The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-17-2003, 08:09 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 79081
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

This Be a sticky!
That’s interesting about the power module! Hu? LOL!
Ram Guy
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 09-24-2003, 03:31 AM
jantsch jantsch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 80296
jantsch Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to jantsch
Angry I tried...

I tried all tips but this fail.

In memtest: fails in test #4

My configuration:

MB: GA-8KNXP
P4: 2.8GHz
Memory: TWINX1024-C2PT
BIOS: F6a, F6b, F6k, F6

I am crazy.

Help me please....
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 09-24-2003, 10:35 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 80457
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

I found the F7b BIOS to help out a lot but it is still not perfect. I am still getting a few access violation errors. I have not gotten any BSODs since F7b. My CASS timings are default, CPU clock at 200 and RAM frequency at 2.0 (400Mhz in this case)

Hopefully the final release of F7 will solve this major incompatibility issue once and for all.

setup:
6x256 TWINX 3200LLPT XMS 400Mhz
P4 3.0Ghz @ 800Mhz FSB
and 8KNXP of course (rev 1.0)

Last edited by Synbios; 09-24-2003 at 10:38 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 10-24-2003, 01:38 PM
Zebz Zebz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 85394
Zebz Reputation: 10
Confused 8KNXP and Corsair XMS1024 3200C2

After testing with memtest BIOSs F5, F6, F6c, F6d, and F7b here is what I managed to obtain for a successfull memtest with no errors.

Running anything at CAS 2 Latency fails and at any voltage

Running at CAS 2.5 5 2 2 Fails at any Voltage

Running at CAS 2.5 6 3 3 Works at normal Voltage but fails with and voltage higher

Running at CAS 2 6 3 3 Which is the dafault for my memory based on Corsair Specs comes up with errors at any voltage lvl.

Is there a big difference in the performance of the memory between CAS 2.5 and CAS 2

and PSB Parking also seems to have an impact of the memory. What does this do?

I hope this helps. I have not OCd the memory and would be happy for the memory to run at the specified settings provided by Corsair. That is the main reason why im interested in finding out the difference in the performance between CAS 2 and CAS 2.5

I have also noticed that once a BIOS has been updated if you go back into the BIOS select Opitmum Settings SAVE and then go back inot the BIOS it seems to resolve some memory issues as well.... odd.
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 10-29-2003, 06:01 PM
pud200 pud200 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 86256
pud200 Reputation: 10
Confused Gigabyte memory compatibility list

I received this link from Gigabyte tech support yesterday. It shows their most recent list of compatible memory with this board.

http://gts.gigabyte.com.tw/DownloadF...t%20report.pdf
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 10-30-2003, 12:07 PM
Caal Caal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 86394
Caal Reputation: 10
Default

Hey pud, Did Giga say anything about these modules? It looks like they are just single dimms. They don't certify dual channel?
__________________
Gigabyte 8KNXP, P4 2.8C, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2PT Cas 2-5-3-3
SiSoft Sandra 2003: Int Buff 4782MB/s,Float Buff 4838MB/s, Memtest86 2442 MB/s
Zalman CNPS 7000AlCu, WD Raptor, Radeon 8500LL, WinXP Pro

Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 10-31-2003, 03:57 AM
pud200 pud200 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 86576
pud200 Reputation: 10
Default

No other details - only the list.
I don't understand what the last column refers to!
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 11-16-2003, 10:41 PM
fuoco fuoco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 89212
fuoco Reputation: 10
Default

how oc friendly is this mobo with a 2.6 P4 and this memory:

CORSAIR MEMORY XMS (Twin Pack) 1GB(2 x 512MB) 2x(64MX64) TWINX1024-4000 Matched Pair


?
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 11-21-2003, 07:44 AM
Actarus Actarus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 90085
Actarus Reputation: 10
Default

Very interesting discussion here.

I do have a P4 3GHZ +2x256MB TWINX 3200LL + Radeon 9800 Pro U.E. 128MB and I do have a big stability issue when playing games or trying benchmarks (lock-ups, parts of the pictures fluctuating ).

I am running everything at default (ram settings) and no overclocking at all.

Has somebody tried to remove the DSP2 Module having TWINX 3200LL modules 2X256MB?

What about the "Intel® Application Accelerator" which Taylor mentioned ?

