The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2018, 02:57 PM
Samaska Samaska is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 964945
Samaska Reputation: 10
Default Dark Core SE Randomly Stops Responding

Not sure whats going on here. Ill be playing a game or just browsing and my sensor and all actions will just stop working on the mouse. 2nd mouse I've gotten because of this issue. Seems to happen a lot when lifting the mouse up and putting it back down and I can also cause this issue by hitting keys on my k70 while moving the mouse around and hitting mouse buttons a bunch. Also does it if i move the mouse really fast.

Edit: Plugged in btw not using any wireless.

Edit2: Did some testing only happens when wired it seems.

Last edited by Samaska; 07-22-2018 at 03:29 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-23-2018, 09:28 PM
Corsair Lettuce's Avatar
Corsair Lettuce Corsair Lettuce is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 965160
Corsair Lettuce Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Samaska,

What firmware version are you on and are you using CUE or ICUE?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-26-2018, 11:17 AM
jamescunha jamescunha is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 970255
jamescunha Reputation: 10
Default

Same issue here, it happens when wireless, haven't tested it wired. Last version of everything installed. Mouse firmware 3.08. iCUE version 3.6.109.
When the mouse stops working I open iCUE using the keyboard (as the wired keyboard works normally) and mouse comes back on.

Last edited by jamescunha; 08-26-2018 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-28-2018, 04:41 PM
Tsath Tsath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 974563
Tsath Reputation: 10
Default Same issue when wired...

Random disconnects, turn mouse off and on to get back online, but causes quite a few deaths in-game when it happens

This happened on iCUE version 2.24.50, and I just upgraded to 3.4.95 and so far I have not seen the issue.

Update
Further upgraded to iCUE 3.7.99 and I have daily stops where I need to "reboot" the mouse, turn off, turn on to get it started again, so NOPE, no fix so far.

Update 2
I've changed from using one USB port to another, that seemed to have an effect. Didn't have any disconnects yet on new port. The mouse was in a USB hub before, but it's now directly connected to PC.

Update 3
Yep, changing the port on the PC seems to have done the trick. I haven't gotten a single disconnect on the mouse since I plugged the mouse directly into the PC. So morale is: Check your port type and avoid USB hubs or USB stands on your table. Direct works!

Last edited by Tsath; 10-20-2018 at 07:07 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-20-2018, 07:08 AM
Tsath Tsath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 977191
Tsath Reputation: 10
Default

Any of you guys tried my solution above?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-22-2018, 09:15 AM
sristo sristo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 977482
sristo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsath View Post
Random disconnects, turn mouse off and on to get back online, but causes quite a few deaths in-game when it happens

This happened on iCUE version 2.24.50, and I just upgraded to 3.4.95 and so far I have not seen the issue.

Update
Further upgraded to iCUE 3.7.99 and I have daily stops where I need to "reboot" the mouse, turn off, turn on to get it started again, so NOPE, no fix so far.

Update 2
I've changed from using one USB port to another, that seemed to have an effect. Didn't have any disconnects yet on new port. The mouse was in a USB hub before, but it's now directly connected to PC.

Update 3
Yep, changing the port on the PC seems to have done the trick. I haven't gotten a single disconnect on the mouse since I plugged the mouse directly into the PC. So morale is: Check your port type and avoid USB hubs or USB stands on your table. Direct works!
I have this issue almost daily despite using a USB port on my tower. I check for updates regularly and will continue to do so until the issue is resolved. I really like this mouse when it works.

Turning it off and on again gets it working each time but it is extremely annoying considering there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to why it does this for me and it seems to pick the most inconvenient times to stop responding.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-22-2018, 11:29 AM
denonsix denonsix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 977499
denonsix Reputation: 10
Default

I too have to turn it off and on again a number of times after I charge it on the MM1000 (using Qi) to get it to recognize. At first the lighting don't even come on, then a few more off-on switch tries and the lighting comes on but the mouse cursor won't move, then sometimes it moves a little but stops. Eventually it comes on fully and is working. What is strange is it will then work flawlessly until I charge it again using the Qi.

