The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2018, 10:38 PM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 947037
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default H100i V2 Noise Issue

Hello everyone. I will be frank, I am a rookie to the wonderful world of PC gaming. I bought a custom made PC last December and it has worked out fine for the most part. It has a Corsair H100i V2 installed which does a good job cooling the CPU but if the CPU is under any real load, the thing sounds like a jet engine or some sort of whirring beast. I know you must get this a lot but even after perusing these forums, I am still unsure as to why this sound issue is happening. Before I replace the fans or do anything else, I figured I would ask you all for input. Let me know what information you need and I will provide it.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-27-2018, 11:44 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,375
POST ID # = 947053
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

It's the fans. They are notoriously loud. The ML fans are an excellent replacement and much, much quieter.
There are things that you can do to mitigate the issue that we can explore if you like. First, make sure that your fan curves are set to use the cooler temperature. Second ... are you using one of the built in fan curves? If so, which one? Finally, what temperature does your cooler (not CPU, the cooler) get to when gaming?

Oh ... and be very, very careful using EVGA XOC and Corsair Link (or iCue) at the same time. XOC likes to take control of the cooler for "RGB Sync" and wreaks all manner of havoc with cooler monitoring and control.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-28-2018, 08:03 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,990
POST ID # = 947137
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

First we should probably get into specifics about how fast the fans are running and what kind of H100i v2 Temp you see in the Link software for the cooler. There is probably nothing wrong. The default curves will feel very aggressive in a warm room (or case) and the included fans were designed to win a AIO shootout, not go unnoticed. For most people, simply making their own fan curve suited to their environmental temperature takes most of the sting out. If you have sensitive ears or are otherwise just picky like me, you can gain further pleasure by swapping out fans for something less more harmonically inclined.

For right now, we need to know the approximate room temperature, that H100i v2 Temp in Link (right side of display), and then generally when you are hearing this stuff. Long extended GPU loads tend to heat up the case and thus the coolant as well. This will provoke more fan speed even with light CPU activity than expected. Also let us know if the fans ramp up and down quickly. That is a sign of something else and easily correctable.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-28-2018, 09:59 PM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 947350
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
It's the fans. They are notoriously loud. The ML fans are an excellent replacement and much, much quieter.
There are things that you can do to mitigate the issue that we can explore if you like. First, make sure that your fan curves are set to use the cooler temperature. Second ... are you using one of the built in fan curves? If so, which one? Finally, what temperature does your cooler (not CPU, the cooler) get to when gaming?

Oh ... and be very, very careful using EVGA XOC and Corsair Link (or iCue) at the same time. XOC likes to take control of the cooler for "RGB Sync" and wreaks all manner of havoc with cooler monitoring and control.
Before I posted this thread I ran into that issue with EVGA XOC and Corsair Link. Thank you for confirming that XOC was the problem. Once I took care of that I set the CPU fan to "Quiet" but since then my CPU has run pretty hot. I have experienced crashes twice in game so far, so I reset Link to its normal mode. Oddly enough Link says the fan is running at 0% RPM sometimes even though the fans are running. I have since then been getting temperatures into the 40-45 C range when doing nothing to almost 70 C while gaming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
First we should probably get into specifics about how fast the fans are running and what kind of H100i v2 Temp you see in the Link software for the cooler. There is probably nothing wrong. The default curves will feel very aggressive in a warm room (or case) and the included fans were designed to win a AIO shootout, not go unnoticed. For most people, simply making their own fan curve suited to their environmental temperature takes most of the sting out. If you have sensitive ears or are otherwise just picky like me, you can gain further pleasure by swapping out fans for something less more harmonically inclined.