Can you install it ?

I have the 8KNXP rev. 2.0 and I get the error message (when trying to install the application center) that the chipset is unknown!

I have the 8212EB apparently and it seems to me when I read the readme that this one is not in the list (????)

I had Soyo Dragon 2 Pl. before and I was wondering what I just did to myself in bying the 8KNXP .... :(

What do you think ?

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 11-21-2003, 10:56 AM
Caal Caal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 90098
Caal Reputation: 10
Default

Intel Application Accelerator is for SATA controllers in RAID format.
The DPS thing can and should be removed. I never installed mine and many people reported that it caused instability.
__________________
Gigabyte 8KNXP, P4 2.8C, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2PT Cas 2-5-3-3
SiSoft Sandra 2003: Int Buff 4782MB/s,Float Buff 4838MB/s, Memtest86 2442 MB/s
Zalman CNPS 7000AlCu, WD Raptor, Radeon 8500LL, WinXP Pro

Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 11-23-2003, 10:30 PM
Altecha's Avatar
Altecha Altecha is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Adelaide,Australia
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 90354
Altecha Reputation: 10
Default

I have a 8KNXP non ultra F7b bios, 3700 twinx, would like to know what timings to set them at, as it won't boot at 2.5 6.3.3, normal setting are 3.7.4.4 on spd timings. Voltages is set +2, should I change it back to normal?
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 11-25-2003, 04:45 PM
jschuricht jschuricht is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 90628
jschuricht Reputation: 10
Default

Anyone having trouble getting the 8knxp to pass memtest while running a 220+ fsb, try increasing the AGP voltage.

I have an 8knxp, 3.0, twinx 3700, and couldn’t get memtest to pass over 220fsb unless using a 5/4 divider, now running stable at 233 w/ +2v on the AGP.
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:04 PM
Caal Caal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 90726
Caal Reputation: 10
Default

jschuricht said
Quote:
unless using a 5/4 divider
I have searched in the BIOS and cannot find the place to set the divider ratio. Can you post the exact location?
TIA
__________________
Gigabyte 8KNXP, P4 2.8C, Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2PT Cas 2-5-3-3
SiSoft Sandra 2003: Int Buff 4782MB/s,Float Buff 4838MB/s, Memtest86 2442 MB/s
Zalman CNPS 7000AlCu, WD Raptor, Radeon 8500LL, WinXP Pro

Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 11-28-2003, 02:15 AM
shiver shiver is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: conn
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 90847
shiver Reputation: 10
Default mem timings

Quote:
Originally posted by Altecha
I have a 8KNXP non ultra F7b bios, 3700 twinx, would like to know what timings to set them at, as it won't boot at 2.5 6.3.3, normal setting are 3.7.4.4 on spd timings. Voltages is set +2, should I change it back to normal?
I've been running for a few months with the my timings
set to 3 6 3 3 and find it to be pretty stable.
This is on a 3.2 p4 w/ 1gb(2x512) Twinx 3700.
At 200 fsb ran mem test for 4107% coverage, 2569cycles,
and no errors.
Bios is F6k. I've never messed w/ voltages. Pls let me know
if you make any progress.
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 12-11-2003, 03:23 PM
Beaujames Beaujames is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 92972
Beaujames Reputation: 10
Default

I have a 8knxp rev 1 with twinx1024 and p4 3.0ghz.

I have tried you cas and voltage settings to get it to work with both F4 bios and F8, but neither work. I did find that if i set the memory mutlipler to 1.66 or 1.33 my system will run fine. I have other memory another manufacturer that has the same problem as the twinx does but they can only run stable at 1.33. I have mostly given up on my problem, at least until another bios comes out that actually fixes this problem. The way I have it now with just the twinx at 1.66 (DDR333). using auto latency and base dimm voltage. I hope this helps anyone who is looking for just a stable way to get these memory modules running on this board even if you take hit on performance.but for most apps the hit is not noticeable. Since at the lower bus speed i can still take advantage of the low latency settings atleast my purchase wasn't all bad....

Last edited by Beaujames; 12-11-2003 at 03:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair XMS Compatibility with ASUS K8V Deluxe XaypocK Memory 1 05-27-2004 04:09 PM
Corsair XMS Memory Chip List mfjonny Overclocking and Benchmarking 2 02-26-2004 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.