The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:44 PM
gunslinger95 gunslinger95 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 272773
gunslinger95 Reputation: 10
Default TWIN2X2048-6400C4 and Asus P5B Deluxe - Will it work?

I order parts for a new rig from newegg.com this week and selected this mobo and memory combo. Did I make a dreadful mistake, even though both Corsair and Asus claim they work???

I've been reading story after story of people having problems with this Asus board. Has anyone here sucessfully used this combination in their box? How did you do it? Dual or single channel? What memory settings?

I haven't built a machine in about 3 years and I'm getting ready to start by this weekend... Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-13-2006, 05:13 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 272790
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

With a 1066 CPU yes they will run great!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-13-2006, 10:15 PM
gunslinger95 gunslinger95 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 272861
gunslinger95 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Ram Guy. I also picked out an Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 which according to the specs has a FSB speed of 1066MHz. So I should just use the settings from your "What are the correct timings for My Module?" for this memory? According to your sheet they are:

Testing parameters for Twinx/XMS2-6400C4:
Twin2x2048-6400C4 Data Sheet

Motherboard make and model: Asus P5WD2 or M2N32-SLI Premium/Deluxe
Each pair is tested and packaged together using the following settings:
AI Over Clock Tuner: Manual
CPU External Frequency: Manually set to 200MHz
DDR2 SDRAM Clock: Manually set to 800MHz
PCI Express Freq: Auto
PCI Freq: 33.33
Performance Mode: Standard
DRAM Timing Selectable: Manual
SDRAM CAS Latency: 4T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 4T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 4T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 12T
SDRAM Write Recovery Time: 5
Write to Precharge Delay: 15 (If it's Listed)
Command Rate: 2T
DDR2 SDRAM Voltage: 2.1
CPU Core Voltage: Auto
FSB Termination V: 1.50 V
MCH Chipset V: 1.65V
ICH Chipset V: 1.20V
All other settings are motherboard defaults.
Maximum DDR2 recommended VDIMM: 2.1 Volts

Is this correct? Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-14-2006, 04:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 272954
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes except your CPU Freq will be set to 266 MHz!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-15-2006, 12:12 AM
Beelzebob's Avatar
Beelzebob Beelzebob is offline
Registered User
Beelzebob's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 273020
Beelzebob Reputation: 10
Default

Ram Guy
Can you please confirm if the above parameters are also compatabile with the P5W DH Deluxe as I cant find a Data Sheet for my board.

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-15-2006, 06:25 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 273150
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

that MB would need the memory frequency at 667 and over clock the CPU with that MB!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-16-2006, 12:52 AM
Deliverer Deliverer is offline
Registered User
Deliverer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 273210
Deliverer Reputation: 10
Default

Howdy, I have been trying to get this ram to work in a GA-965P-DS3 mobo with a E6600 and the frequency at 266. If I follow these timings, I get BSOD's and reboots. If I change to 5-5-5-18 it works fine. Any suggestions is appreciated to what I may be doing wrong? Maybe I need to run at frequency at 667? Thanks RamGuy!!!

Regards,

Deliverer
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:03 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 273213
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deliverer View Post
Howdy, I have been trying to get this ram to work in a GA-965P-DS3 mobo with a E6600 and the frequency at 266. If I follow these timings, I get BSOD's and reboots. If I change to 5-5-5-18 it works fine. Any suggestions is appreciated to what I may be doing wrong? Maybe I need to run at frequency at 667? Thanks RamGuy!!!
I have this system although I have an E6400. If you set your Vdimm (Dimm Overvoltage Control) to 2.1v (+.3) you should be able to run at 800Mhz. Set your FSB to 266 and your System Memory Multiplier to 3.0. Memory Performance Enhance to Normal.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:08 AM
Deliverer Deliverer is offline
Registered User
Deliverer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 273214
Deliverer Reputation: 10
Default

I have done that already and it didn't seem to work. I also tried 667 on the freq and it didn't work. The memory timings page does not mention anything about the following settings and I have them set to Auto. Maybe one of these need adjustments?

ACT to ACT Delay
Bank Write to Read Delay
Refresh to Act Delay
Read to Precharge Delay

Thanks for any help supplied.

Regards,

Deliverer
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:28 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 273220
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deliverer View Post
Maybe one of these need adjustments?

ACT to ACT Delay
Bank Write to Read Delay
Refresh to Act Delay
Read to Precharge Delay
No, these can be set to auto. If you have set the dram to 800MHz and the timings manually to 4 -4 - 4 - 12 with 2.1 Vdimm, then test with memtest.

www.memtest.org

Burn an image of this ISO and boot to cd with the above settings. Allow for 2 runs. Any errors?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:01 AM
Deliverer Deliverer is offline
Registered User
Deliverer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 273227
Deliverer Reputation: 10
Default

I'm on three tests now without errors. I will continue to let it run. Also, I thought I would add this is a new machine. I was able to install windows with the previous memory settings mentioned: 5-5-5-18, but I still had issues, after being inside Windows and running programs.

Any thoughts of what it might be at this point? I verified my motherboard bios, F7, is the most current for my mobo.

Regards,

Deliverer
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:13 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 273229
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

If you pass memtest at 4 - 4 - 4 - 12 I wonder if you were running at 2.1v when you had the issues. Try re-installing your OS now. If there are still issues, then can you document the BSOD's. What are the STOP error codes?

Just install windows and your drivers. Enter here and set your entire system down for trouble-shooting purposes.

Be certain to install the drivers for video, etc from the manufacturers site.

Last edited by DerekT; 12-16-2006 at 03:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:37 AM
Deliverer Deliverer is offline
Registered User
Deliverer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 273232
Deliverer Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I tried to reinstall windows and got a crash during the install before I got to the GUI part. The error was IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. I also attached my specs to my profile.

Regards,

Deliverer
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:43 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 273234
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

You don't get a STOP event? There should be a sequence such as:
Code:
IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL 
is at the top 

Technical information: 

*** STOP: 0x000000D1 (ox20000001, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, 0xF6EA8BBF) 


*** USBPORT.SYS - Address F6EA8BBF base at F6E8F000, DateStamp 3f04cf17
Are you using the stock Intel cooler? Did you install it yourself? Have you ever installed a stock LGA 775 Intel cooler before? What does the BIOS give you for temps? If you are gettting this code withoiut a stop event I wonder if your CPU is not installed correctly. The LGA 775 needs to have all four pins pushed down very hard. I mean VERY HARD otherwise you will have overheating issues.

Last edited by DerekT; 12-16-2006 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:50 AM
Deliverer Deliverer is offline
Registered User
Deliverer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 273235
Deliverer Reputation: 10
Default

I didn't record that even info below, I will try again and see what comes up. I have a Zallman 9700. Temperature in the Bios is at 29-30 C. Well this is my first 775 install. I can try to reseat the CPU.

Here is the latest error on install.

BAD_POOL_CALLER

STOP: 0x000000C2 ....

---
Same issues after reseating everything. Calling it a night and will let memtest run throughout the night.

Last edited by Deliverer; 12-16-2006 at 04:27 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.