For right now, we need to know the approximate room temperature, that H100i v2 Temp in Link (right side of the display), and then generally when you are hearing this stuff. Long extended GPU loads tend to heat up the case and thus the coolant as well. This will provoke more fan speed even with light CPU activity than expected. Also let us know if the fans ramp up and down quickly. That is a sign of something else and easily correctable.
My room temperature at the moment hovers around 70 - 73 degrees Fahrenheit lately. I do not have a thermometer in the room but that is what it is set at for the hallway outside my room. The H100i V2 temperature is usually 28.8 degrees Celsius according to Link. It does tend to ramp up and down quickly but other times it is like a jet engine for minutes at a time. I will likely replace the fans in the near future but for now I want to find a fan curve that is quiet as possible without harming my CPU.
Attached Images
File Type: png Corsair Link snip.PNG (430.5 KB, 312 views)
File Type: png Corsair Link clip.PNG (388.6 KB, 262 views)

Last edited by Rob86; 03-28-2018 at 10:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-28-2018, 11:05 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,375
POST ID # = 947365
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

There's a couple of things that come to mind.
First, and this is super-important, check that the fan header that the pump is plugged in to is set to 100%/full speed. Some of what you are saying - as well as the pump speeds on your screen - seem to point to a lack of proper power to the pump. Please read through the FAQ, especially the part on Fan Header Powered Pumps.
Second, your vCore is WAY high. That is why your temps are so high and that's far more likely to harm your CPU than anything that you do with the cooler.
Third and finally, make sure that your fan speeds are tied to the coolant temperature and not the CPU. That will keep them a bit more reasonable. Once you get your vCore in line, you should be able to set it to something reasonable. But you need to get your vCore in line and make sure that your pump is properly powered. If you don't do those two things, playing with the fans isn't going to do you any good at all.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-29-2018, 12:41 AM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 947375
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default

How do I determine the fan header speed? I also do not know how to manipulate the CPU's vCore or what voltage would be appropriate. I really have no idea what to do as I said I didn't build my machine myself.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-29-2018, 06:45 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,375
POST ID # = 947411
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The fan header and the vCore will be set in the BIOS.
As you have an Asus motherboard, it's likely that you have multicore enhancement enabled - that's also in the BIOS. At this point, let's start with just disabling that. This will return you to stock clocks and should, I hope, reduce the voltage to something more reasonable. Stock voltage for Coffee Lake is, I believe, 1.2V. You're running at 1.42V. When overclocking, you should typically stay under 1.4V. Ideally even less.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-31-2018, 10:42 PM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 947944
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default

Apologies for the wait for my reply. Well, I tried turning off multicore enhancement but that actually made the voltage go up to 1.120v, not down. I am obviously overlooking a setting or something.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 180331223634.BMP (3.00 MB, 180 views)
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:10 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,375
POST ID # = 947954
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob86 View Post
Apologies for the wait for my reply. Well, I tried turning off multicore enhancement but that actually made the voltage go up to 1.120v, not down. I am obviously overlooking a setting or something.
1.12V would be an improvement. You were running at 1.42V. That's pretty huge, actually.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-01-2018, 08:58 AM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 948016
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
1.12V would be an improvement. You were running at 1.42V. That's pretty huge, actually.
It says 1.120v not 1.12v. Am I misreading it? That seems like an increase in voltage. Then again my Corsair Link utility now says it is bouncing around 0.75v to 1.10v so I don't really know which reading is accurate; my BIOS or Link. The fans are running quieter when doing nothing or browsing the internet instead of the sound of a jet engine.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp BIOS Screenshot.BMP (3.00 MB, 235 views)
File Type: jpg Corsair Link Capture.JPG (125.5 KB, 251 views)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-01-2018, 09:35 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,990
POST ID # = 948017
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

No, I think we have identified two classic issues. First, your pump speed is a little low for a H100i v2. This usually suggests the fan header powering the pump is not set to 100%. Go into the E-Z BIOS, Q-Fan, and set the CPU_FAN header to 'Full Speed'. In the advanced BIOS -> Monitor menu, this same setting referred to as "disabled". This will lock the pump speed at 100% and immunize it from in BIOS fan tuning or other Asus power saving features. Use Link to control the radiator fans speeds, not the BIOS.

The next is your voltage issue. Yes, you set it to something lower, but Asus in their brilliance allows your Vcore to escalate whenever it likes and it takes a number of steps to rein it in. As suggested above, turn MCE off in the Adv BIOS -> AI Tweaker column. Just under that should be a SVID behavior setting. Set it to normal for now. This setting determines how much padding the VID adds. The 'default' applies a lot.

