The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:21 AM
Johnson621 Johnson621 is offline
Registered User
Johnson621's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 972089
Johnson621 Reputation: 10
Default 1000D Quad 480 Rad Questions

Well its time to try and cram four 480mm radiators in this thing, I have seen a few people discussing the width issue people are running in to, but haven't seen much discussion on length issues.

I wanted to run quad AlphaCool ST30 480's, but i have noticed that it is quite a bit longer than some other radiators on the market in the same 4x120 layout.

Does anyone have some solid knowledge on these issues? I have seen a few pictures of people running quad 480's (GTS480 for example) and they got it to fit, but the inlet/outlet where the fittings go were basically crammed agaisnt the rear of the case, making it impossible to run 2 exhaust fans on the rear wall.

If anyone out there has these limitations figured out please let me know. All my radiators will be the 30mm variety so im not worried about the thickness aspect. Just max width and length to achieve the quad 480 (bonus if it will still work with dual rear exhaust).

Thank you for yall's time.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:30 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,878
POST ID # = 972092
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

subscribed...

man those would be tight lol....

Looking at OC3D's build with the 2x360's up top..

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:35 AM
Johnson621 Johnson621 is offline
Registered User
Johnson621's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 972096
Johnson621 Reputation: 10
Default

I found this picture earlier, it’s doable, I just have no idea what the max length is because of the bad picture angle this was taken at, looks like more room in front possibly to slide forward to have better access to rear fittings, hoping someone with experience can chime in
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg B42B7731-6610-4F2E-80BC-AB9DDEEA0725.jpeg (32.8 KB, 344 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-10-2018, 01:44 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,878
POST ID # = 972098
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Exciting times... Following bud :).

Doing a 1000d build my self and will be heading down the Custom Loop road at some point...
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-19-2018, 08:42 PM
cc10101 cc10101 is offline
Registered User
cc10101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 973491
cc10101 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnson621 View Post
Well its time to try and cram four 480mm radiators in this thing, I have seen a few people discussing the width issue people are running in to, but haven't seen much discussion on length issues.

I wanted to run quad AlphaCool ST30 480's, but i have noticed that it is quite a bit longer than some other radiators on the market in the same 4x120 layout.

Does anyone have some solid knowledge on these issues? I have seen a few pictures of people running quad 480's (GTS480 for example) and they got it to fit, but the inlet/outlet where the fittings go were basically crammed agaisnt the rear of the case, making it impossible to run 2 exhaust fans on the rear wall.

If anyone out there has these limitations figured out please let me know. All my radiators will be the 30mm variety so im not worried about the thickness aspect. Just max width and length to achieve the quad 480 (bonus if it will still work with dual rear exhaust).

Thank you for yall's time.
Check out this post I made tonight that has some vids of another 1000D build that uses EK rads (the last 2 vids in the list of 4 I posted are the most useful). That and the one Zotty linked above provide some great info about rads in the case.

In particular, I like that we can use EK or HWL, as well as AC rads width-wise as long as we mount fans to the fan trays first, then rads to the fans. I also like the approach the guy in the vids I linked used to mod-mount the top rad without the top fan tray at all. Although I wonder about airflow in that situation.

I'm in the midst of researching custom-loop parts now as well. So I'm very curious what others have found out about rads in the 1000D.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-11-2019, 05:28 PM
JebaczKoz JebaczKoz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1010863
JebaczKoz Reputation: 10
Question

Hi
Is it possible to change the radiators tray positions (i do not know what it's called), the top with the front?

So that on top mount two raditor 480/mammoth/P&P
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-11-2019, 11:31 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,878
POST ID # = 1010897
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

hi buddy.. yes the Trays are interchangeable.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-13-2019, 06:02 PM
eisenb11 eisenb11 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 1011103
eisenb11 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi there, just saw this thread. I have 4x alpha cool 480s in my case (pic below).

The top rads are ST30. The fronts rads are XT45.

As you can see, you may have a length problem if you install the top rads such that the ports are towards the front of the case. In my setup, I installed the top rad so the ports are towards the back of the case - the front rads didn't matter if I had the ports on the top or bottom.

If you're going for a thicker top rad or push-pull on top, you'll likely need to align your front rad ports on the bottom.

Hope this helped.


Last edited by eisenb11; 07-13-2019 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.