The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2019, 11:29 AM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 1000251
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default Where buy Platinum RGB C14 Ram??!!

Hi,

Read a review of the Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200Mhz ram at cas 14-14-14-34 timings and can't find them at any retailer. It got a good review and all I can find are the cas 16 versions. Want cas 14!

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-04-2019, 12:47 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,286
POST ID # = 1000258
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...2GX4M4C3200C14
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:43 PM
BatJoe BatJoe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
POST ID # = 1000269
BatJoe Reputation: 10
Default


You can also get the memory on Newegg.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-04-2019, 01:46 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 1000271
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default

Did some research and found that those cas 14 modules only come in 8gb capacities each so if you want 16gb x 2 which is desirable for overclockers you cant do that unless you get the Platinum Special Edition Torque modules.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-04-2019, 03:22 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 1000279
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Well, if you are an overclocker you should prefer 8GB over 16GB modules.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-04-2019, 03:34 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 1000281
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default

Why? Thought it was best to have only one channel pair occupied? If I go 4 x 8gb would introduce instability.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-04-2019, 04:07 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 1000285
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

I got the cas 16 modules in 32GB (4x8GB) and have them running at the advertised 3200 speed fine so far.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-04-2019, 05:23 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 1000293
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
Why? Thought it was best to have only one channel pair occupied? If I go 4 x 8gb would introduce instability.
It depends on platform and MB layout (T-topology vs Daisy Chain). However in general current 8GB modules can hit higher frequencies than 16GB ones and at better timings, not only with Samsung 8Gbit B-Die based kits.

If we are talking AMD, this should cover some of the most practical memory OC settings https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/..._Guide/10.html and is a good read overall if you are new to memory OC with Ryzen.

With Intel and esp on LGA1151v2 the overall memory frequency cap is much higher and the differences between 2x16GB and 4x8GB can be too. If you are unsure about your MB, check the memory QVL. If the highest frequencies are only supported with 4x8GB, then that probably also is what you want. Just an example:
Attached Images
File Type: png corsair.png (114.3 KB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-04-2019, 05:58 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 1000299
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
It depends on platform and MB layout (T-topology vs Daisy Chain). However in general current 8GB modules can hit higher frequencies than 16GB ones and at better timings, not only with Samsung 8Gbit B-Die based kits.

If we are talking AMD, this should cover some of the most practical memory OC settings https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/..._Guide/10.html and is a good read overall if you are new to memory OC with Ryzen.

With Intel and esp on LGA1151v2 the overall memory frequency cap is much higher and the differences between 2x16GB and 4x8GB can be too. If you are unsure about your MB, check the memory QVL. If the highest frequencies are only supported with 4x8GB, then that probably also is what you want. Just an example:

Thats very interesting. I am coming from an 1151 skylake and possibly coffelake as far as where I want to place the ram. It would seem that as far as overclocking stability is concerned on intel cpu's it goes like this 2x8gb > 4x8gb > 2 x 16gb ?

Right now I have Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666mhz cas 15 in my 6700K build. So if my end desired result is performance increase I should possibly look into another 2 x 8 gb but with tighter timings? Cas 13 looking good.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-05-2019, 08:30 AM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 1000368
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gronar View Post
I got the cas 16 modules in 32GB (4x8GB) and have them running at the advertised 3200 speed fine so far.
Update: wrong. System is unstable at 3200, have to underclock them to 3000 in order to remain stable.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-05-2019, 09:54 AM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 1000378
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default

I want to get the cas 14 32gb 3200mhz kit when it goes on Sale. Too expensive right now. The cas 16 kit is cheaper. Want faster.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-05-2019, 12:17 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 1000395
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
on intel cpu's it goes like this 2x8gb > 4x8gb > 2 x 16gb?
Like I said 4x8GB can be > 2x8GB on some Z390 boards due to their layout.

On a 2 DIMM model like the ASUS Gene/Apex oder EVGA Dark 2x8GB is king.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
I want to get the cas 14 32gb 3200mhz kit when it goes on Sale. Too expensive right now. The cas 16 kit is cheaper. Want faster.
The CL16 variant will very likely always be cheaper and the ICs used to make those CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 go out of production Q2/2019. So don't wait too long ;)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-05-2019, 02:04 PM
davidm71 davidm71 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
POST ID # = 1000423
davidm71 Reputation: 10
Default Don’t wait too long

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
Like I said 4x8GB can be > 2x8GB on some Z390 boards due to their layout.

On a 2 DIMM model like the ASUS Gene/Apex oder EVGA Dark 2x8GB is king.


The CL16 variant will very likely always be cheaper and the ICs used to make those CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 go out of production Q2/2019. So don't wait too long ;)
Not going to wait too long. Understand that ram prices are really cheap right now so good time to invest in quality ram for my current system and or future system. Got 16GB (2x8) 2666 MHz Dominators C15 modules paired with a 6700k at 4.5ghz. Want to go 32gb at tighter timings.

Also really interested in getting a Z390 Dark Evga board and will probably need quality ram for that build when time comes. So looking at prices I see there’s a 2x8 16GB 3200mhz C14 kit at $259 or $520 double that at 32gb.

However competing against Corsair and more of a value I found G.Skilll 2X16 at 3200mhz 32gb 14-14-14-34 kit for $320 but read the sub timings are worse than Corsair modules?

So got to choose between value and quality.. Choices.. Choices.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.