The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2019, 03:13 AM
donalgodon donalgodon is offline
Registered User
donalgodon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 131
POST ID # = 1021631
donalgodon Reputation: 10
Default iCue (and other RGB software) compared: iCue needs the most work


iCue needs the most work
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2019, 09:52 AM
XAFAfterShock XAFAfterShock is offline
Registered User
XAFAfterShock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1021655
XAFAfterShock Reputation: 10
Default

I was just going to post the same video so thanks for sharing, I use icue, asus aura, and logitech software to control my mouse and mousepad lighting, none of these even compare to icue when it comes to hogging resources to basically do nothing. I have an h100i v2 extreme cooler with static lighting and a basic profile for my keyboard and yet icue thinks it needs enough resources to prevent the cpu idling enough to downclock or allow the voltage to drop, It's always been this way ever since I got the strafe keyboard but every little update adds more and more to the bloat. Maybe if enough people bring this to light they might hire someone who can optimize the software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2019, 10:19 AM
ShadowSabre ShadowSabre is offline
Registered User
ShadowSabre's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 40
POST ID # = 1021658
ShadowSabre Reputation: 10
Default

I have an MSI z390mpg gaming pro carbon motherboard I don't use any msi software and IICUE keeps the cpu at 4.1 to 44.4 no down clocking until I turn off ICUE then runs like it should in downclocking Hope they adreess this issue soon as I have a lot of corsair stuff in my build
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2019, 02:27 PM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is offline
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 200
POST ID # = 1021677
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

I asked what versions of the RGB software were used in the testing. So far, Steve hasn't answered.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2019, 04:25 AM
rascaluk rascaluk is offline
Registered User
rascaluk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021922
rascaluk Reputation: 10
Default

This needs to get more visibility because, as the report shows, it's not the average fps drop that is the main concern, it's the intermittent significant frame delays/drops that are bringing the average down...iCue was by far the worst for this.

Why does iCue (and associated services) intermittently affect frame rendering so significantly?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2019, 06:31 AM
Ingvarr100th Ingvarr100th is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 34
POST ID # = 1021927
Ingvarr100th Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rascaluk View Post
Why does iCue (and associated services) intermittently affect frame rendering so significantly?
CPU interrupt requests mostly. When you are owner of RGB DRAM you loose more of CPU time due of frequent SMBus communication.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.