The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2018, 03:01 PM
dwhit95 dwhit95 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 970061
dwhit95 Reputation: 10
Default LL120 LEDs not working after power outage

The other day the power went out to my whole apartment in the middle of a gaming session. It didn't come back on for another hour and it was caused by a fire a few blocks from me. Ever since then my leds on my 3 fans will not come back on. I tried to change the sata ports that the power from the fans go to and only a few leds on one of the fans popped up. I am very worried. Have I been screwed?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-24-2018, 04:30 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 970074
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

I wonder if the LEDs got hosed by the sudden power blip. UPS's are good to mitigate this issue.

Question: do you have your PC on a surge protector?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-24-2018, 04:35 PM
dwhit95 dwhit95 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 970075
dwhit95 Reputation: 10
Default

That is my fear, but yes I do use a surge protector. Everything that is connected to my pc setup runs off two of them.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-24-2018, 04:44 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 970077
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwhit95 View Post
That is my fear, but yes I do use a surge protector. Everything that is connected to my pc setup runs off two of them.
Well, if you are within warranty period, you may be able to get them replaced under warranty.

But keep in mind that power sags and brownouts are just as dangerous to a PC and components as a surge. That's expensive equipment ... and relatively small investment in a UPS isn't unreasonable.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-24-2018, 06:03 PM
dwhit95 dwhit95 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 970082
dwhit95 Reputation: 10
Default

I might have to do that. These are only 2 months old and I believe I still have the box and warranty. Do you know if the warranty allows me to keep the old fans before the new ones arrive?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-24-2018, 07:11 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 970085
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwhit95 View Post
I might have to do that. These are only 2 months old and I believe I still have the box and warranty. Do you know if the warranty allows me to keep the old fans before the new ones arrive?
I believe that would be an express RMA. You can ask about it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-29-2018, 12:56 PM
Corsair Jam's Avatar
Corsair Jam Corsair Jam is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 214
POST ID # = 970688
Corsair Jam Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I believe that would be an express RMA. You can ask about it.
That's correct. You can request an express RMA to help speed up the process and get the replacement fans first.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ll120 rgb, not working, power outage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.