The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2012, 01:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 618023
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default FAQ: Media Keys Do Not Work

There has been a few number of cases where the media buttons on the keyboard do not work, or the scroll wheel on our headsets do not seem to change the volume. In most cases, this is not an issue with the device but is an OS issue. Please try this if you experience this problem:

Click on the Windows Start Button and navigate to the Control Panel. Start up Administrative Tools and click on Services. Scroll down to Human Interface Device Access and ensure the service has started up. If it is not, click on restart the service and change it to startup automatically by double clicking the service.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-03-2013, 02:47 PM
Dunkyoo Dunkyoo is offline
Registered User
Dunkyoo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 685588
Dunkyoo Reputation: 10
Default

Today it did work when I started my pc but I checked HID services and it didn't start automatically. It started manually so I changed it to automatically.

I guess this solves the problem. Thanks Ram Guy.

EDIT: wrong topic (kinda ;))....sorry

Last edited by Dunkyoo; 02-20-2014 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-18-2014, 12:04 PM
mandrill mandrill is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 693283
mandrill Reputation: 10
Default

Didn't work for me.

K50, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. Not sure if any other details are relevant.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-19-2014, 03:08 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 693375
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Does it work in other media players e.g. Windows Media Player?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-03-2014, 09:36 AM
naviathan naviathan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 699896
naviathan Reputation: 10
Default

If you still have issues with this and you have your keyboard plugged in through a USB hub or a docking station, try connecting it to USB ports directly attached to the computer.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-22-2014, 01:15 AM
Darcophagus's Avatar
Darcophagus Darcophagus is offline
Registered User
Darcophagus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: THe Netherlands
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 737190
Darcophagus Reputation: 10
Default

Keyboard compatibility has to be enabled at prefences 'Keyboard shortcuts' tab inside Winamp. It's possible reassign the media keys there as well.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-24-2014, 10:13 PM
cor9 cor9 is offline
Registered User
cor9's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 737868
cor9 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darcophagus View Post
Keyboard compatibility has to be enabled at prefences 'Keyboard shortcuts' tab inside Winamp. It's possible reassign the media keys there as well.
Thanks man! That worked for me :) I can use my media keys with Winamp now!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-27-2014, 07:55 PM
Gil80 Gil80 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 74
POST ID # = 738277
Gil80 Reputation: 21
Default

If you're using Chrome and installed Google Music extension, then Chrome will hijack your media keys.
Either uninstall the extension or switch Chrome's access authority to media keys to "in chrome" versus "global"
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-03-2015, 03:28 PM
RAPTOR 30 V1 RAPTOR 30 V1 is offline
Registered User
RAPTOR 30 V1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 764000
RAPTOR 30 V1 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil80 View Post
Either uninstall the extension or switch Chrome's access authority to media keys to "in chrome" versus "global"
Sorry for the hijack - is this option within chrome itself or within the keyboard software?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-17-2015, 10:05 PM
MystaB MystaB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 796570
MystaB Reputation: 10
Default Media Keys

I just noticed after having the keyboard for a few weeks after just getting it replaced with a RMA keyboard that the media keys don't work. It's on the pause/play and skip forward, the play one when works if you press down hard that you would be to the point of breaking the stand out hurting your finger and the skip forward just doesn't work. The other two are just fine, now the play just move freely like the skip back and stop key but the skip forward feels hard on the right side. I haven't spilled anything on the keyboard and I pulled the cap off it to see it was something stuck under it and nothing, so was wondering what it could be. This is my 3rd keyboard from the RGB series and also K95, trying to figure out if I have to go through the RMA once again when only having the keyboard for about a month. Now after posting this the mute/unmute is having a issue where it works when it wants to.

Last edited by MystaB; 08-17-2015 at 10:11 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-27-2015, 05:02 PM
Chez Chez is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 803077
Chez Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil80 View Post
If you're using Chrome and installed Google Music extension, then Chrome will hijack your media keys.
Either uninstall the extension or switch Chrome's access authority to media keys to "in chrome" versus "global"
Plex can also hijack these keys in Chrome.. just change from global to in Chrome.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-01-2015, 09:34 PM
zopert zopert is offline
Registered User
zopert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 804403
zopert Reputation: 10
Default

I'm having an issue with the media keys not behaving as expected. Although I've had my K70 for a while, I've never really used anything besides the Mute key and volume wheel until today, so I'm not sure if this is a recent issue or if it has always been like this.

Mute and volume wheel work correctly universally.
Stop works correctly only in VLC, otherwise does nothing.
Next track button triggers both next track and mute.
Previous track button does nothing.
Play/pause does nothing.

I've tested this in various media players (VLC, Windows Media Player, WinAmp, BSPlayer, Groove Music). When attempting to manually assign the buttons in VLC, VLC doesn't even recognize when I press the previous track or play/pause buttons. I do not have that Google Play Music extension installed.

Any thoughts/suggestions?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-18-2017, 08:30 PM
porjay porjay is offline
Registered User
porjay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 916730
porjay Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil80 View Post
If you're using Chrome and installed Google Music extension, then Chrome will hijack your media keys.
Either uninstall the extension or switch Chrome's access authority to media keys to "in chrome" versus "global"
Thank you this is fixed me.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-29-2014, 05:17 AM
Briano Briano is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 738589
Briano Reputation: 10
Default

Question... would there be a way to hold the next / previous key so that the track playing in winamp would fast forward / reverse instead of pressing the right / left arrow keys
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-30-2014, 12:11 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 738813
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briano View Post
Question... would there be a way to hold the next / previous key so that the track playing in winamp would fast forward / reverse instead of pressing the right / left arrow keys
You can re-assign the media keys to mimic the arrow keys under Assignments.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.