The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2014, 02:37 PM
HOBBIT979 HOBBIT979 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 702673
HOBBIT979 Reputation: 10
Default PC Building help

I'm building my first PC to play some games and just want to know if the components listed below are all compatible. Also need help on finding RAM and not too sure on the video card, thinking about going with the SAPPHIRE R9 270x 2GB GDDR5 Dual fan but not sure if its compatible or I could get another one thats better. Thanks guys.

H87 LPUS ASUS Motherboard

Intel i5 processor

CS Series Modular CS550M — 550 Watt 80 PLUS Gold Certified PSU (not too sure on wattage, help?!)

Corsair Graphite series 230T Windowed Compact mid tower case
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-23-2014, 02:49 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 702675
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

it really depends on your budget in order to give ideas.
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-23-2014, 02:59 PM
HOBBIT979 HOBBIT979 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 702677
HOBBIT979 Reputation: 10
Default

I just want to know if what I have there, is compatible and will work together? and also what wattage power supply I will need
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-23-2014, 03:07 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 702679
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

yes but the psu wattage depends on your gpu,id go with at least a 750 for expanding and/or a gpu
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-23-2014, 03:18 PM
HOBBIT979 HOBBIT979 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 702683
HOBBIT979 Reputation: 10
Default

If you get a too higher wattage, can it toast everything? and I don't know what gpu to get, can you suggest any? I needs to support direct 11 atleast
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-23-2014, 03:25 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 702684
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

no,the higher wattage,the less strain on everything actually
its hard to recommend a gpu not knowing your price range
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-23-2014, 03:34 PM
HOBBIT979 HOBBIT979 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 702685
HOBBIT979 Reputation: 10
Default

Ah I'll go with what you said and the 750w then and I can spend around £140ish on a gpu
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-23-2014, 03:41 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 702687
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

this would do most anything you throw at it,,good quality as i have 3 in their card lineup and all are great...

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-Supercloc...words=evga+gtx
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-23-2014, 04:54 PM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,269
POST ID # = 702689
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

I'd go with the 760 too. If your only gaming and not mining pretty much all of AMD lineup is overpriced due to mining. Mind you the 270s aren't hit as hard by this. I'd still go for nvidia. Mantle is nice but there's been some recent showings of nvidia next driver line optimizing the crap out of cpu usage making it close to on par with mantle. And when dx 12 comes it'll exceed mantle. DX11 will be supported on current gen cards. If u never plan to ad a second card a quality 650 watt like a 650tx will do.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-24-2014, 08:42 AM
pegotico's Avatar
pegotico pegotico is offline
The Walrus
pegotico's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 702733
pegotico Reputation: 50
Default

if you tell us your budget it will let us
tell you the best you can get for the money
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-24-2014, 03:26 PM
HOBBIT979 HOBBIT979 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 702785
HOBBIT979 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm looking to spend no more than £125 on a gpu. I'm only really using the computer for school work and some of the latest Total War games.

I'm looking for a card that is compatible with all the other components in the first thread. Also if I change the processor to an i7 can i still use the same motherboard? I'm new to all this PC stuff
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-24-2014, 08:50 PM
pegotico's Avatar
pegotico pegotico is offline
The Walrus
pegotico's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 702822
pegotico Reputation: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HOBBIT979 View Post
I'm looking to spend no more than £125 on a gpu. I'm only really using the computer for school work and some of the latest Total War games.

I'm looking for a card that is compatible with all the other components in the first thread. Also if I change the processor to an i7 can i still use the same motherboard? I'm new to all this PC stuff
you can use any i3, i5 or i7 as long as it is socket 1150 (board you pick). It will be better if you say your total budget?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-24-2014, 09:12 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 702825
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

i gave you a whole list of good gpu's to choose from,your making us guess with suggestions,then dismissing them.
you should consider what you want,,look at various products and view the specs and see if it suits your needs and budget...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-25-2014, 05:29 PM
HOBBIT979 HOBBIT979 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 702914
HOBBIT979 Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry only just saw your reply with your suggested gpu's. In total I'm looking to spend around £600 ($990)

Its my first build so don't have a clue what kind of gpu I need, or whether its compatible, what kind of wattage it needs. I've been researching them over the last week and its all a little overwhelming, when you don't have a clue what somethings mean.

I'll take your suggestions into consideration.

Any ideas, for reliable 3.5in hard drives? Or any decent optical drives?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-25-2014, 06:02 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 702917
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

no problem,i was a newbie too but that was last week
actually ive had very good service with Western Digital green drives,priced good also...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
compatibility, first build, gamingpc, help me, ram

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.