Corsair Community

Possible problem with 850HX - Monitor losing signal

bgger

I7 950

sabertooth X58

6GB ram

GTX570

850HX

I’ve been running this system for several years without any problems. I started having intermittent problems several months ago with the monitor losing signal at times. I recently upgraded to Windows 10 and the problem immediately it got way worse. Now the monitor usually loses signal right after the Windows logo appears on start up, or if it does make it to the log in screen, it loses signal within a few minutes.

This is what I have tried so far, and nothing seemed to help:

Uninstalled/reinstalled video drivers

Booted into Safe Mode

Switched monitors

Switched video cards

So if it’s not the monitor or the video card, and the problem persists in safe mode what else could it be besides the 850HX? Any advice is welcome?

Here's more info on my situation. I just checked the voltages in the BIOS and it looks like the 3.3V = 2.944V. So I assume that's bad. Just checked again and it's at 2.928V. The rest of the voltages looks OK. Does this mean the PSU is in fact the problem? And is it time to contact Corsair through their customer support? I think it's still under warranty.

• Corsair Employee

Wait.. the monitor just loses signal and.... the PC is still running? The monitor comes back on? Is the PC locked? Do you have to reboot it?

So far I have zero information here that tells me this has anything to do with the PSU.

Wait.. the monitor just loses signal and.... the PC is still running? The monitor comes back on? Is the PC locked? Do you have to reboot it?

So far I have zero information here that tells me this has anything to do with the PSU.

Yes, the PC is still running, or I would have said it stopped running.

No, the monitor does not just come back on, or I would have said that it comes back on.