The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2017, 12:58 PM
Astherox Astherox is offline
Registered User
Astherox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 913311
Astherox Reputation: 10
Default Ram version imcompatibility?

Hello,

I bought two individual sticks of 8GB CMK8GX4M1A2400C14 ram, both version 5.20. After running MemTest86, I noticed that one stick showed had over 100 errors. I send the stick back to Amazon and got a replacement, exact same model but this time the version was 5.39 now Im not able to the overclock the cpu. With only one stick (no matter which) I can overclock to 3.7ghz with 1.31275v and 2666mhz ram. When I try the same using both sticks I cant even overclock to 35.25 ghz (0.25 ghz higher).

I used the AMD Ryzen Master application, and after adjusting the clock speed, it would ask me to restart. After the restart the cpu is overclocked and everything works fine. But the next time I try to boot or resume after standby the system wouldnt start. I see the boot screen of the bios for 1 second, then it tries to reach the windows repair screen but crashing, resulting in a loop.
I tested the ram using MemTest86 but didnt get any error messages, I also tried different ram slots, but it ultimately always failed when using 2 sticks. The ram are exactly the same (Corsair vengeance lpx 2400 mhz 8gb Model: CMK8GX4M1A2400C14). After a day, I wasnt even able to boot with both sticks and had to remove one. As I said the only difference is that one stick is "Ver 5.20" while the other is "Ver 5.39". What does that mean, should it make a difference? I also tried resetting the CMOS and reflashing the bios via USB. Is it the version difference that is causing the issues or could it be that the motherboard is defective or my 400W Psu is not enough?

Build for reference: https://de.pcpartpicker.com/list/nqXpwV

Last edited by Astherox; 07-25-2017 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-01-2017, 12:07 PM
TJJ TJJ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 914200
TJJ Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, different versions will likely have chips from a different manufacturer, and possibly different rank arrangement too.

Thaiphoon can give you detailed information about the dimms, though your only solution is to return one (or both) of your dimms regardless.
In future buy only matched pairs, to avoid this occurrence.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
compatibility, corsair, motherboard, ram version, ryzen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.