The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2005, 06:40 PM
rayden4444 rayden4444 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 187035
rayden4444 Reputation: 10
Default Complete noobie here...

Before I purchased my corsair Twinx1024-3200C2 sticks I had a two 512 sticks of ddr ram unmatched brands and unmatched speeds. Right this very moment I have those sticks installed along with my Twinx1024-3200C2's with no apparent problems thus far.

The very little I know about DDR ram is that no matter how much of it you have it will only be as fast as the slowest one.

Reading some of the other posts on this combatability forum, that mixing and matching memory is a big no no.

However if I now have 2 gigs of memory is that better than having the Twinx1024-3200C2's alone by themselves which are quite fast from what I believe, but then I'd only have one gig? It's a balacing act of which I don't know the answer because I am not a big tech kind of guy.

My mother board is a MSI Lanparty board PRO875
Processor Intel P4 2.6ghz Hyperthreading Enabled
Video card visontek xtasy Radeon X800XT

I have not done anything through the bios regarding my memory, alough I'd like to but I don't know what to do, or what set it at.

In a nutshell I'd like to know if I should keep the mixed memory with my Twinx1024-3200C2's to have 2 gigs and or just use them alone, would I be sacrificing anything and or gain anything? Also please answer my question as if your writing memory for dummies book. Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-24-2005, 08:20 PM
CMC_SAVAGE's Avatar
CMC_SAVAGE CMC_SAVAGE is offline
Old School HoH'ers
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CAPE MAY, NJ
Posts: 2,306
POST ID # = 187046
CMC_SAVAGE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
I had a two 512 sticks of ddr ram unmatched brands and unmatched speeds. Right this very moment I have those sticks installed along with my Twinx1024-3200C2's with no apparent problems thus far.
Well not knowing the specs of the other two sticks, I really can't say.
You kinda lucked out by getting all 4 sticks to work together.
If the other 2 sticks are DDR 400, I'd leave it be.

There may be a difference in the timings between the Corsair and the other
sticks (again, don't know).
If you're not having any problems and all 4 sticks are running at 400MHz, then
I would'nt worry too much.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-24-2005, 08:35 PM
rayden4444 rayden4444 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 187049
rayden4444 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMC_SAVAGE
Well not knowing the specs of the other two sticks, I really can't say.
You kinda lucked out by getting all 4 sticks to work together.
If the other 2 sticks are DDR 400, I'd leave it be.

There may be a difference in the timings between the Corsair and the other
sticks (again, don't know).
If you're not having any problems and all 4 sticks are running at 400MHz, then
I would'nt worry too much.
How do I find out what they are running at 400mhz?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-24-2005, 10:44 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 187067
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Download CPU-Z.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-25-2005, 01:57 AM
rayden4444 rayden4444 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 187101
rayden4444 Reputation: 10
Default

Nevermind, just had my system basically freeze and refused to shut down, even after manually pressing the button on my box, had to flip the power off. I then removed my older ram and just left in the corsair memory, and turn it back on, and now I'm reporting such news.

Last edited by rayden4444; 04-25-2005 at 02:08 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:31 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 187274
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please try the system with just our modules installed and see if that does not solve the problem.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:14 PM
dude01520 dude01520 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 191580
dude01520 Reputation: 10
Default Mixing Latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY
Please try the system with just our modules installed and see if that does not solve the problem.
Dumb question for you. How bad is it to mix CAS Latencies? I have a 256MB DDR266 CL2 module that I pulled out of a Sony Vaio PC and replaced with 1 Gig of Corsair DDR266. My buddy, who has an HP with a different brand, and 256MB DDR 266, CL 2.5 module, wants mine to throw in his system. I told him I thought that was a bad idea since the latencies didn't match. How true is this?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-19-2005, 01:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 191678
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Well yes you are correct, but you can still try it. Worse case is the system will not post with both installed.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.