The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 23 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2013, 05:41 PM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 679273
biatche Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Force GS 240GB 5.20 disappearing

I've got a Corsair Force GS 240GB with 5.20 factory firmware here.

On my gigabyte Z87-WIFI (F4 bios) it disappears from bios each time the computer is restarted (ONLY WHEN using intel ahci drivers it seems - tested on 12.8.2.1000 and 12.8.4.1000)

To get the above stated results, I tested by booting off partedmagic, WinPE (with msahci) and the device is still in the bios.

I've also tried installing windows 7 x64 on a regular hard disk, a corsair neutron gtx on the same pc. All works fine.

I also tested the Corsair force gs 240gb on a Gigabyte H55N-USB3 which also works fine.

So something isn't quite right with FORCE GS on this board, OR the current firmware...

Can you please confirm my findings on this 5.20 firmware to see if it has any issues?


PSU: Superflower golden green 600w

Last edited by biatche; 10-20-2013 at 05:45 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-20-2013, 06:39 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 679281
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Update your firmware on the SSD. You can do it manually (links are in the SSD section) or update it with the SSD Toolbox.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-20-2013, 09:55 PM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 679290
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Is 5.20 NOT the latest version? Are you asking me to downgrade from 5.20 to 5.05a?

Btw, there is a thread that says revision history for all models, i dont see anything about 5.20 there.

Toolbox says there are no newer versions.

Can you provide some info on 5.20?

Last edited by biatche; 10-20-2013 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2013, 10:01 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,286
POST ID # = 679291
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Please post a pic of the old tool showing the signature.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-21-2013, 01:16 AM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 679305
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Files attached to post. Please look into it and test. I'm forced to let go a unit of my neutron gtx at a loss because of this issue.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tmp-corsair-2.jpg (95.8 KB, 616 views)
File Type: jpg tmp-corsair-3.jpg (87.3 KB, 536 views)

Last edited by biatche; 10-21-2013 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-23-2013, 02:58 AM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 679636
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Hello hello?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-23-2013, 05:31 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,286
POST ID # = 679653
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Short answer: It's valid firmware.
Long answer: Awaiting more info.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-29-2013, 01:33 PM
Tongix Tongix is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 680505
Tongix Reputation: 10
Question

Hello,

i have the same problem. ( Corsair Force 3 240 GS ) THe SSD Disk not boot, and the motherboard not recognize it


But when i try to update the firmaware, i cant do it,´beacuse the signature of the SSD Disk is it not the same a archive "corsair force 3 gs 240gb"



it is ok the signature of my disk?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-30-2013, 06:52 AM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 680608
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

May I request for a swap with a neutron gtx while you figure out the problem? I had to let go a unit of neutron gtx in place of this due to time constraint.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-02-2013, 03:21 AM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 681034
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Tested the same SSD on -another- gigabyte H87N-wifi.. same issue persists.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-27-2013, 04:08 AM
Blackbird52 Blackbird52 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 684667
Blackbird52 Reputation: 10
Default

i have same problem with a Force GS 240GB firmware 5.05a & an Asus z87 Deluxe when it is on AHCI as soon as i install latest Intel RST (12.​8.​0.​1016 ) the OS stop booting test both win7sp1 & win8.1 x64 and also check by booting from an HDD same result SSD not detect properly detect as 480GB and not work. so as i never have such issue with Intel RST on many many config i believe it is something with GS drive and z87 chip (becuse i have same ssd in same congif on an asus z77-vlk) and not installing RST is not a solution for me. please solve my problem
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-30-2013, 05:27 AM
Blackbird52 Blackbird52 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 685138
Blackbird52 Reputation: 10
Default

i solve the problem .. to my surprise drive previously setup as raid ( not by me ) i was notice that the drive came with no screw inside package !! but think it maybe just bye packing mistake, i remove raid from the SSD and everything work as it must be .. i think someone wants to test raid performance of 2 drive and after testing repack the drive but don't remove raid from it :)) so there is no problem with this GS drive and z87 for me .
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 12-04-2013, 09:03 AM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 685760
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Corsair, any news on 5.20? Does it take 1 month to test?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 12-05-2013, 09:45 AM
env env is offline
Registered User
env's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 685949
env Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,
I've got exactly same behavior as biatche mentioned in his initial post.
I have Corsair Force GS 180GB with 5.20 factory firmware and Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 motherboard (F6 BIOS).

BTW, uninstalling Intel RST solved my problem.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 12-05-2013, 02:04 PM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 685983
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Corsair if you can't fix the issue can you give me another model?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.