The usb receiver is connected directly to the MM1000 which is what Corsair recommends.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-22-2018, 02:25 PM
Apophis3 Apophis3 is offline
Registered User
Apophis3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 606
POST ID # = 977533
Apophis3 Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denonsix View Post
I too have to turn it off and on again a number of times after I charge it on the MM1000 (using Qi) to get it to recognize. At first the lighting don't even come on, then a few more off-on switch tries and the lighting comes on but the mouse cursor won't move, then sometimes it moves a little but stops. Eventually it comes on fully and is working. What is strange is it will then work flawlessly until I charge it again using the Qi.

The usb receiver is connected directly to the MM1000 which is what Corsair recommends.
The Qi charger is probably overheating the mouse's battery, affecting the PCB. Which is why after a while it works normally because it cooled down. The mouse needs the ability to turn off charging when full, or is not reporting max charge properly. (Like on the dashboard where it always reports 75%)
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-22-2018, 05:21 PM
denonsix denonsix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 977565
denonsix Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apophis3 View Post
The Qi charger is probably overheating the mouse's battery, affecting the PCB. Which is why after a while it works normally because it cooled down. The mouse needs the ability to turn off charging when full, or is not reporting max charge properly. (Like on the dashboard where it always reports 75%)
Thank you for that info- that does sounds correct and I do notice that the battery is quite warm at first. Is there any way to force it to stop charging or fix the incorrect battery percentage reporting that you know of?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-23-2018, 02:11 PM
Apophis3 Apophis3 is offline
Registered User
Apophis3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 606
POST ID # = 977667
Apophis3 Reputation: 12
Default

No firmware/software updates I am aware of. Only thing to do is open a ticket so that they can tally complaints, so they can let the engineers know what is needed.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-24-2018, 05:09 PM
Tsath Tsath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 977776
Tsath Reputation: 10
Default

Have you tried different ports on your tower? I had the feeling that the one mine ended in was lower power than the others... or other USB bus type.

Last edited by Tsath; 10-24-2018 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-23-2019, 09:46 PM
Soviet_Camacho Soviet_Camacho is offline
Registered User
Soviet_Camacho's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 995403
Soviet_Camacho Reputation: 10
Default

Have same issue here changing ports doesnt help it does it wired or wireless and its gotten as frequent as every 5-30 seconds. icue still says its connected until i turn the mouse off and back on again
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-22-2019, 07:27 AM
jadatmag jadatmag is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1005355
jadatmag Reputation: 10
Default

This problem still persists.

My mouse always freezes when charging. It doesn't matter which USB port/powerbank/adaptor I use.

The problem has persisted over the last 2 firmware updates on my Dark Core.

I can't use this mouse for gaming.

It's horrible because I bought 2 to replace my Logitech G700's.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-22-2019, 05:09 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1005400
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Please go to CONTROL PANEL / HARDWARE AND SOUND / POWER OPTIONS and then click on CHANGE PLAN SETTINGS (for your current default power plan). After that click on CHANGE ADVANCED POWER SETTINGS.

When new window opens, scroll down the list a bit until you hit USB SETTINGS. Click little square with plus in it, and then click another little square with plus next to USB SELECTIVE SUSPEND SETTING. Check the state of it, and make sure it's set to DISABLED. Then restart the PC.

See if that makes any difference. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-01-2019, 04:10 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 1006480
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

I bought a Dark Core with QI charging and it would randomly disconnect and also randoly move the pointer to the top left corner of the screen. I had no problems with the QI charging, but the battery life was appalling, I charged it over night, used it for an hour in the morning, went to work without switching it off and when I came home, it was as dead as a Dodo. I really wanted to love this mouse, it was perfect for me, size, buttons, everything, so much so that I returned it for a replacement (thanks Amazon), but it was exactly the same, so I returned it for a refund and bought a Logitech G903. Not as nice and it registered double click about 70% of the time. I liked this mouse so much, that I keep looking at it and wondering if the problems have been solved, but Corsair are still saying "up to 24 hours battery life", which, in my not so humble opinion, is nothing to boast about.

Last edited by snapper69; 06-01-2019 at 04:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.