The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:55 PM
hellomarty hellomarty is offline
Registered User
hellomarty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 938937
hellomarty Reputation: 10
Default Alienware Aurora R7 and LPX 2666mhz

Hi All,

I have the R7 i7-8700 (non K) and just installed 16GB (2x8GB) to my existing factory 16GB 2666mhz, but total memory shows up as 2133mhz.

Already tried to change XMP in bios, but it's greyed out, so I'm stuck. Are these memory not compatible? Any solutions?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-04-2018, 10:55 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,767
POST ID # = 939005
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

You can't use XMP when you mix kits. It is generally inadvisable to mix memory kits at all unless you are prepared to work for your stability. You will need to manually set the frequency, voltage, and primary timings in the BIOS. I do not know what the Alienware/Dell BIOS does with sub-timings. If it has an auto feature, leave it set for that and cross your fingers.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-04-2018, 09:19 PM
hellomarty hellomarty is offline
Registered User
hellomarty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 939114
hellomarty Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply. So you mean that I have to fill all my memory with LPX or all of whatever Alienware put in the PC for the RAM to run at 2666mhz?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-04-2018, 10:46 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,767
POST ID # = 939117
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

You need to use the same memory for all slots if you want to use the 1 click XMP overclock preset and it is generally advisable to use a matched kit. It is possible to manually set them yourself to 2666, but there are no guarantees it will run with a mixed bag of modules. I would think you have a decent shot at 2666, but can’t really be sure with Dell. Historically, they tend to be a little bit more finicky about certain things.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-05-2018, 05:32 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 594
POST ID # = 939222
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
You need to use the same memory for all slots if you want to use the 1 click XMP overclock preset and it is generally advisable to use a matched kit. It is possible to manually set them yourself to 2666, but there are no guarantees it will run with a mixed bag of modules. I would think you have a decent shot at 2666, but can’t really be sure with Dell. Historically, they tend to be a little bit more finicky about certain things.
perfectly said. Many thanks as always.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
alienware, aurora, lpx, r7, xmp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.