Are you running AUTO (adaptive) or a specific adaptive voltage? There are additional settings that need to be applied for adaptive. AI Tweaker -> Internal CPU power management -> IA/DC load line calibration. Set to (0.01) for both. This will help limit the massive overshoot on adaptive. It should not be needed for manual. You can see this here in the Asus overclock guide. It is for Kaby Lake, but it is the same mechanic and problem. Sometimes you can get away with leaving the voltage on AUTO depending on your luck, but often you will want to set a specific adaptive voltage to further narrow the range and make your temps more predictable. Additionally, there is even some merit to running a fixed manual voltage with these new CPUs, with Speedshift and C-states enabled. The power differential is small and for people running close to stock settings it may be more stable than trying to set a negative offset on adaptive or just generally.

*Your pump is drastically slow in this last Link shot. That is definitely a power constraint and not a normal fluctuation. Set it to full speed in Q-fan.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-01-2018, 02:23 PM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 948028
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your patient assistance with this problem DevBiker and c-attack. I followed the instructions in the last post as best as I could. The SVID behaviour options were somewhat differently worded compared to what was mentioned but I chose "Typical Scenario" for now. Attached are screenshots of what I mean in BIOS and my Corsair Link readings after making the changes c-attack specified.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp BIOS Settings MCE and SVID.BMP (3.00 MB, 189 views)
File Type: jpg Link Screenshot post-BIOS changes.JPG (113.7 KB, 231 views)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-01-2018, 02:25 PM
Rob86 Rob86 is offline
Registered User
Rob86's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 948029
Rob86 Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your patient assistance with this problem DevBiker and c-attack. I followed the instructions in the last post as best as I could. The SVID behaviour options were somewhat differently worded compared to what was mentioned but I chose "Typical Scenario" for now. Attached are screenshots of what I mean in BIOS and my Corsair Link readings after making the changes c-attack specified.The fans are quieter but I have not tested the cooler yet. I will let you all know how audible it is.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 04-01-2018, 02:35 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,990
POST ID # = 948030
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Yeah, perhaps Asus chose to use simple words for the ROG boards and more adult descriptors for the other series. Makes sense. LOL. That setting is fine. You might be able to use Best Case, but that is a tightening/tweaking thing to play with later and not the real culprit. The IA/DC thing is critical. Also, you can set all these things up and having MCE on will override them all. Your PC was in a relaxed state when you took the screen shot, so we can't see a peak Vcore number. At some later point, run a stress test and note the peak number it holds at. We have not discussed LLC setting but if you are on stock frequency and auto voltage, I don't think we need to unless further refining is required.

However, no stress tests yet because that pump speed is still wacky. On a H100i v2 with the pump in "Quiet mode" (default) it should run 1950-2000 rpm fixed. In performance (high), it should be just under 3000 rpm. There is no 1200 rpm setting and it should never read that low. That normally suggests a power limitation and this will affect cooling performance. You also lost fan speed in that last shot, suggesting they did not start. That again points to a power limitation at the source header. Whichever header is connected to the cooler's 3 pin lead, set it to 100%, Full Speed, or disabled in the BIOS.

Last edited by c-attack; 04-01-2018 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 04-01-2018, 03:59 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,375
POST ID # = 948046
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

One of your initial screen shots showed a vCore (vCPU in "Link parlance") of 1.42V. If you are now bouncing between 0.75 and 1.10V while running, you've already significantly improved things. 1.42V will give you high temps. No matter what you do. The BIOS only shows the voltage at that moment; it's not what you want to look at for your vCore while you are running. Link will show that to you, as well a number of other tools (Aida, HWInfo, etc). You do need to be careful with some of those other tools, however; some can interfere with Link.
c-attack's comment is spot-on as well - those pump RPMs are lower than they should be. It's easy to fix though and you really need to do that. Not only will it impact performance but I strongly suspect that it is also the number one cause of early pump failure. Once you do that, you should be in much better shape.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fans, h100i v2., noise

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.