Corsair Community

Questions about Commander Pro and Lighting Node Pro

pngz

I'm new to this RGB lighting thing and I'm having a bit of trouble trying to figure out what exactly I need (other than the fans) to make it work with Corsair Link, so I'd appreciate if someone could help me out.

Currently my build looks like this:

Case: Obsidian 450D

Mobo: MSI Z270 Gaming M7

Memory: Dominator Platinum with Dominator Airflow LED fans

GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Sea Hawk X

Cooler: H100i v2

PSU: HX750i

The case has 2x140mm fans in the front (no LED), the video card's liquid cooler has one 120mm fan in the back (white LED), and the H100i v2 on top has 2x120mm fans (no LED). I want to swap out all of these fans to ML RGB fans. The Dominator's fans are already RGB I think so that's fine.

The question is: other than the fans, what else do I need to make all of this work, and how do I set them up? Do I buy the 120mm 3-pack (with Lighting Node Pro) and the 140mm 2-pack (also with Lighting Node Pro)? Or do I buy 3 individual 120mm fans and 2 individual 140mm fans and one Commander Pro? Do I still need the Commander Pro if I buy the two packs that come with two Lighting Node Pros?

So ... let me see if I got this straight.

You are planning on 3x ML-120 RGB and 2X ML-140 RGBs, correct?

If so ... you'll only need to buy one multipack. As long as they are all of the same type (ML), then they can all use the same RGB Fan Controller Hub.

You won't need the Commander Pro for this. The RGB fan multi-pack will come with a Lighting Node Pro and, if that's all that you want to do, that will work for you. You will run the fan speeds from your motherboard and the LNP + the Fan hub will handle the RGB.

The Commander Pro would allow you to control both your lighting and your fan speeds right from Link. It will also perform the job of the Lighting Node Pro, add 2 internal USB headers and give you 4 temperature probes. So it does more than just control lighting.