The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2013, 10:32 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 640197
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default Mounting H60i/H80i/H100i on LGA775?

I noticed when trying to mount the backplate for an H60i/H80i/H100i on an LGA775 board that it is impossible to mount it in its stock condition (without modifying it).

Is there some way in which I can utilize an H60i/H80i/H100i on an LGA775 platform, say for instance using the stock backplate from an H60/H80/H100 cooler?

Personally, I think it was a mistake for Corsair to eliminate the Intel LGA775 socket from the compatible sockets list for their Hydro "i" series coolers at this point in time, given that it is still in use by many PC builders, owners, enthusiasts, and overclockers. Really it's not that much of a stretch of the imagination that there might be some people out there who run LGA775 and say own an H50/H60/H70, or run air cooling but want to try liquid cooling, but want to upgrade to a newer H80i or H100i.

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 03-21-2013 at 01:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-14-2013, 11:44 AM
colymore colymore is offline
Registered User
colymore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 640216
colymore Reputation: 10
Default

I have been trying to find some more information on this topic and I second the OP opinion on LGA775 not being dead

I have not bought the H100i because of this (had the h50 back in the day but didn't like it much so I went the air way).
I know there is a bracket on sale on the corsair website but I don't think it can be used with the i series + I don't like the idea of the extra $15+shipping to EU.

I would like to know what corsair thinks on this - we all know that Swiftech in it's equivalent h220 does provide LGA775 support.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:32 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 641333
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The stock backplate that comes with the I series cooler will not have the support for socket 775, if you look closely, its not listed under socket support. http://www.corsair.com/en/cpu-coolin...pu-cooler.html

You can Purchase the older bracket kit for the H80/H100, that kit will support socket 775.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 05-31-2013 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-21-2013, 01:17 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 641836
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
The stock backplate that comes with the I series cooler will not have the support for socket 775, if you look closely, its not listed under socket support. http://www.corsair.com/en/cpu-coolin...pu-cooler.html

You can Purchase the older bracket kit for the H80/H100, that kit will support socket 775. .
I was well aware it was not on the supported sockets list.

Not my fault, you see, because it was what Corsair sent me to replace my defective unit. I didn't realize they would send me something that doesn't even fit my board/socket.

So, I was kind of hoping that 775 not being listed was a typo, I didn't realize Corsair had made it physically impossible to fit an "i" series cooler to socket 775 with the included hardware. Kind of weird Corsair chose to limit their customer base by eliminating support for a large sector of the market.

I was actually excited to try out one of the newer "i" series coolers, up until I found out it didn't fit.

So, what are my chances of actually being approved and being sent the missing part if I submit an RMA request? Last time I made a similar request for a missing/broken part Corsair insisted I pay more money and buy it, and flat out refused to send me the part I needed without paying more money.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 05-31-2013 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-21-2013, 06:36 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 641890
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

You have to remember the market isn't moving backwards. It's no real surprise that they wouldn't support systems 5 generations old anymore.

Quote:
So, what are my chances of actually being approved and being sent the missing part if I submit an RMA request? Last time I made a similar request for a missing/broken part Corsair insisted I pay more money and buy it, and flat out refused to send me the part I needed without paying more money.
Just submit an RMA and let them know what happened is all you need to do. Really it would be best if you could call them. That would be the fastest way to get your brackets. I'm sure they will send you what you need.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:32 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 642791
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Kind of weird Corsair chose to limit their customer base by eliminating support for a large sector of the market.
Not really, but by all means go ahead and send the request and we'll send you the bracket that supports socket 775.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-03-2013, 04:02 AM
maximumnoise maximumnoise is offline
Registered User
maximumnoise's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 650667
maximumnoise Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, sorry to hijack this thread, i ordered the H100i from PCCASEGEAR.COM in australia after they said they would supply the LGA775 bracket for the older cpus, as im fitting it to my Q9550, one question, it has arrived with the LGA775 bracket, however which spacer screws do i use, the ones for the LGA1155/56 or the LGA2011?
Thanks again
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-06-2013, 06:10 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 651499
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The same standoffs you use for the 1155 and 1156.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-09-2013, 01:35 AM
maximumnoise maximumnoise is offline
Registered User
maximumnoise's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 652019
maximumnoise Reputation: 10
Default

