reputation: 10
Default

I was under the impression the VA didnt have dlna? I still imagine an app will be needed on the tv. the Seagate wireless drive has an app available that ive seen, the streaming works no problem.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-29-2013, 11:17 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 689969
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

you will need a dlna enabled tv and streaming media player on your computer running to play the content on the VA
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-30-2013, 01:38 AM
Walterses Walterses is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 689980
Walterses Reputation: 10
Default

But what then is the point in having the VA if a pc is needed? why would you buy the VA when you could put a much bigger drive in the pc and just stream off that? When buying the drive corsair said it could stream wirelessly to smart tv's yet no where can i find any evidence of this being done :(

Atm the best workaround i can think of is simply connecting the VA direcetly to the router but then that goes back to my previous point of paying twice as much for a smaller HDD, thats all the VA is in this aspect...
Apart from this problem tho it works great in the car and everywhere else i take it.

After a little looking i found this, seagates solution:
http://knowledge.seagate.com/article...S/FAQ/005522en

They have just created an app pretty much identical to their smart phone variant for smart tv's, works exactly the same.

How could i go about approaching corsair for a similar app for the VA?

Last edited by Walterses; 12-30-2013 at 01:48 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-12-2014, 09:17 PM
Walterses Walterses is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 692358
Walterses Reputation: 10
Default

Little bit stale, needs a bump.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-12-2014, 09:33 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 692363
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

i may be wrong and its only my opinion but
if the VA has an ip and theres a streaming program installed on the VA,would this allow it to stream?i dont see how as theres no OS on the VA to run said program as the VA is basically a wireless storage unit
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-12-2014, 09:35 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 692364
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

You need to find out if your TV has WiFi capability. If it does, you should be able to connect to the Voyager Air. No app will be needed as a smart TV with WiFi will have a rudimentary OS with network browsing and playback capability.

This is the same as how I have done it HERE with my smart DVD player.

Check your owners manual for the TV. Also, the model # of the TV would be helpful.

And yes, the VA does support DLNA devices.

And, why would you not want to connect it to your router? Is your TV connected to your router?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-12-2014, 09:38 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 692366
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Just make sure you have the 1.2.7 or newer firmware.

http://www.corsair.com/us/blog/voyager-air-dlna/
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-13-2014, 11:18 PM
Walterses Walterses is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 692513
Walterses Reputation: 10
Default

Firstly not to sound like a douche, but the post name did mention smart tv :)
Hmm i had updated the firmware but had not tried to connect the TV to the VA since before the update, after trying now it works fine so thanks a stack for that one haha. The reason i dont want to connect it to the router is that it sits in the lounge room next to the tv so the parents can easily get to it to use with their pc's for data transfer and taking it with them whenever they go on trips. Neither are very tech savy and so this is the best option for simplicity sake, and even then i already have a hdd attached to the router for automatic backups of their pc's.
Cheers for the help, Will edit my post name to solved :)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-14-2014, 12:20 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 692519
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walterses View Post
Firstly not to sound like a douche, but the post name did mention smart tv :)
That's why I suggested that you read your manual. If your TV is WiFi capable, I'm sure it says so in the manual. Smart TVs and smart DVD players use pretty much the same type of OS so it doesn't matter which you reference in an example. Also, when you get the same brand of TV and smart DVD player they typically have a unified OS like the Panasonic Viera system in my links.

http://www.corsair.com/us/blog/intro...ireless-drive/
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
connect, smart tv, voyager air, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.