The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2018, 03:12 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970909
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default K95 RGB Platinum - No LED Lighting

For some reason, my K95 RGB Platinum keyboard isn't lighting up. It was, initially, but now it's is not. Not sure what I did, if anything, to stop it.

All my other Corsair iCUE devices are working fine (Obsidian 1000D, 10 LL120s, 3 LL140s, an H150i, Vengeance RGB Pro ram, Harpoon RGB mouse). All those other Corsair RGB devices are lighting up and working properly. It's just the keyboard that's apparently lost it's lighting.

This is a very new build (built last week). I have the latest version of iCUE installed. The lighting setup for everything is Lighting Link Spiral Rainbow.

One thing I noticed that I don't understand is that, under Profiles in iCUE, I show the Default profile, but also 3 profiles I didn't (intentionally or knowingly) create: K95P HW1, K95P HW2, K95P HW3. Not sure where they came from or what they're for.

Does anybody have any suggestions for how I get my keyboard lighting working again? I've seen it light up, so I don't think the keyboard itself is malfunctioning.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2018, 03:45 PM
LeSnakk's Avatar
LeSnakk LeSnakk is offline
Ich spreche kein Englisch
LeSnakk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 190
POST ID # = 970911
LeSnakk Reputation: 16
Default

Those HW1, HW2 and HW3 are the HardWare profiles that are saved directly to your keyboard.

Is your keyboard just not lighting up or is it completely not recognized by iCUE? Is it showing the default lighting/the hardware profiles if you boot your PC/end iCUE completely?

Even if your're running the latest firmware on your keyboard, try forcing a firmware update. Maybe also consider reinstalling/repairing your iCUE.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2018, 03:48 PM
thehypnootoad thehypnootoad is offline
Registered User
thehypnootoad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Selby united kingdom
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 970912
thehypnootoad Reputation: 10
Default

keep esc held down pull out usbs for keyboard and wait 10 seconds keeps esc held down plug in wait ten secs let go of esc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2018, 04:56 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970919
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeSnakk View Post
Those HW1, HW2 and HW3 are the HardWare profiles that are saved directly to your keyboard.

Is your keyboard just not lighting up or is it completely not recognized by iCUE? Is it showing the default lighting/the hardware profiles if you boot your PC/end iCUE completely?

Even if your're running the latest firmware on your keyboard, try forcing a firmware update. Maybe also consider reinstalling/repairing your iCUE.
The keyboard shows up in iCUE correctly. And it shows the correct lighting setup. It just doesn't actually light up.

I will force a firmware update and see what happens.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2018, 04:57 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970920
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thehypnootoad View Post
keep esc held down pull out usbs for keyboard and wait 10 seconds keeps esc held down plug in wait ten secs let go of esc
I'll try that as well. I think I might have tried it once, but didn't hold Esc while unplugging the USB cables - just held it when plugging back in.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2018, 05:03 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970922
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Forcing a firmware update flashed the LEDs briefly, but then the keyboard returned to darkness.

Tried the Escape/unplug/re-plug thing and that seems to have worked. Although now I've got an apparent error indicator on the keyboard box in iCUE. Will investigate what that might mean next.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2018, 05:07 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970923
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Well, a reboot cleared the error indicator on the keyboard box. And the keyboard was lit after the reboot briefly. But, although everything else is still lit, the keyboard has gone dark again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2018, 05:17 PM
mpoffo mpoffo is offline
Registered User
mpoffo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 192
POST ID # = 970926
mpoffo Reputation: 17
Default

Stupid question and I am sure you looked at this but in the lighting section of your default (Top) profile for the keyboard is there some lighting setting that is overriding what you want or is perhaps turned off?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2018, 06:26 PM
LeSnakk's Avatar
LeSnakk LeSnakk is offline
Ich spreche kein Englisch
LeSnakk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 190
POST ID # = 970934
LeSnakk Reputation: 16
Default

Does it even not illuminate when using instant lighting (the tab in the top bar)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2018, 06:37 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970935
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoffo View Post
Stupid question and I am sure you looked at this but in the lighting section of your default (Top) profile for the keyboard is there some lighting setting that is overriding what you want or is perhaps turned off?
Not a stupid question as it does kind of seem like a setting I might have somewhere is causing the problem.

But in this case, I don't think so. I see "LIGHTING LINK Lighting Link 1" as the light effect, and SPIRAL RAINBOW selected in the details. Which is what is set for everything (which is, I guess, how lighting link works, although I'm still learning how this all works).

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-31-2018, 06:38 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970936
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeSnakk View Post
Does it even not illuminate when using instant lighting (the tab in the top bar)?
Correct. If I set instant lighting to any color, everything else turns that color. The keyboard remains unlit. Weird, right?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-31-2018, 06:42 PM
thehypnootoad thehypnootoad is offline
Registered User
thehypnootoad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Selby united kingdom
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 970937
thehypnootoad Reputation: 10
Default

Could asus auro sync be causing problem as i have a similar problem with mystic light
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-31-2018, 09:43 PM
Astral85 Astral85 is offline
Registered User
Astral85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 332
POST ID # = 970946
Astral85 Reputation: 11
Default

Are both USB plugs securely plugged in?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-31-2018, 10:16 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970952
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thehypnootoad View Post
Could asus auro sync be causing problem as i have a similar problem with mystic light
I haven't loaded any ASUS software yet. I'd read about problems people have had between the various RGB controller software, so trying to keep it simple for now.

Also, the ASUS software mostly sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-31-2018, 10:27 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 970957
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astral85 View Post
Are both USB plugs securely plugged in?
I double-checked and they were. However, because I'm grasping at straws, I tried the esc/unplug/plug sequence again but while doing so, moved to two different USB ports.

Like the last time I did the that reset sequence, the keyboard lit up properly a few moments after re-plugging in the USB cables. But after a reboot, while the keyboard remained lit for a short while, it soon went dark.

I've done the reset sequence again, and the keyboard lit up again. And it's staying lit. But I'm thinking as soon as I reboot, it will go dark shortly after I'm logged in to Windows.

Giving it a try now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.