Fantastic, thanks heaps, ill be trying this in a couple of days when i have some time, fitting it to a Silverstone TJ-07 Case up the top with a little modding, cant wait!
Also bought a Corsair Neutron GTX to go with my Corsair Force GT and Force GS, great products guys, keep up the top work!
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-09-2013, 04:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 652164
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you and no problem at all.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-10-2013, 07:50 AM
Specter's Avatar
Specter Specter is offline
Registered User
Specter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 376
POST ID # = 652265
Specter Reputation: 22
Default

If you are trying to mount an i series cooler on your 775 motherboard the problem will not be with the 775 backplate. It will be with the capacitors close to the CPU socket.

Corsair made the CPU block so big that it overhangs the CPU socket. Chances are that it will hit any capacitor that is taller than the CPU socket and touches the white X pattern CPU outline preventing it for being completely screwed down.

Trust me, I installed my H80i first on my 775 board and it hit the capacitors above the socket. A few mm of capacitors ended up under the block preventing me from completely screwing down the block as it was bending the board. Every other 775 board I have seen have the same capacitors above the CPU socket very close to the white outline.

Users need to state what model motherboard they are trying to fit this on as it may work for some 775 boards but not all. I can ensure the i series cooler will not secure properly to an Abit ip35 board.

Last edited by Specter; 05-10-2013 at 08:02 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-14-2013, 01:22 AM
Nesral Neets Nesral Neets is offline
Viking55
Nesral Neets's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 653036
Nesral Neets Reputation: 10
Excited Mounting H100I to EVGA 750i FTW

Hi,
I just purchased an H100i (as yet unopened) and have found this thread. I have ordered a new backplate to mount to the LGA775 Socket and I have received an notice this was sent today (many thanks for prompt action once my request was reviewed). However, I am concerned that I may not be able to mount the water block on the 775 socket due to resistors per Specter's comment. Can you tell me if it will fit? I want to make sure I can install this before opening the box. Your advice would be much appreciated.

Here is a picture of the socket layout:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1766_p3_9.jpg (121.2 KB, 1912 views)

Last edited by Nesral Neets; 05-14-2013 at 01:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-14-2013, 06:53 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 653073
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

If you by chance have a board with capacitors close to the socket, usually turning the cooling head 90degrees one way or the other will alllow the cooling block to fit.

This only affected a small amount of the socket 775Mb's so yous hould be just fine with the new cooler. The caps only come into play if you place the hoses on that side. So in your case you would want the hoses on the left side of the socket according to your PIC.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:28 PM
Nesral Neets Nesral Neets is offline
Viking55
Nesral Neets's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 653508
Nesral Neets Reputation: 10
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
If you by chance have a board with capacitors close to the socket, usually turning the cooling head 90degrees one way or the other will alllow the cooling block to fit.

This only affected a small amount of the socket 775Mb's so yous hould be just fine with the new cooler. The caps only come into play if you place the hoses on that side. So in your case you would want the hoses on the left side of the socket according to your PIC.
Thanks, I'll try installing once I get the backplate hardware. If I run into trouble I will post here. Otherwise, thanks for the help Peanutz.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-20-2013, 06:58 PM
Specter's Avatar
Specter Specter is offline
Registered User
Specter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 376
POST ID # = 654593
Specter Reputation: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nesral Neets View Post
Thanks, I'll try installing once I get the backplate hardware. If I run into trouble I will post here. Otherwise, thanks for the help Peanutz.
As Peanutz stated it will fit if you install it normally with the hoses on the right side by the memory modules.

It took me a while to understand your picture was upside-down .

The problem I faced were those 2 capacitors grouped together at the top of the board. On my Abit IP 35 Pro, they actually touched the white line but your capacitors are further up so you have more than enough clearance.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.