The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2019, 04:21 AM
ThisIsRipunjay ThisIsRipunjay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Guwahati, Assam
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1006859
ThisIsRipunjay Reputation: 10
Default Corsair hs50 doubts

Hi, I purchased my Corsair HS50 few days back. The headphone is pretty good and I have no problems with it. But I could not try the Microphone of the HS50. I don't know how it works. I use the headphone on a laptop and it has only one 3.5mm Jack. I did not use the Y Cable. But without the Splitter the Microphone doesn't work. Now as I have one 3.5mm Port, I can't try the Y Cable. Then I decided to buy a cheap USB Sound Card. Using it, everything works fine, Except I get Static Electricity sound when I turn on the mic. When the Laptop is powered through battery, It doesn't make any sound but When I plug in power supply, It makes loud sound and there is no way to reduce the Static sound. Can anyone tell is if there is a way to use the headphone along with the microphone using the 3.5mm Jack? Or explain if It will work with the single 3.5mm Jack or not...! My laptop model is Dell Inspiron 5577. Thank You.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-04-2019, 03:03 PM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 308
POST ID # = 1006906
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

If the audio port on your laptop is a Microphone+Headphone jack then you don't need the Y-splitter and can just plug the headset cable into the port. But the port needs to support a 4-pole 3.5mm headphone connection.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:39 PM
ThisIsRipunjay ThisIsRipunjay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Guwahati, Assam
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1006962
ThisIsRipunjay Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Notepad View Post
If the audio port on your laptop is a Microphone+Headphone jack then you don't need the Y-splitter and can just plug the headset cable into the port. But the port needs to support a 4-pole 3.5mm headphone connection.
Thank you for clarification. As per my knowledge, My laptop port does support 4 pole 3.5mm connections. But I don't know why It doesn't detect the mic when I connect to it. It only records via the laptop's built in microphone.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-05-2019, 11:54 AM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 308
POST ID # = 1007005
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

Make sure you are changing the default device to the headset microphone instead of the built in webcam one.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
corsair, corsair hs50 static noise, hs50, sound card, static

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.